Xenon Gyro

The meeting place for gyronauts, gyronuts and those nuts about gyro's

Moderators: Gyronaut, Condor, FO Gyro

Learjet

Re: Xenon Gyro

Postby Learjet » Fri Sep 04, 2009 1:01 pm

I was excited to see the Xenon in the flesh for the first time at the Vredenal fly-in and Johan very kindly made himself available to chat about his gyro and show us around it.

My overall impression is that it is without doubt the finest looking gyro I have seen. The finishes are nothing short of superb and the layout, seating, cabin heating / ventilation and space configuration all seems to have been designed with one thing in mind - pilot comfort!
Pictures I had seen of the Xenon beforehand did little to convey the size of it. It's a significantly bigger gyro than I expected - with ample elbow room and packing space. The footwell "windows" are a great idea - and apart from being very practical for landing / taxiing, I imagine that this must create a very nice sense of space and visibility when flying.

Try as I might, there was very little to fault the Xenon on. Yes the wheels are very narrow (as per most gyros), and I'd have preferred to see an electric trim rather than the dinghy-like string & cleat trim system - but these are minor issues and subject to personal preference. The break lines looked somewhat exposed to rough bush strip foliage and the rather acute undercarriage angle looks like it has little "give" in terms of suspension travel (for those bumpy landings or rough strips) - but Johan assured me that this hasn't been an issue. It was also interesting to note that ballast is required when flying one-up (depending on PIC weight) and I ditto Johan's comments about the rather fragile door struts rather than gas-lifts.

I've always been wary of aftermarket fitment of turbo's, fuel injection etc - and in automotive examples the relatively few success stories have usually been outweighed by the problems that arise down the line. Inevitably there is a trade-off from somewhere for that increased performance - that is a simple law of engineering. Hence my initial misgivings about the RST and the fact that apparently Rotax have not approved the mod. But the proof is in the pudding and the stats and performance data that Johan is sharing certainly seems to indicate that the RST is happy to fly at a slightly higher ManifoldP than what I'm used to at sea level. The pre-protator and rotor-head design look well-engineered and straightforward. I've always had a slight niggle about aluminium rotors & hub-bars - but that's just my very subjective opinion and personal preference and I'm not for a moment suggesting there is anything wrong with them on the Xenon.
I'm also on record here as being a strong advocate for the "tried and tested" principle when it comes to establishing the safety credentials for any aircraft - especially NTCA ones. In the past I was particularly disappointed by Xenon's dismissive, if not rather rather evasive, responses to one or two accidents / incidents which had occurred, and for me it's been very reassuring to see Johan happily and safely clocking up the hours on his Xenon in various flying conditions. In my view the Xenon has raised the bar when it comes to the standard of finish and presentation of factory-built gyros (admittedly with a price-tag to match) and I wish both Johan and Xenon every success with their beautiful gyro. (^^)
Dave Lehr
Magni Gyro M22 ZU-EPZ
“You're flying Buzz! No Woody we're falling in style!”
Trikenut

Postby Trikenut » Tue Sep 08, 2009 4:57 pm

I have been following this thread with enthusiasam for a while now, and am very impressed with bothe the Xenon and the Magini M24! I like them both, and can't wait to see both the Xenon and Magni down in the Cape! (Len's will probably be the first M24 down here) vhpy vhpy
Looking foward to hearing more about the Xenon as time progresses, as it is my choice!! vhpy No Len, that doesn't mean I don't want a ride in the M24, I do!! vhpy :wink: :lol:
Please keep posting updates Johan, as your experiance on the Xenon grows. I am very sorry to hear about Filipe.
Ross
Trikenut - Pilot in Training!!!
I love the smell of Avgas in the Morning!
"Beware 16 year old here"
Bertie

Re:Rotax ST

Postby Bertie » Tue Sep 08, 2009 9:07 pm

Can Anybody give me a website wher I can find everything and picing about the Rotax912ST
THI

Re: Re:Rotax ST

Postby THI » Wed Sep 09, 2009 8:52 am

Bertie wrote:Can Anybody give me a website wher I can find everything and picing about the Rotax912ST
Hallo Oom Bertie,

Die website is http://www.celieraviation.eu/, maar die pryse is nie daar op nie. Oom sal maar met Braan self moet gesels. PM my as oom Braan se nommer soek.

Groete

Thinus
Thinus Enslin
Potchefstroom (FAPS)
ZU-CML
Sycamore MK1 - Hilux of the gyros
Would love a RV10 though...
saraf

Postby saraf » Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:45 am

Ek het begin wonder, hoe is dit moontlik om rugby te speel vir een span en dan dieselfde tyd die skeidsregter ook te wees???????????
Good instructors always speak well about all flying machines.
Bad instructors speak badly about machines they cannot fly.

