FLYNOTE

Re: Xenon Gyro

Postby FLYNOTE » Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:44 pm

Ek stem 100% saam Eben ! Any gyro that can take off in Upington and fly to Zambia and back without any hassle is a good machine . Pale toe !
RAF has proven itself over and over and need no more pudding to prove itself.
When I fly my m22 now , it takes me a minute or two to get used to the " feeling" of the craft. They all have something different in their handling and characteristics as mentioned before. You know what ? When someone ,used to his spesific gyro, gets into another one and finds that it feels different to his, the first idea to come up is that it is " not lekker !" If you are used to stiffer controls and you fly something with less stiff controls you immediately think " no man, it shouldt be like this !! " Once you are used to this , your old machine feels "funny". One must never judge a gyro because it feels and flies differently to the one you are used to.
I remember converting to my Beech Baron from a Piper Senneca. It took me a long time to get used to and feel comfortable in the smaller cabin and more resposive aircraft. I loved the Sennecas space, club seating and docile, comforting flying characteristics . I flew her for about 700 hrs. I felt cramped in the Baron and had to be big time 'wake up' flying her as she felt much more "jittery" ... was the word I used to describe it at that stage.
Once used to the Baron and 400hrs later ... the Senneca felt " sluggish" ... was the word I used to describe at that stage.
So do we really use the correct terminology when describing our sensations when flying a craft for the first time ?
I've heared "instability" from guys who are not too sure what the word means or implies in aviation terms .
So this is where personal choice comes in. I buy a certain gyro because I enjoy flying it. O yes , it doesn't fly like yours but it won't because its a different craft.There are similarities in most tandems as probably is in most side by sides .Bottom line; they are all great machines , although based on the same flight principals ,all have different qualities and flying charateristics and all of them are as safe as the pilot who flies them.
Popcorn-coke-lazyboy tomorrow at 09h00 Mnet for the real serious stuff. Nie vandag nie !
saraf

Postby saraf » Fri Sep 11, 2009 1:11 pm

Hey Johan

I would love to have 1 gyro of every kind in my hanger, then I will be able to give instruction on all of them But I can only afford one!!!! LOL
I would love to fly the Xenon if you are here again and I will then take you in the Rugby balletjie as well.

Almal hier op die forum moet n wonderlike dag en naweek he en as julle vlieg, wees veilig en onthou geniet dit.

Groete

Eben jnr
Good instructors always speak well about all flying machines.
Bad instructors speak badly about machines they cannot fly.
MPL Pilot

Postby MPL Pilot » Fri Sep 11, 2009 1:23 pm

FLYNOTE wrote:So do we really use the correct terminology when describing our sensations when flying a craft for the first time ?
I've heared "instability" from guys who are not too sure what the word means or implies in aviation terms .
So this is where personal choice comes in. I buy a certain gyro because I enjoy flying it. O yes , it doesn't fly like yours but it won't because its a different craft.There are similarities in most tandems as probably is in most side by sides .Bottom line; they are all great machines , although based on the same flight principals ,all have different qualities and flying charateristics and all of them are as safe as the pilot who flies them.
You got the nail on the head!
If you fail.... get up and try again. That is the only way to succeed!
ZS-VMS, ZU-RGG, ZU-FWY

Postby John Boucher » Sat Sep 12, 2009 9:47 pm

Johan... ek het sommer die popcorn gelos en lekker wildsbiltong & swartkoffie op nigtermaag in die kooi ons groen & goud gekyk! (^^) Ain't the victory so sweet?

