582 Water Temp.

Technical questions, advice, sharing information etc (aircraft, engines, instruments, weather and such)
soekiwindni

582 Water Temp.

Postby soekiwindni » Mon May 16, 2011 8:10 pm

Fellow MPL pilots, please help. (Boet, if this was discussed "ad nausium", forgive me.......... :wink: :wink: )

I just bought a 582 Aquilla (had a 503 Cosmos) and read in the Rotax Manual that the water temp should not exceeds 80 degrees C. My aerie does go up to 85 (VDO temp instrument) when flying at 6000 rpm and above...... :shock: . Straight and level @ 5400 rpm: 75 degrees C.

Is this reason to worry as a fellow triker (582) said it should NEVER go above 80 d.. C. :?:

Soekiwindi
BOOMARANG
Survived first engine out

Re: 582 Water Temp.

Postby BOOMARANG » Thu May 19, 2011 5:11 am

I'm not a boffin on this , but I also fly an Aquilla with a 582 bluetop. My temp never exceed 65 degrees. Maybe the temp guage on your trike is faulty? I would suggest testing the guage. 85 degrees is 15 away from boiling point and it just sound to close for comfort for me.
BOOMARANG
Alkemac

Postby Alkemac » Thu May 19, 2011 7:47 am

Hi,

Maybe start with doing a flush of the system and putting the correct mix of water and antifreeze in and then check.

Is this the operting temp now, because during winter it traditionally should be running a lot colder, hence some radiators requiring straps to reduce exposure to moving air ?

My trike, with two straps on yesterday at about 6.45am, ran at 62 deg's in the climb with one up, but when my wife went out on her cross country with an instructor, it ran at about 70..
ZU-DODO
soekiwindni

Postby soekiwindni » Sat Feb 04, 2012 8:43 pm

Okay; I am officially gatvol gesukkel :evil:

Engine has done 56 hours since new. During winter temps went up to 75-80 deg C. Now in summer it runs between 80-85 (one up, 5500 rpm). I checked the thermostat (it opens halfway - which apperantly is regarded as"fully open"). I flushed the radiator and replaced with 30% coolant 70% distelled water. Had the carbs checked and balanced last week.
This afternoon it went up to 90 deg C @ 6000 rpm (one up) :shock: I landed and replaced the temp guage (VDO).................... Went up and within 2 minutes went beyond 90 deg C. :(> :(>

Any idea as to what could be wrong / reason for high temps???

HELP !!!
Thanks
Soekiwindi
083 5500 977
Karman

Postby Karman » Sun Feb 05, 2012 9:20 am

My 0.02c worth:

The fact that it runs colder in winter, does not sound like thermostat or temp sensor issue to me as the thermostat is keeping things cool.. This sounds to me like not enough airflow over the radiator, or not enough water flow through the radiator.

Coolant don't make big difference in cooling, its there for preventing freezing and also corrosion protection.

I don't know anything about aeri motors, but would suggest following:
-Check if water pump is in good condition (generating enough water flow)
-Check radiator for blockages (maybe remove and flush with water in reverse direction)
-Flush whole system the wrong way (reversed waterflow) as there might be some gasket etc blocking a water channel somewhere (please just confirm that you won't damage anything).

L:
Bulletjie

Postby Bulletjie » Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:02 am

Soekiwindi

Have your radiator cleaned!I had the same problem and that solved everything!
Dream more when you are awake!
kloot piloot

Postby kloot piloot » Sun Feb 05, 2012 5:04 pm

Soekiwindi
Gerhard Burger en Karman het die antwoorde gegee.
-Flush radiator (vat na Silverton radiators of soortgelyk) en toets dan.
-Daarna waterpomp check.
Roel Jansen
Never say: "I should have ..."
ZU-IAR powered by BMW 1200
John.com
Location: Broederstroom (Magaliesberg) - home airstrip Aeroden

Postby John.com » Sun Feb 05, 2012 6:33 pm

Confirmed, 80C is the maximum, with normal range 65-80C.
John Comley
ZU-BST (the Beautiful Seductive Temptress)
Magaliesberg, South Africa
Read my flying blog here . . . http://johncomley.blogspot.com/

"Truly superior pilots are those who use their superior judgment to avoid those situations where they might have to use their superior skills"
ystervark7

Postby ystervark7 » Mon Feb 06, 2012 7:59 pm

I have had a similar problem in warm weather and I have tried very thing including flushing, recoring, replace the thermostat and the radiator cap. The only thing that worked at the end was to replace the radiator and relocate them into hi flowing air. I replaced mine with two smaller ones from and old raptor. That worked like a charm after more than a year of struggeling.

One last word of advice, don't let the temperature go above 85. Land immediately if it reaches 80. This is the advice I got from the old ballies and they know....
soekiwindni

Postby soekiwindni » Mon Feb 06, 2012 8:12 pm

I have removed the radiator this afternoon and will take it to Silverton Radiators tomorrow.

Thank you for the replies .......... will keep you posted.

Soekiwindni
Playboy

Postby Playboy » Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:04 am

Soekiwindni..............buy a 503,you will have no kak :lol: :lol: :lol: ## ## ## ##
Brendan Botha
ZS-Nothing at this stage
skybound®

Postby skybound® » Tue Feb 07, 2012 5:04 pm

What are the dangers of it being too cool?
Mogas

Postby Mogas » Tue Feb 07, 2012 6:10 pm

FWIW
I had similar trouble with a 582 Bushbaby, tried everything, baffle seals in the cowling, a scoop on the intake, all sorts of fiddling. Slight improvements with each modification.
Then I put in a new sender and guage from Midas and it was fixed!
The sender was faulty all the time and it gave me lots of grey hair.
To make sure I tested both the new and old in hot water with a thermometer and confirmed that it was indeed the old sender over reading by about 10-15C.
Nottaquitta
soekiwindni

Postby soekiwindni » Tue Feb 07, 2012 6:40 pm

Had the Radiator checked at Silverton Radiators ...................... perfect water-flow, no blockages :evil: :evil:-

I have now checked everything but for the waterpump. (**)

What are the chances of engine trouble on a 582 with 60 hours on the clock?

Soekiwindi
zoobie

Postby zoobie » Fri Feb 10, 2012 1:46 pm

hey Soekiwindi

make sure you are running the correct anti freeze ratio and type.....after flushing mine recently, i mixed it 50-50 ( MIdas anti freeze).....the engine ran hot..83-85 degrees.

I drained the mixture, and used castrol anti freeze...ratio of 90% distilled water -10% Castrol anti freeze.

problem solved.

Also make sure that you don't have an air lock. When you fill up, loosen the nut with the allen key on top of the engine and make sure that all the air gets outs.

Hope this helps you.
"pilolts with big go**s fly taildraggers"