Those Bastards who sell me this Stuff

Technical questions, advice, sharing information etc (aircraft, engines, instruments, weather and such)
Asterix

Those Bastards who sell me this Stuff

Postby Asterix » Sat Feb 25, 2012 2:32 pm

During December I take the time to do some exhaust maintenance. I take it of up to the manifold, take a steelbrush to it and paint it nice and black. (Which keeps for about 1 hour in the air - but nonetheless).

I also use the opportunity to replace all the exhaust springs , with brand new springs from the authorised dealer. I use a brand new nice and strong Shimano cable to safety thread the whole assembly, and go of flying, very happy about my nice looking exhaust.

30 minutes later, I am on the deck again, and stare in amazement at a broken spring. It sheared of clean where the hook meets the spring. A little disappointed at this one in a million factory fault I dissassemble the whole saftey rigging, and fit back one of the old springs.

An hour later, I am looking at the second broken spring. Same story.

This morning, I break TWO more!!! I strip my moer, take them all of and buy new ones on the spot from a different supplier. Fit and safety wire them, and they have done 90 minutes - no problem, so far.

My question - what are those authorised BASTARDS going to say if someones exhaust falls of in flight due to the inferiority of their product???? :twisted: :twisted: I am mad.

Re: Those Bastards who sell me this Stuff

Postby Bundy » Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:14 am

Ja ou James, we chatted about this yesterday at ML but one question...is it the same spring that goes all the time? Is there not a problem with the way the two manifold segments are alligned? perhaps one spring is working harder than the others?

Ek vra maar net?

Stuff it.... just weld the blerrie thing on! :lol:

Perhaps we will get some nice high powered electric trikes on the market in a few years....no more exhaust problems! :wink:
Mc Guyver

Postby Mc Guyver » Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:22 am

A simple solution to the black paint on the exhaust.
Don't paint it vhpy
Whilst the exhaust is still hot rub grease onto it with a cloth.
Keep repeating this after a few flights and you will not have a rusty exhaust any more (the aircraft exhaust not yours :roll: )
It works like a dream (^^)

Postby Bundy » Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:25 am

Mc Guyver wrote:A simple solution to the black paint on the exhaust.
Don't paint it vhpy
Whilst the exhaust is still hot rub grease onto it with a cloth.
Keep repeating this after a few flights and you will not have a rusty exhaust any more (the aircraft exhaust not yours :roll: )
It works like a dream (^^)
....and if Mc Guyver says it works.....then you better believe him! (^^)

I'm gonna try this for sure! Thanks! :) Any specific type of grease?
Mc Guyver

Postby Mc Guyver » Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:36 am

Any grease that you have lying around , even old grease :!:
Jean Crous

Postby Jean Crous » Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:38 am

vhpy Hey Bundy, TWO types of grease are required,.......wheel bearing grease ( this is a high temp grease) and lots of elbow grease :lol: :lol: :lol:
Jean.
The new front seat solo Cubby MK2 powered by Rotax 912 S 100hp
Cubby Aircraft Factory
Suppliers of Nitrate, Butyrate, adhesive, Fabric
Email: cubbyaircraftfactory@gmail.com
Jean Crous
SACAA Approved Person 402

Postby Bundy » Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:42 am

JeanTree wrote:vhpy Hey Bundy, TWO types of grease are required,.......wheel bearing grease ( this is a high temp grease) and lots of elbow grease :lol: :lol: :lol:
Jean.
Cool... Ive got the wheel bearing grease....let me know when you're free so you can bring the elbow grease (^^) :lol:

Postby Boet » Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:45 am

I solved the problem by having some stainless steel springs made up. No more problems. Unfortunately out of stock at the mo. :oops:
Jean Crous

Postby Jean Crous » Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:54 am

Bundy wrote:
JeanTree wrote:vhpy Hey Bundy, TWO types of grease are required,.......wheel bearing grease ( this is a high temp grease) and lots of elbow grease :lol: :lol: :lol:
Jean.
Cool... Ive got the wheel bearing grease....let me know when you're free so you can bring the elbow grease (^^) :lol:
:lol: :lol: Eish ,maar jy is net n bietjie ver van my af ## ##
The new front seat solo Cubby MK2 powered by Rotax 912 S 100hp
Cubby Aircraft Factory
Suppliers of Nitrate, Butyrate, adhesive, Fabric
Email: cubbyaircraftfactory@gmail.com
Jean Crous
SACAA Approved Person 402
ZAZU

Postby ZAZU » Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:17 am

Another way to prevent springs from breaking is to get some heat resistant silicone, squeeze a line of the stuff along the length of the spring, repeat on the opposite side. Apparently is damps the vibrations, and by doing that, it keeps your vibes up. :wink:
Christo J/v Rensburg

"To be legal, you need the law;
To be just, you need a value system"
Slabfish

Postby Slabfish » Wed Feb 29, 2012 7:58 pm

Postby ZAZU » Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:17 am
Another way to prevent springs from breaking is to get some heat resistant silicone, squeeze a line of the stuff along the length of the spring, repeat on the opposite side. Apparently is damps the vibrations, and by doing that, it keeps your vibes up. :wink:

This works without fail. springs lasts a lifetime ,
Clem Slabbert from FAPX
ZS WPF Mizer-Sold
ZU EKP Jora-Sold
ZU CWE Jora-Sold
ZU IAC New Jora
vernon11

Postby vernon11 » Mon Apr 09, 2012 12:20 pm

Asterix. Did you manage to sort out your problems with the springs. I found with the original springs, that where it was bent at right angles to form the hook, the bend was too sharp, which was a week point. Hans got me some from somewhere else, and I never had problems again.
Vernon.
janjacobs66
Pre flight checks done

Postby janjacobs66 » Fri Apr 27, 2012 10:33 am

Had exactly the same issue

6 new springs from the Authorised Rotax Supplier, correctly fitted with steel wire & all
1st Flight - one broke ( also at the same point )

in my case a bit more severe, as I have a pusher on the Streak, damaged 2 blades :evil:

Where did you source the "alternative" springs from ? ( and also the SS versions )

I will definitely try the silicone "mod" as well, saw it yesterday at Rainbow in a Cheetah
Cheers !

Jan
Sideslip

Postby Sideslip » Sat Apr 28, 2012 1:31 am

Thanks for paying us a visit Jan. let us know what you decide to do with wheels etc.
Mike Gill

Postby Bundy » Sat Apr 28, 2012 7:02 am

janjacobs66 wrote:Had exactly the same issue

6 new springs from the Authorised Rotax Supplier, correctly fitted with steel wire & all
1st Flight - one broke ( also at the same point )

in my case a bit more severe, as I have a pusher on the Streak, damaged 2 blades :evil:

Where did you source the "alternative" springs from ? ( and also the SS versions )

I will definitely try the silicone "mod" as well, saw it yesterday at Rainbow in a Cheetah
Hi Jan, I have also changed to the SS spring version..Ironically, they were all perefctly put in with safety wire, and 4 days later I had to take them all out again due to the accident :roll:

... chat t0 Fanie Deysel at Microland (Skyriders)... he has a whole box of them! I think I paid about R12 each for them? He has had them in his school planes for ages! Rotax agent needs to wake up and realise that springs breaking are a potential safety risk! They must be aware that the springs they sell are not up to the task.... :wink: