The thread killer - advice being given on this forum

Technical questions, advice, sharing information etc (aircraft, engines, instruments, weather and such)
skybound®

The thread killer - advice being given on this forum

Postby skybound® » Wed Aug 04, 2010 9:06 am

Many of threads on this technical forum are providing the incorrect advice.

Judging by the level of questions, many are being presented by non AP or AME level persons.In a community such as ours, it is our nature to be helpful and share what we know, and answers to the actual technical problem will be provided. Take for example you start a thread here on 'I found white sludge in my carb during my preflight and now doesn't want to start- what do I do?' There would most likely be brilliant answers providing detailing on how to strip a carb and replace parts x,y,z etc.

The correct advice should be under the current regulations is: Take it to your AP or AME. (The thread killer :wink: )

We seem to have forgotten that unless you are an AP or AME you cannot do maintenance on your aircraft. I would argue that our regulations are still at the bezerck level that legally you are not even allowed to change your own spark plugs under normal circumstances. I dont agree with them, but we either need to pick up the fight (again) to have then changed or shut up and unhappily comply.

Re: The thread killer - advice being given on this forum

Postby nicow » Wed Aug 04, 2010 2:43 pm

($$) ($$) ($$)
nico@limpopoflightschool.co.za
Conrad

Postby Conrad » Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:10 pm

I do maintenance on my own trike, simply because AP's are too expensive.
falconp1

Postby falconp1 » Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:11 pm

Hi Skybound

I take it you are an AP then. :)
ZS-WVD CONDOR
ZU-CIW Challenger 11
freddievanrooyen@yahoo.com
skybound®

Postby skybound® » Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:20 pm

falconp1 wrote:Hi Skybound

I take it you are an AP then. :)
Nope - more like an interested person that would like to be able to do his own maintenance without having to become one.
skybound®

Postby skybound® » Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:44 pm

Conrad wrote:I do maintenance on my own trike, simply because AP's are too expensive.
The expense of paying fines or being sued when found to be flying illegally, far outweigh that cost, especially if there is an incident/accident.

There are so many angles to it - for instance one of the accident reports released earlier this year pointed towards incorrect maintenance. The owner did not perish but someone else did. From what I can conclude is that the accident report is being handed over to the cops and a culpable homicide docket could be opened against the owner who maintained this craft. This does scare me.

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:46 pm

Some AP's are happy for you to do the work and then inspect it afterwards? Would that be in order?

Some of my plugs looked a bit more worn than others last MPI. i have ordered new ones along with a quick drain kit to allow me to do oil change. Am I allowed to do this? (fit 4 new plugs and drain the oil) :shock: :shock: :shock:
falconp1

Postby falconp1 » Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:50 pm

The day that I have to have an AP solve or rectify all the little problems I encounter from time to time will be the day that I leave the sport. Some of us just cannot afford it. Besides ' working on my aircraft is half the fun for me. I do however agree with you that we need to do something about it. How do we get the ball rolling. If it carries on like this most of us will be regulated out of our sport.
ZS-WVD CONDOR
ZU-CIW Challenger 11
freddievanrooyen@yahoo.com
skybound®

Postby skybound® » Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:56 pm

RV4ker my understanding is yes, that you can work under supervision of an AP/AME. End of the day it is the AP that signs the log books that the work has been carried out and carries the responsibility. So if he is happy with you doing the work - no problem.

Some (not all) of the questions here indicate that no AP is supervising the work being carried out.
skybound®

Postby skybound® » Wed Aug 04, 2010 4:01 pm

falconp1 wrote:The day that I have to have an AP solve or rectify all the little problems I encounter from time to time will be the day that I leave the sport. Some of us just cannot afford it. Besides ' working on my aircraft is half the fun for me. I do however agree with you that we need to do something about it. How do we get the ball rolling. If it carries on like this most of us will be regulated out of our sport.
Spot on falconp1.

Morph was closest to this and things were almost there - read this thread as a start: viewtopic.php?f=13&t=10848&start=0

It kinda fizzled out after their was some promise of an AIC/AIP/Notam - but it never came and I think more through lack of the general mass not being particularly interested it was never resurrected. The blame lies with all of us - no one individual. (The good ole saying everybody's business is nobody's business comes to mind)

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Wed Aug 04, 2010 4:02 pm

skybound® wrote:
Some (not all) of the questions here indicate that no AP is supervising the work being carried out.
If so who signs the Application for renewal of ATF and how does 1 get ATF without AP signature?

I have also just ordered this...

Can I fit it myself or do I need permission?
Kalahari
Survived first engine out

Postby Kalahari » Wed Aug 04, 2010 4:35 pm

falconp1 wrote:The day that I have to have an AP solve or rectify all the little problems I encounter from time to time will be the day that I leave the sport. Some of us just cannot afford it. Besides ' working on my aircraft is half the fun for me. I do however agree with you that we need to do something about it. How do we get the ball rolling. If it carries on like this most of us will be regulated out of our sport.

Exactly why I left, was taken for a ride by the local AP and unfortunately he is the only one around, so for me the cost of getting an AP from somewhere else to do minor maintenace on my trike outweight the pleasure of recreational flying! For my license renewals I rather take the drive to another town in order to avoid the local one eyed king!
Arrogance and rudeness are the training wheels on the bicycle of life for those who can not keep their balance without it!

Postby Tumbleweed » Wed Aug 04, 2010 7:01 pm

Yes and no. vhpy

It's fine when an AP, intructor or some high milers are in your flying circle but when you're iscolated and the hangar talk advice is dodgy then this is the best place to ask advice.

Best to make good mates with a highly competent 8000 hr AP and bombard him with your problems and buy the drinks. :)

Postby Boet » Wed Aug 04, 2010 7:12 pm

Jaaaaaa Skybound. For all this insanity, I have no more words. It is our SPORT after all. All this over-regulating is killing it. I agree that some oke`s just CAN not maintain his aerie properly to save his life. For this pesson there is the AP`s. Then there are the other okies, who has been doing their own maintenance for years, nobody, including his AP knows his aeroplane the way he knows it. Where to draw the line. For heavens sake, we can`t ALL be AP`s? I am SERIOUSLY thinking of getting out of this sport altogether. I am sick and tired to the bones of all this bullshit. :evil:
Africa

Postby Africa » Wed Aug 04, 2010 7:32 pm

I would really love to know the stats or hours flown in 1990 vs accidents/incidents and 2010? I am not talking about pilot induced such as low flying, bad weather, i am talking accidents and incidents that were caused 100% by bad or wrong maintenence!

IMPO, structual work that requires the structure of the aircraft to be altered needs a professional to do but what the hell has happened to the "non certified" aircraft catagory? why can people not take responsibility for their own actions? I am not very mechanical on engines but can change plus, oil airfilters etc but will leave major stuff to a pro but thats my descreation. Fitting a new hang bolt in a trike that you ordered from a factory is very simple work, but fitting a new sail is hard and requires expertise. I think this will become a yuppy sport thats over regulated and all the lekker oaks that do it for fun will either do it illegally or find another sport. again, i think that there are money hungry administrators running things and it needs to be run by pilots.