Moderators: Gyronaut, Condor, FO Gyro

THI

Re: ITS ALIVE!

Postby THI » Wed Aug 25, 2010 8:16 am

Jabi430 wrote:
JetRanger wrote:Dankie Johann
FLYNOTE wrote:... dan wil ek sien of julle n stuk vleis kan gaarmaak soos ons hierbo.
Dit klink mos soos 'n uitdaging wat ons met graagte aanvaar! Ons gooi sommer 'n snoek of twee by en braai ook vir jou die alle heerlikste tuna-steaks! Hoe moeilik kan dit nou wees!? (^^)

Sien uit daarna.

L&Cx
Maybe we should arrange a Gyro get together to welcome the visitors , Maybe a Braai at FASH ???
Nou praat jy!!
vhpy vhpy
Thinus Enslin
Potchefstroom (FAPS)
ZU-CML
Sycamore MK1 - Hilux of the gyros
Would love a RV10 though...

Postby Gyronaut » Wed Aug 25, 2010 9:19 am

Cape Gyro Day!!! We're In!

... of course other type Pilots (Paragliders, Trikes, LSA, Fling-wing, Big Blik) are more than welcome. (Before Grumpy throws his toys again) :lol:

Postby Grumpy » Wed Aug 25, 2010 9:37 am

JetRanger wrote:Cape Gyro Day!!! We're In!
... of course other type Pilots (Paragliders, Trikes, LSA, Fling-wing, Big Blik) are more than welcome. (Before Grumpy throws his toys again) :lol:
No!!! have your 'Gyro Day' then all you 'Hob Nobs' can exchange notes, pick your noses, and discuss who's is bigger !! (^^)

Postby Gyronaut » Wed Aug 25, 2010 10:09 am

Ag man Grumpy, sharrup and start your training.
There is a Sycamore for hire-and-fly to my students once qualified.
Just Do It!
Newguy

Postby Newguy » Wed Aug 25, 2010 12:25 pm

Fly in sounds like a great idea. I'm there.
FLYNOTE

Postby FLYNOTE » Wed Aug 25, 2010 3:12 pm

($$) ($$) ($$) Kom manne ! Lets do this thing. I undertake to get a few gyros including M24s ( at least Vic who is now legal...) to join the gaggle . FASH is cool. We will organise blyplek and you organise braaiplek.
Early November ???? Mid October ???? Normally when these North / South meet threats come up they just peter out again.I just have a good feeling about this one . We can come and show off all our toys and those of us who have more and other interesting things to show off can also do so. :roll: Is ons in Len? Ill put it together from this side once we have a date and interested parties to join the gaggle can contact me on my e mail once we get the GO ! from down South.I know things move at their own leasurely pace on the other side of the druiwe gordyn :lol: but lets really try a decent North / South meet at Stellenbosch OR ... how about Matjiesfontein ... Now there's a thought ... Been there once, done that once, would love to do it again. (^^)

Postby Gyronaut » Wed Aug 25, 2010 4:11 pm

What splendid Idea! North/South Gyro fly-in - YES! Count us IN!!

Maatjiesfontein is a GREAT idea. Just beware of the ghost that lurks there, gets me "om" every time I have ever been there.
:lol: :lol:

You guys decide on the date and we'll be there for sure!

Len & Christine

Postby Grumpy » Wed Aug 25, 2010 4:21 pm

No No No,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, NOT Matjiesfontein. NO NO NO :shock: :shock: :shock: ## ##

Stellenbosch, Then we jokers can get a chance to see these new machines.... (^^) (^^) (^^)
Maybe even get a flip.
Lot of interest growing around this gyro thing, A Gyro day could be very interesting.
my 2c (^^)
Jabbanaught

Postby Jabbanaught » Wed Aug 25, 2010 7:57 pm

New Thread Started North meets South
Autogyro - Calidus ZU- ???
Magni M22 - ZU EGA
FLYNOTE

Postby FLYNOTE » Thu Aug 26, 2010 10:14 am

Ok , Hier gaan ons. Lets make this happen. All interested from North and South start by committing yourself and your machine to the trek from North so that we can see how many groups of max 6 per group we can put together.
Len will organise the guys flying in from the South and I will handle the North. I will organise the Devon Valley hotel for us to stay in in Stellenbosch. ( Grumpy will supply his mansion for any overflow :lol: )
We will confirm dates which should be late October or early November. The moment I know exactly when my new machine will be up and flying I can commit. ( Ek stap wragtag nie af Stellenbosch toe nie.)
I am off to Poland next week and they should be shipping within the following week if I am happy with the gyro. To cover myself I would like to add a week or so for "in case!"
You realise that if we really want to make this thing work we could have the biggest Gyro saamtrek ever at FASH .I will organise tv news coverage and possibly Pasella on SABC2 and Kwela on Kyknet for us and it could be a great thing for gyros in SA. What says all you woer woer pilots? Are we going to do this ? ##
Once we see how many guys commit themselves we can start the planning and push ahead. Laat ons hoor !