Postby Gyronaut » Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:56 am

Ja, dit laat mens soms bietjie wonder?
Dit is dalk normaal in Australiaanse rugby, nie hier nie...

Gee aan die Biltong, Popcorn, brannewyn & coke, die game wil ek kyk! vhpy
THI

Postby THI » Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:58 am

saraf wrote:Ek het begin wonder, hoe is dit moontlik om rugby te speel vir een span en dan dieselfde tyd die skeidsregter ook te wees???????????
:lol: :lol: :lol:

Hoe sê Rodriguez...I Wonder...
Thinus Enslin
Potchefstroom (FAPS)
ZU-CML
THI

Postby THI » Wed Sep 09, 2009 11:02 am

Ek is lus vir vlieg!! Ek kry julle op Saldanha..wie kom saam?
Thinus Enslin
Potchefstroom (FAPS)
ZU-CML
FLYNOTE

Postby FLYNOTE » Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:57 pm

Hey guys , thank you so much for all the mails and posts re Filipe ! We had his memorial in his hangar at Tedderfield yesterday and said goodbye to him.
Now we move on again, reminded of all the corny little pilot quips we have always refered to mostly in humor over the years ... blue skies below rather than above...runway ahead rather than behind... birdstrikes happen , please just not while the bird is still in the tree ... there are old pilots and bold pilots but no old bold pilots around ... etc. etc.
Then again the Charles Lindbergh quote; " If one took no chances, one would not fly at all. Safety lies in the judgment of the chances one takes. That judgment, in turn, must rest upon one’s outlook on life. Any coward can sit in his home and criticize a pilot for flying into a mountain in fog. But I would rather, by far, die on a mountainside than in bed.
-- Charles Lindbergh

Nice post on the Xenon, M24 sightings at Vredendal Learjet !
You are so on the button with your observations.
Butch Brown and I were chatting about the fact that the perfect gyro is still not around but we are wragtag getting closer !Up till then it is still going to be more experimental than anything else.
Yes , you stand a good chance of losing your libido temporarily if you do not plan your enterance to the M24 with care . The Xenon is not exempted ! They have a strap that holds the stick forward and when climbing into the pilot seat you have to consider some manouvering to get your legs around and behind the strap onto the rudders ! We used bungy cords on the first Magnis to keep the stick forward until we patented a type of gust lock which Magni then took up and improved on. Lets hope Xenon comes up with something better than the strap in the next model update ( as well as gasstruts pleeeaaazzz !!!)
Xenon scores big time on heating and ventilation comfort in the cabin. Magni will have to address this issue. Vic froze in his cabin due to the cold ram air through the open vents. He eventually closed the vents on the outside with duc tape and then cooked as the day wore on !
Xenon also has a flaw in this department when it comes to the Kalahari sun taking rifle aim ( dooierus ) on you in the midday heat. The "sunroof" although tinted as the rest of The Xenon's windows, allows the sun to fry your head in spite of the cool air through the vents.
I got a nice solution from dr Fritz Odendaal in Kuruman who suggested that I stick " One way Vision" film on the sunroof... you know the stuff they stick on the windows of taxis and busses ? got little holes in and you cant see in but you see out perfectly ? I did this and it blocks the sun beautifully. Xenon wont think of this because in Europe they once again do not have our African problems ! Maybe future African owners can spec this ...
The tyres on my Xenon are not standard. They are 6 ply Cessna 152 aviation tyres which means no more punctures. The standard 4 ply tyres puncture if a duwweltjie comes within 5 meters of the gyro !
Aluminium rotors versus composite ... aluminium much much lighter and cheaper but has limited lifespan ( I think 5000 hrs ? ) Aluminium spins up much faster ( 250 rpm within 10 to 15 seconds ) and will not chip if you get caught in a rain shower. My friend Dirk van Zyl thinks they spin down / unload much faster than composite rotors but I have not really noticed any difference .
I got feedback from the Xenon designer re my low RPM , high man. press situation at the coast and my suggestion of a variable pitch prop. I was not correct in assuming that the coarseness of the pitch was the only reason. Didnt think of the turbo wastegate setting ! Up here she opens at 41" and must be reset for sea level conditions. ("You talk about variable pitch prop, yes at ONE condition, to equip the machine with a on-flight adjustable waste-gate, to also change the pressure of the turbo.") quote/unquote Raphael Celier.
As far as the engine goes , one will have to see. The factory gives the same guarantee on the RST as Rotax does on their engines. The TBO is 1500 hrs.
I think we have discussed the different engines before and a lot has been said about the RST on the internet forums etc.

About the engines and Turbos

The Rotax 912 S is a 100 Horsepower engine with excellent performance.

