COUNTER SINK POP RIVITS.
So you sit somewhere between nowhere and nothing, and you NEED countersink. Pop rivits. You live in a BEEG place, no warries, pop over to the harware store.........NOT SO. Not even all hardware stores keep them, and definately NOT the local Ko-op, or the Spar harware section. So what. Cape Town is 3 weeks on horseback away. Bugger this, I will make my own. This is wat I do.
- Attachments
- This is the forming block
- Aly block with 3.2mm holes and countersink.JPG (50.64 KiB) Viewed 1948 times
- This is the one u use to hammer the ordinary dome head into a countersink
- Hammering bloch, with 2,, hole drilled in..JPG (43.61 KiB) Viewed 1948 times
- Da hammer
- Moer it with a hammer......JPG (48.65 KiB) Viewed 1948 times
- Voila! da problem solved. Countersink pop rivits!
- Before on left, countersink on right..JPG (47.51 KiB) Viewed 1948 times
- ZULU1
Re: COUNTER SINK POP RIVITS.
Boet, way back in the days of old, in my studies of Mechanical Engineering science "strengths of materials" lectures you are essentially adding a cold forming process which in turn will locally harden the material in question that you have "belted" (I am English and we dont moer anything). Its quite possibly work hardening the material and would probably upgrade the performance of a standard pop rivet...So may I suggest that you market the kits " Boet series moertested" and your slogan should be "We nail South Africa and screw the world"...
Have a clinking day...
Zulu1
Have a clinking day...
Zulu1
Centrifugal force in pure Physics does not exist, however this does not apply to Taxi drivers..
U mean: Stop screwing and start riviting? Or: Where are the good `ol days when it was still safe to screw, and dangerous to fly??

And lissen now my china, we don`t "belt" things here in Soufferrika, you "moer" it `,spesially when a hammer is thrown into the equation. BELT? I wear one around my waist to keep me KK jeans from falling down around my ankles?? 

- bobthebuilder
- Pilot in Command

Mooi plan Boet

Groete
Jean.
The new front seat solo Cubby MK2 powered by Rotax 912 S 100hp
Cubby Aircraft Factory
Suppliers of Nitrate, Butyrate, adhesive, Fabric
Email: cubbyaircraftfactory@gmail.com
Jean Crous
SACAA Approved Person 402
Cubby Aircraft Factory
Jean Crous

The exact opposite of Zenith aircraft... They use countersunk rivets, and then form the head into a dome when you pull them:
Apparently provides much stronger and more consistent seating.
OK. so how many rivits do u need for your Zenair????

- ZULU1
OK, so we started with a AS3205 pop rivet which may be defined in simple terms as a ally rivet steel shank 3,2 mm diameter and 5 mm long, right.
This becomes a AS3205 BMx1a2R
Which means in English (my Grandparents didn't speak English by the way) I just happened to as my father was English...
Allysteel Boetmoer times 1kg "ammer" times 2 glasses redwine...
Zulu1 (FSS) aSf (CGS) fellow QBE
Failed standard six, almost standard five, Charles Glass society, fellow, qualified by experience
This becomes a AS3205 BMx1a2R
Which means in English (my Grandparents didn't speak English by the way) I just happened to as my father was English...
Allysteel Boetmoer times 1kg "ammer" times 2 glasses redwine...
Zulu1 (FSS) aSf (CGS) fellow QBE
Failed standard six, almost standard five, Charles Glass society, fellow, qualified by experience
Centrifugal force in pure Physics does not exist, however this does not apply to Taxi drivers..
Net 'n paar duisend... Gaan jy hulle gou vir my vervaardig?Boet wrote:OK. so how many rivits do u need for your Zenair????![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()

Moenie so bleddie lui wees nie, maak tools en maak jou eie rivits! 

Nee - ek's veels te lui daarvoor. Maar gelukkig woon ek in die groot stad. As ek rivits nodig het, bel ek vir Avlock, en die volgende dag land daar 'n boks rivits op my lessenaarBoet wrote:Moenie so bleddie lui wees nie, maak tools en maak jou eie rivits!

How utterly bloody convenient!! 

The new front seat solo Cubby MK2 powered by Rotax 912 S 100hp
Cubby Aircraft Factory
Jean Crous
Cubby Aircraft Factory