CAA Certification on the UFO Gyro

The meeting place for gyronauts, gyronuts and those nuts about gyro's

Moderators: Condor, FO Gyro, Gyronaut

Re: CAA Certification on the UFO Gyro

Postby Gyronaut » Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:12 am

Mooi so Pierre! Dis tyd dat jy nou jou harde werk begin geniet!
Lekker en veilig vlieg ou maat!

Len

PS, havent they introduced you guys to camera's yet? WAAR IS DIE FOTOS??
FLYNOTE

Postby FLYNOTE » Sat Dec 03, 2011 2:08 pm

I was there this morning and I saw it with my own two eyes :shock:
You aint seen no gyro till you've seen this one. You have to double take at first and then pinch yourself :shock:
It is a monster :wink:
It has space inside the bubble for an entire family.
The engine is a brute that growls at the pisswillie rattaxes. It takes a healthy gulp of fuel and then gobbles up the runway and storms into the skies like a bird of prey in search of other birds to ... Wat is verslind tog in Engels?
Pierre, you have a very lekka gyro there. Well done on two years of sweat and I'm sure a few tears but hell, its worth it hey!! (^^)
Enjoy your great one of a kind gyro and we' ll see her strutting her feathers at ... Where is the gyro jamboree again next year? :oops:
Mooi Peertjies!! :) you go big time swaerrie =D* =D* =D*
MPL Pilot

Postby MPL Pilot » Mon Dec 05, 2011 9:30 pm

FLYNOTE wrote:You aint seen no gyro till you've seen this one. You have to double take at first and then pinch yourself
It is a monster
It has space inside the bubble for an entire family.
The engine is a brute that growls at the pisswillie rattaxes. It takes a healthy gulp of fuel and then gobbles up the runway and storms .....
Jislaaik Johan, ek hou van die storie wat jy begin het, ons kan n movie daarvan maak :lol:

I have completed the conversion on Saturday, with that little orange book in hand the UFO will fly home
during the week (^^) (^^)

We will be changing the rotor head and pre-rotator early next year, then after n nice coat of white wash, the UFO
will be ready to join the cross country trips as well.
FLYNOTE wrote:....on two years of sweat and I'm sure a few tears but hell, its worth it hey
I have to admit, it has been a long road, longer than I anticipated.

From the Wagtail team, to everyone on the forum, it just had to get done with all the encouragement.

Thanks guys (^^)
If you fail.... get up and try again. That is the only way to succeed!
ZS-VMS, ZU-RGG, ZU-FWY
BONZAI BELL

Postby BONZAI BELL » Fri Dec 09, 2011 7:23 am

Baie geluk Pierre
Laat weet maar die co-ords waar ons moet kom kyk. Sal hom graag in lewende lywe wil sien.
Swannie
ZU-EOL
Magni M-22
MPL Pilot

Postby MPL Pilot » Sat Jan 14, 2012 6:31 pm

Finaly, the UFO has flown its maiden voyage home.
We did endurance flights this last week and double checked preformance, fuel consumption, rate of climb
and the reliability of the last 18 months modifications.

These stats have been recorded during test flights.
Fuel consumption has been 31l at 70mph at 4250rpm.
EGT at 840 deg cel during cruise.
Oil pressure 4 bar
Water temp 82 deg
Oil temp 80 deg.
Boost 1 Kpa at 4250 rpm.
Air intake temp 50 deg at 4250 rpm

To me as a rookie gyro pilot, it is scary to use full power at take off, at 5000 rpm, the UFO climb
of the deck like a trike, and if I am not back on the stick quick when she lifts of the ground, she reach
90mph in a couple of seconds.
Johan, having flown every gyro available says the UFO has simular characteristics as the Xenon in flight, in thermals or gusting conditions she need some correction.

It is great to be flying again, and must thank shallow pig and scary pilot for escourting me from Wagtail to Hartbeespoort.

