Finally getting going!

Questions about training in general, syllabus', requirements etc
Beefmaster

Finally getting going!

Postby Beefmaster » Sat Jun 18, 2011 9:07 pm

Hi guys! Havent posted w.r.t training in a long time! Been about 2 yrs I think... Anyway, just wanted to announce I have finally got some sudden bucks together and started my training. Have done 3:06 so far with Boris Benic in Witbank. Have to drive up and down to Witbank from Middelburg though, which is a bit of a bugger, but so worth it (^^)

Hoping for calm air in the morning, been too windy three days straight now, and I'm getting withdrawal!

If there're any other guys who have recently started training, let me know how you're doing! I've now done lessons 1,2 and 3, then touched on 4 and 5, and a bot of 12 and 13 in the circuit. Done around 14 landings, and I must say getting the hang of it! vhpy Feeling the wing go stiff during take off is just great, its right about there where the smile creeps onto my face and sticks until around an hour after flight ($$)

Cheeeeeeers!
ZU-DMB -> Worlds hottest Raptor 582
A powerline never hits an aircraft, except in self-defence.
Gavin Kukard

Re: Finally getting going!

Postby Grumpy » Sun Jun 19, 2011 10:40 am

Hey Beef, I used to drive 100ks to my field for instruction. When my Instructor arrived, he would pull his bike in the hanger, change helmet and get in the back and off we go. I used to get up at 3am leave and drive, get there in the dark, do preflight in the hangar with lights, pull it out warm up, get geared up to be ready. 6am in the air for and hour or so.
What a huge schlepp it was and kak timing etc, BUT when you finished and you time is your own its the best experience you can have in the world. So push on and get finished it's worth every minute.
Beefmaster

Postby Beefmaster » Mon Jun 20, 2011 8:08 am

Hey Grumpy,

Thanks man, ja I'm doing it now til i'm done :) Did some more circuits yesterday, 15 in fact! Total now 4:36. These circuits are starting to come outta my ears man! Hehe (^^) Got my students licence as well, so will register for exams today and prob write on Friday, looking forward to getting that out of the way!
Gavin Kukard

Postby nicow » Mon Jun 20, 2011 8:24 am

Beefmaster
It's all worth it!Enjoy-keep by the rules,and stay safe.
vliegskool@hotmail.com
ZU-AWA
ZU-DMM
ZU-AJO
ZU-AWF
ZU-BAI
ZS-WOR
ZU-TCT
ZU-DOD
ZU-CIE
ZU-BIW
Beefmaster

Postby Beefmaster » Mon Jun 20, 2011 9:43 am

Thanks Nico,

Ja nee Boris is nogal 'n streng ou, so terwyl ons vlieg se hy sommer "hey where you going boy?" as ek 10m van die downwind paaitjie af is... Hehe!! Dis goed so, ek verkies om te weet as ek solo gaan dat ek KAN vlieg. Het 'n youtube clip gekyk van 'n whipstall, crazy en seriously scary!! Jy moet sien hoe plat styg ek op! Angle of climb 0.00000001° ## Lekke bang vi daai ding!
Gavin Kukard

Postby Bundy » Mon Jun 20, 2011 1:43 pm

Hi Beefmaster,

Glad to hear you've got started bud... dont stop!
I completed my NPL in Feb and can tell you it's worth every minute (and the moolah!) :lol:

Push through and most importantly always be safe! Good luck

Welcome to the world of financial ruin! :wink: (^^)
Beefmaster

Postby Beefmaster » Mon Jun 20, 2011 2:21 pm

Hehe!! Thanks :) I'm starting to feel the financial ruin bit! (**)
Gavin Kukard
Beefmaster

Postby Beefmaster » Fri Jun 24, 2011 9:37 pm

5:41

Hoping someone switches this m**rse fan off outside so I can fly tomorrow morning! Gonna be cold though either way. Then radio course at Rhino, hopefully fly again on Sunday morning then off to the lowveld for a week. Gonna slot in a lesson with Deon in Hoedspruit as well :)

Cant get enough!!
Gavin Kukard

Postby Bundy » Sat Jun 25, 2011 5:53 am

Flying is probably worse than Heroin! :lol: (^^)
D2O

Postby D2O » Sat Jun 25, 2011 7:34 am

Enjoy it, and welcome to Microlighters!

Plane-less
Beefmaster

Postby Beefmaster » Sat Jun 25, 2011 10:24 pm

Thanks D2O :) Will probably bump into you sometime, as I said in the other thread, was at Rhino all day, and with that lekke chow in your clubhouse, will definitely do some weekend brekkie runs to there soon!
Gavin Kukard
Jean Crous

Postby Jean Crous » Wed Jun 29, 2011 7:26 pm

Hey Beefmaster , i like your avatar, but , .........should your username not have been Cat-juice , perhaps :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: To match old Alf there (^^)
Jean
The new front seat solo Cubby MK2 powered by Rotax 912 S 100hp
Cubby Aircraft Factory
Suppliers of Nitrate, Butyrate, adhesive, Fabric
Email: cubbyaircraftfactory@gmail.com
Jean Crous
SACAA Approved Person 402
Beefmaster

Postby Beefmaster » Sun Jul 10, 2011 2:22 pm

Hehe Jean!! Good point, but i've gone enviro-friendly, I dont consume cats anymore ;)

Did my hour with Deon in Hoedspruit, and another session with Boris on Friday, TT now 7:16! Boris reckons 3 more sessions, then solo!! Woohoo!! Gonna do idle approaches (hopefully today), then engine out approaches next, and stalls and forced landings, then solo!! Yeah!!
Gavin Kukard
HENNING JOHAN

Postby HENNING JOHAN » Sun Jul 10, 2011 6:49 pm

Beefmaster wrote:Hehe Jean!! Good point, but i've gone enviro-friendly, I dont consume cats anymore ;)

Did my hour with Deon in Hoedspruit, and another session with Boris on Friday, TT now 7:16! Boris reckons 3 more sessions, then solo!! Woohoo!! Gonna do idle approaches (hopefully today), then engine out approaches next, and stalls and forced landings, then solo!! Yeah!!
Hallo,Beefmaster!Enjoy your training it is the best part to become a pilot!Remeber every lesson!I've learn a new lesson with the CFI when we did the precaution landings!In the beginning I was a scared for engin out but now I looove it!Stall is a joyride if it is done right and safe!It took me 2 years for the training and I have my trike almost 5 years!Only 3 exams then Iwill be a pilot!It feels unbelieveable!Enjoy your training and get as much knowledge as possible from your instructor!! (^^) ##
FLY SAFE!!FLYBOY OBD.Aerotrike Scout 503 ZU-CAI.
Jean Crous

Postby Jean Crous » Mon Jul 11, 2011 7:50 pm

Go for it Beefmaster and Henning Johan (^^) (^^) Just remember to make a really special day of it when you go .......SOLO (!!) (!!) ^ ^
The new front seat solo Cubby MK2 powered by Rotax 912 S 100hp
Cubby Aircraft Factory
Suppliers of Nitrate, Butyrate, adhesive, Fabric
Email: cubbyaircraftfactory@gmail.com
Jean Crous
SACAA Approved Person 402