The Rotax 914 is an 80 HP engine block that Rotax has added a Garrett Turbo to and boosted it to 115 HP for 5 minutes then full time 100 HP. It has been a very popular engine for many years and is used by the US military in the Predator Drones. The 914 does provide continuous sea level performance of 100 HP to over 12,000 feet.

The 912 RST model uses the same 80 HP Rotax engine used in the 914. This engine has been fitted with a Mitsubishi Turbo that gives full time turbo boost. At full power this engine develops 122 Horsepower and is excellent for heavier loads or high altitudes.

I think the 914 is fine for up here and obviously at the coast. I opted for the RST on the advice of the designer as well as the 8.8 meter rotor to get the best possible performance for high and hot conditions. Up to now the going has been great. 125 hrs clocked since April and no problems. We will see as we go along and I will most certainly keep posting anything out of the ordinary.

Wat is Rugby Eben ?? ooo daai ding wat ons teen die New Zeelanders Saterdag oggend gaan pleeg ? Lyk die RAF nie bietjie soos n rugbybal wat gepluis word nie ? Niemand het nog ooit gesê daars iets met n rugbybal se looks verkeerd nie !! grappie. I loved the individuality and happy fun looks of the RAFs at Vredendal. Very impressive when they came overhead in formation. The RAF is the only side by side locally than can boast a formation at this stage ! Enough of them around !! Xenon next with 5 ( number 6 , 7 and 8 apparently on their way in the near future and then a gaggle of I think 3 more M24 s soon soon.
Our gyro community is growing beautifully.

Last though ... Boet, I think your Bushbaby is a beaut !!! Thanks for letting me sit in her.
vredendal1.jpg
vredendal1.jpg (90.18 KiB) Viewed 2798 times
vredendal2.jpg
vredendal2.jpg (92.2 KiB) Viewed 2798 times
vredendal3.jpg
vredendal3.jpg (65.67 KiB) Viewed 2799 times
cabin with aux fuel cell.jpg
cabin with aux fuel cell.jpg (64.83 KiB) Viewed 2798 times
FLYNOTE

Postby FLYNOTE » Wed Sep 09, 2009 2:13 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T5CmSKBL7Z0

The Americans' idea of low flying . Ai jai jai jai jai !
Trikenut

Postby Trikenut » Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:01 pm

Flynote: Did you put the 6 ply Cessna 152 tyres on yourself in SA or did Xenon do it for you? How much wider than the Standard Xenon tyres are they and can you still fit your wheel spats on? (Judging by photos you an, just checking!)
Also, why don't you fit the gas struts yourself, or does the current door and door frame design not allow it?
I'm with you on the Charles Lindenberg Quote!
Thanks for the info,
Ross
Trikenut - Pilot in Training!!!
I love the smell of Avgas in the Morning!
"Beware 16 year old here"

Postby Gyronaut » Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:51 pm

Thats how a gyro should be flown in my humble opinion... PROVIDED - you have recce'd the area and KNOW there are no unseen hazards AND 1500' from people or animals!
Why not? THATS flying!!
(Was very pleased to see they didn't sneak under through the bridge though) :shock:

Stunning video. Especially impressed that he appears to be flying from the right seat and nonchalantly takes his hand off the stick!? Says a lot for the machines stability.

Fly safe

Len
THI

Postby THI » Wed Sep 09, 2009 5:27 pm

Makes me sick of envy :(

Dammit dit lyk lekker!!
Last edited by THI on Wed Sep 09, 2009 6:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Thinus Enslin
Potchefstroom (FAPS)
ZU-CML
FLYNOTE

Postby FLYNOTE » Wed Sep 09, 2009 6:08 pm

Also loved the video. Nice stable camera in still air ! I also thought for one moment he was going under the bridge but then you hear the 914 revving up...
100% yes on the low low if you know your area ; for me , only in a gyro , anytime. Manage the risk responsibly and there is no better flying. Mind you , looking at the video again ... he is not really so low ?
I had the tyres fitted in Krugersdorp by Kevin Hopper and did not need to change the spats. Also thought that 152 tyres would be broader but aparently these are not.The tread differs and they are aviation grade, 6 ply , not much heavier than the original 4 ply Taiwan softies that most gyros come out with ( to save on weight ? )
When you spec your Xenon they give you an option of normal tyres or "Tundras" which have the wide tread.
saraf

Postby saraf » Thu Sep 10, 2009 11:38 am

HI Johan

Ja ek moet se lyk noggal so sexy soos n mooi springbok rugby balletjie. Perform ook soos n regte springbok rugby balletjie , reguit pale toe....
Good instructors always speak well about all flying machines.
Bad instructors speak badly about machines they cannot fly.