To the Wagtail team, this is a job well done! Thank you.
ZS-VMS, ZU-RGG, ZU-FWY
MPL Pilot

Postby MPL Pilot » Sat Jan 14, 2012 6:38 pm

(^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)
ZS-VMS, ZU-RGG, ZU-FWY
Jean Crous

Postby Jean Crous » Sat Jan 14, 2012 8:23 pm

vhpy vhpy Ons is saam met jou bly Pierre, geniet daai masjien van jou (^^) (^^)
Jean.
The new front seat solo Cubby MK2 powered by Rotax 912 S 100hp
Cubby Aircraft Factory
Suppliers of Nitrate, Butyrate, adhesive, Fabric
Email: cubbyaircraftfactory@gmail.com
Jean Crous
SACAA Approved Person 402
BONZAI BELL

Postby BONZAI BELL » Sun Jan 15, 2012 8:35 am

Geluk Pierre
Nou moet ons reel om te sien in lewende lywe.
Groete
Swannie
ZU-EOL
Magni M-22

Postby Low Level » Mon Jan 16, 2012 9:12 am

=D* =D* =D*

Well done Pierre. Baie bly vir jou part dat dinge vir jou uitgewerk het. Uithou en aanhou. Well deserved. (^^)

Well done to the Wagtail team. (^^)
MPL Pilot

Postby MPL Pilot » Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:48 pm

Dankie Manne

We have done what seemed impossible (^^) (^^) (^^)

Shallow pig and scary pilot keeps me busy with flying
NTkoza.jpg
We flew in from Liverpool to visit Francois at Ntkoza
UFO not interested to abduct a Tribal Crok.jpg
Tribal crock wanting a private flight in a UFO
ZS-VMS, ZU-RGG, ZU-FWY
Tribal Croc

Postby Tribal Croc » Wed Feb 22, 2012 9:14 am

Now this is one Alien abduction I won't mind ## ## ##

Really nice looking Gyro and I take my hat off to you for what you have accomplished ## ## (^^) (^^) (^^)
Tribal Croc
ZU-ICanXplane
Bushbaby Explorer MK2
Tailwheel fun starts here

#exploringsouthafricanskies
Eagle

Postby Eagle » Tue Mar 20, 2012 4:44 pm

Hi Pierre,

Your determination speak chapters to me !!! Wanna ask you a serious question.... If you knew the day you bought the UFO from me what was going to follow would you still have done it ??? I mean me and Johan from Wagtail tried our best to tell you more or less what's waiting down the road but at the end i really think it was all your efforts and determination to see this through that did it !!! I want to make use of the opportunity to congratulate you and Wagtail on a job well executed !!! I am extremely proud on what you have accomplished !!! I wish you many safe and enjoyable flying hours in your UFO !!!

Nic Prinsloo
Managing Member
Eagle Aviation

Where Flying is a Passion......

Branch Contact Info:

Mobile: 076 970 2758
Email: Eagle@connect.co.za
MPL Pilot

Postby MPL Pilot » Sun Mar 25, 2012 9:39 pm

It good to hear from you again Nic.

Good question, I most likely would have carried on anyway. You know what it is like, the adventure and challenge
of the project was inviting, I could not resist. The UFO was under dust ect. The thought that this thing can actually fly.
What I did not know, was the engine was under powered for our altitude and hot conditions. It could have flown earlier if we had more knowlage of all the requirements that had to be met to get a Subaru 2L turbo to be relaiable.

Now she flies like a love sick angel, and it is really wonderfull to experience every take off and landing!!

Everyone was great on this project, from the previous owner (Gary Butlion), Geoff at Acorn Industries in NZ to the Wagtail
team. Not to mention Braam Hechter, Claus and all the other guys that gave their cooperation at SACAA. Then the fellow pilots on the forum, some had some valid questions and encouragement, all had a input in some way.

I should thank you as well, you almost talked me out of it, few salesmen are as honest as you were.

I am truly greatefull to be part of this small group of pilots. (^^)
ZS-VMS, ZU-RGG, ZU-FWY
Eagle

Postby Eagle » Mon Mar 26, 2012 3:54 pm

Sheez Pierre !!! I realised that very first day you much more than meets the eye but this whole project you undertook
confirmed all my initial thoughts and exceeded my wildest expectations !!! What a adventure and challenge !!! I realised
that was your primary motivation. Looks to me you got all the right people in your team too ! Gary, Geoff, Johan, Braam
and Claus.... You for sure a winning combination and what a phenomenal success at the end !!! Feel so freaking proud about
all of you !!! Slat sommer hoendervleis uit Bru !!! Thanks for that great compliment at the end ... Means the world to me !
Such a privilege and honour to have met a Gentleman like you Pierre !!!

Nic Prinsloo
Managing Member
Eagle Aviation

Where Flying is a Passion......

Branch Contact Info:

Mobile: 076 970 2758
Email: Eagle@connect.co.za
OzGyro

Postby OzGyro » Sun Jul 01, 2012 12:40 pm

Hi All

Pierre, just wondering if you could please give us an update on how things are going with the UFO. I maybe have a little something in the pipeline and any info and feedback you have will be invaluable.

Darren