Jabiru vs Rotax

Technical questions, advice, sharing information etc (aircraft, engines, instruments, weather and such)
AndyCAP
Got my wings at last
Got my wings at last

Jabiru vs Rotax

Postby AndyCAP » Wed Sep 14, 2005 1:22 pm

I am new to this sport and want to get into 3axis microlight flying. I am 6'7,5" tall and as a result I dont fit into may planes! I've checked out the Cheetah XLS and so far it seems to be the best option (space wise). I still intend to check out the Bushbaby, A22 Foxbat & Thunderbird

I have however had quite a bit of conflicting info about the reliability engines - particularly the rivalry between Rotax & Jabiru. I know I'm probably opening a can of worms, but where can I get stats on engine reliability of Rotax 582 and Jabiru 2200 (80 or new 85hp)? Are these stats accurite - or are most engine failures which are followed by successful emergency landings not reoprted?

My current thinking is to build a Cheetah from a kit and fit it with either a Rotax 582 or Jabiru 2200 (I would love a 912 or 912s, but the cost precludes it at this stage)

Cheers

AndyCAP
Junkie
The sky is all mine
The sky is all mine

Postby Junkie » Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm

Why not go for the 3cyl 100hp Hirth Fuel injected motor,
its lighter and way more powerfull than a 582.

By all accounts looks like it will be more reliable too :)
J.U.N.K.I.E 's
Finest used aviation parts in all the Universe
No credit / No returns
AndyCAP
Got my wings at last
Got my wings at last

Postby AndyCAP » Thu Sep 15, 2005 3:34 pm

I've never even considered this motor - they are not used frequently in SA are they? will check on the Net for more info (local supplier etc)

Thanks for the feedback though!
AndyCAP
Got my wings at last
Got my wings at last

Postby AndyCAP » Mon Sep 19, 2005 8:33 pm