Postby Gyronaut » Thu Aug 26, 2010 11:17 am

Woohhoo, I am all for it for sure and will do anything required to make it happen!

The Gyro's I know of in the Cape at the moment are:

Louis van Wyk
Johann Fronemann
Ian Corder
Paul Roux
Oden Knutzen
Thinus Enslin
Glenn Poley (FO Gyro)
Steve Thornton Smith
Kevin ? at FASH
Dave Lehr
Jonathan Mylrea
Paul Ackerman
Jonathan Bascins
Gerhard Burger
Mark Bellinghan
Mike Matthews
Nick Loubser
Leon Bouwer
Celliers Burger
Patrick Owen
+me I make that 21!

This list is off the top of my head so forgive me if I have probably left out a few that I may have missed please add to the list with contact details. This would be SO exciting! I am all for it. Imagine 40 or 50 gyro's together. We might want to consider somewhere central though? Somewhere like Gariep Dam? Might encourage more people to join in from the North but then they don't get to fly the AWESOME Western Cape and Stunning Cape Peninsula with us! Its only 5 hours further south-west from Gariep so is well worth it actually. There is talk of tight altitude and corridor restrictions being contemplated for the peninsula one of these days so best we do it legally while we still can.

I recommend the route we took ferrying RJR down. Wagtail or Kroonstad (Gerhard Botha will organise fuel at FAKS if we speak to him) if you are worried about the leg to New Tempe, then Gariep dam, stay over, De Stijl hotel is stunning,, and shuttles to/from airport happily. Next day ,Beaufort West for breakfast - Beaufort West to Worcester (we can arrange fuel at Maatjiesfontein if that leg is too long for some) Short hop from Worcester to wherever the final gathering is going to be then. Nice leisurely 5 hours a day, no more than 2 hours at a time.

I am excited!
Last edited by FO Gyro on Thu Sep 09, 2010 11:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Spelling
Trikenut

Postby Trikenut » Sun Sep 05, 2010 7:22 pm

Well I saw it for the first time on Sat. WOW LEN!!!! You have a beautiful gyro!!! I liked the Xenon but this is something else!! Go M24!!! (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)
Louis took some pics with my camera... will post soon. (Ok... not an excuse to talk sh1t about me now!! ## :lol: )

Whens my flight???? :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Trikenut - Pilot in Training!!!
I love the smell of Avgas in the Morning!
"Beware 16 year old here"

Postby Gyronaut » Tue Sep 07, 2010 8:30 pm

Stretching the M24's wings a little starting tomorrow.

We're flying to Howick in KZN from Cape Town for the weekend and back next week.

Plan is (weather permitting) to leave for FAMO tomorrow afternoon via Swellendam - spend the evening with John Boucher and Thelma and Linel then Thursday Via FAGG, FAPE, FAEL to Wavecrest on the Wildcoast for the evening, Friday via Port St Johns, Margate to Howick to spend the weekend with family. Long stretch but the aerrie has had its 25hour service, been test flown a couple of times without as much of a hickup - so let the adventure begin!!

Maps have been studied, NOTAMS checked, Weather checked, flight logs have been completed, Fuel calcs done, GPS routes loaded, flight plans prepared, ramp check documents ready, crucial spares loaded, Camera's charged.

Will report back on our return. Wifey's 3rd long cross-country in the M24 in less than a month after doing none in 5 years in the tandem Sycamore. (She impresses me immensely with how light she is able to pack for a week! a keeper this one for sure!) :lol:

Wish us luck and give us a holler if you come across RJR in the air.
xxx
THI

Postby THI » Tue Sep 07, 2010 8:53 pm

Thats how it should be done!!

Gee hom gas!!

Enjoy
Thinus Enslin
Potchefstroom (FAPS)
ZU-CML
Sycamore MK1 - Hilux of the gyros
Would love a RV10 though...
MAGNIficent

Postby MAGNIficent » Wed Sep 08, 2010 6:30 am

Len
Please give us a call when you are in Margate, we would like to meet you there.
Cell o eigt three 7010078

Weidie
To fly is LIFE...!!!
Keep on LIVING...!!