Private Field

Questions about training in general, syllabus', requirements etc
Witkop
Signed up at flight school

Private Field

Postby Witkop » Wed Nov 28, 2012 3:11 pm

Hi everyone.

First of all i am new here actually i am new to everything with regards to Microlight Flying. I have a question for some of you clever flyers out there please excuse me if it has been asked before. I need some advice with regards to a new runway that i wish to “create” on our farm firstly some information on the area.

1. Its flat and a bid of a decline to the North.
2. The wind usually blows from between the North and South.
3. To the South of the runways is a huge line of willow trees roughly 50 meters thick and 400 meters long.
4. The Runway itself can be 800 meters long however im of the opinion the it would be best to make it 400 meters long running parallel with the trees on the south. I feel that these trees will block the wind and provide a consistent windless landing.
5. At the end of the runway is a fence of roughly 2 meters high beyond that is a clear field which i intend to use as an emergency landing zone should i experience a stall or a engine failure.

I included a picture for ease of reference sake any advice will highly appreciated.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
For once you have tasted flight you will walk the earth with your eyes turned skywards, for there you have been and there you will long to return.
ZU-DAT
Tumbleweed
Toooooo Thousand
Toooooo Thousand

Re: Private Field

Postby Tumbleweed » Wed Nov 28, 2012 5:29 pm

Firstly, from now on call it a fire break and not an airfield.

How far way from the trees, or how wide will it be?

If you have the luxury and space, make another cross strip from East to South. Those trees will come into play sooner or later.
Sling ZU FYE - For Your Entertainment
Witkop

Postby Witkop » Thu Nov 29, 2012 10:09 am

Thank you for the reply i take note of the fire break.