Anyway... I agree with various comments you have made. In any aircraft one flies there is always and sense or matter of adaptation. Think about flying a Cheetah and then jumping into a Jab J160.... then jump into a J430 and it is totally different. Hop into another J160 and once again you have a total different feel. Overload your senses and jump back into the Cheetah and it feels worlds apart. The same can I suppose be said about riding a bicycle :lol:

The experience from fixed to rotor (gyro) however was quite an exhilarating experience having being introduced to this by JetRanger. Each form of craft has it's own niggles, characteristics and rigging that just makes it different! :P

Maybe you should consider "showing-off" your M22 down at the Overberg Fly-In in November and then we can all discuss other issues over "Stonies, Cola & frozen H20" (^^)
FLYNOTE

Postby FLYNOTE » Mon Sep 14, 2009 2:05 pm

Too close for comfort on Saturday in Auckland. Nee magtag !! 5 minutes more and we would have been in groot %&# !
Dit was lekker maar nou is dit klaar.
Here is some worthwhile reading for those of you nuts who enjoy these specific topics relating to the wonderful craft we fly !

http://www.magnigyro.com/USA/feature_ar ... rticle.pdf

So old Walter is in Poland to take delivery of his Xenon as we speak. I am very envious of him as this period he is experiencing now represents one of the happiest times in my life !
Up to now he has been receiving e-mails with photograph attachments on a regular basis , so that he could follow the different stages of his Xenon being assembled in the factory.
What follows now is a nice touch that the designer Raphael Celier brought in to make your Xenon purchasing experience very special.
Your gyro is ready for delivery and you get flown to Warsaw in Poland via Frankfurt Germany.
You are met at Warsaw International by representatives from the factory and taken to your hotel to check in.
Then you are taken to Modling Airfield to see you baby on the ramp for the first time.
Modling is an old WW2 Nazi airfield that was built by Hitler's Luftwaffe to launch attacks into Russia. Celier Aviation uses this airfield to testfly their Xenons.
Upon arriving , Walter will watch the test pilot , who is a member of the Polish airforce, put his machine through it's paces.
a Team of Xenon technicians will be on the runway to address any problem the test pilot may have with the gyro there and then. Once he gives the the thumbs up, Raphael will take Walter up and introduce him to his Xenon after which the conversion will start. Johan von Ludwig will be spending some time with Walter in the Modling circuit and GF and once he gets " signed off" , Raphael will once again fly with Walter , this time as passanger to make sure that all is well and Walter is competent and comfortable with his machine.
Now the lovely little ceremony takes place in which the Xenon team 'downs' a few vodkas with Walter in a toast to him and his new Xenon. Raphael then signs his name on the gyro in permanent coki ! and Walter heads back home while his gyro is being prepared for airfreight to SA. This takes about a week to arrive here and clear customs. Then Wagtail Aviation will assemble the tailplane and rotormast within 1 1/2 days after which a new Xenon, this one white with blue leather interior and glass cockpit , will take to the South African skies. If I decide to buy a new Xenon again , it will be more for having this thrill and experience again than the need for a new one !
Lucky bugger , our Walter but I am so happy for him and trust that he will have the same joy as I have had and have experienced up to now !
Xenon factory Warsaw.jpg
Xenon factory Warsaw.jpg (65.32 KiB) Viewed 2573 times
THI

Postby THI » Mon Sep 14, 2009 3:21 pm

Does anybody know if someone in the Cape has bought/ordered a Xenon?
Thinus Enslin
Potchefstroom (FAPS)
ZU-CML
Sycamore MK1 - Hilux of the gyros
Would love a RV10 though...
FLYNOTE

Postby FLYNOTE » Mon Sep 14, 2009 3:46 pm

hi Thinus , i'm not too clued up. I know there is a lot of movement but not sure where. Someone from Kleinmond I think and two guys from up here at the moment. When I hear who and what and they don't mind , I will post detail or get them to post their own experiences for our info.
I have lots of traffic at my hangar and all are impressed as you were . Especially after they fly which I am still sorry you didn't.
Whats happening in your part of the woods ? Still enjoying your flying?
I am going to do a lodge safari all along the Limpopo river for a few days with my wyfie , lodge hopping ! Thats a first for her as she was never keen on the helmet flying but this one she is very ok with ! We are taking a picnic basket in the Xenon as we cruise the river , game spotting. Live is not easy !!
THI

Postby THI » Mon Sep 14, 2009 4:23 pm

FLYNOTE wrote:hi Thinus , i'm not too clued up. I know there is a lot of movement but not sure where. Someone from Kleinmond I think and two guys from up here at the moment. When I hear who and what and they don't mind , I will post detail or get them to post their own experiences for our info.
I have lots of traffic at my hangar and all are impressed as you were . Especially after they fly which I am still sorry you didn't.

No worries! , Things where a bit deurmekaar, maybe next time under better circumstances.
FLYNOTE wrote:Whats happening in your part of the woods ? Still enjoying your flying?

I always enjoy flying!! Between the work and the rainy days I have flown only 1 hour since August! :( That’s pathetic! :oops: But I'm pushing as hard as I can and hopefully I can finish my training by the end of Nov/Des. Then the fun starts! See the world, visit all my fellow gyronauts at the different clubs. Man I can't wait! I was hoping to finish before the T-VOS (Bredasdorp) Airshow, but thats a bit too optimistic!
FLYNOTE wrote:I am going to do a lodge safari all along the Limpopo river for a few days with my wyfie , lodge hopping ! Thats a first for her as she was never keen on the helmet flying but this one she is very ok with ! We are taking a picnic basket in the Xenon as we cruise the river , game spotting. Live is not easy !!
:lol: :lol: Ag shame! If things are to tough, let me know, I'll be more that happy to lend a hand. :lol:
Thinus Enslin
Potchefstroom (FAPS)
ZU-CML
FLYNOTE

Postby FLYNOTE » Tue Sep 15, 2009 4:55 pm

Walter's Xenon when they were doing the interior. I think the White with blue leather looks quite snazzy. I received an sms from him last night. He is having a ball and the vodka ceremony will be taking place soon soon ! After that ceremony ...no more flying , just hangover all the way back to SA. I've asked him to mms some pics from Poland that I can post here as a matter of interest.
walter interior.jpg
walter interior.jpg (98.35 KiB) Viewed 2514 times
FLYNOTE

Postby FLYNOTE » Wed Sep 16, 2009 11:55 am

[
John Boucher wrote:Maybe you should consider "showing-off" your M22 down at the Overberg Fly-In in November and then we can all discuss other issues over "Stonies, Cola & frozen H20" (^^)
Kyk sommer nou en kry klaar ! If I come to Overberg it will be in "syle" with the Xenon ! ( lekka windgat nê ! )
M22 oor Bazarutu.jpg
M22 oor Bazarutu.jpg (97.96 KiB) Viewed 2465 times

Postby John Boucher » Wed Sep 16, 2009 1:16 pm

Well Johan... make a plan and be there with the Xenon! (^^)
FLYNOTE

Postby FLYNOTE » Thu Sep 17, 2009 1:18 pm

Walter is finishing his conversion in Poland.
He is very excited about his Xenon and experiencing their "VFR" conditions ... mist down to the ground !
walter se Xenon in Pole.jpg
walter se Xenon in Pole.jpg (59.5 KiB) Viewed 2401 times
walter se paneel.jpg
walter se paneel.jpg (76.35 KiB) Viewed 2402 times
walter in pole mis.jpg
walter in pole mis.jpg (60.88 KiB) Viewed 2401 times
FLYNOTE

Postby FLYNOTE » Fri Sep 18, 2009 10:50 am

Walter's new baby parked next to another Xenon(red) in Poland ,ready for delivery.
On the other pic the proud new owner is watching Xenon designer Raphael Celier putting his signature to the gyro.
The slightly concerned expression on Walter's face could be due to the prospect of the vodka ceremony which is to follow or maybe
the result of a shot or two pre-empting the ceremony ? I don't know...wasn't there.
2 Xenons ready for delivery at factory.jpg
2 Xenons ready for delivery at factory.jpg (94.83 KiB) Viewed 2335 times
Designer signing Walter's Xenon.jpg
Designer signing Walter's Xenon.jpg (85.74 KiB) Viewed 2335 times
THI

Postby THI » Fri Sep 18, 2009 11:01 am

Thanks Johan for the updates. I'm quite envious! Hopefully someday it's my turn...can't wait!
Thinus Enslin
Potchefstroom (FAPS)
ZU-CML