Good quality glass filter in WC
Hi guys.
Where can I buy a good quality glass filter for my trike. I stay in Bellville Western Cape.
Thanks
Karl
Where can I buy a good quality glass filter for my trike. I stay in Bellville Western Cape.
Thanks
Karl
Take to the sky
ZU-CBI
Aerotrike Scout
ZU-CBI
Aerotrike Scout
Re: Good quality glass filter in WC
hehe, here we go again, Personally I would NOT put one in.
Ask John Young, why he heads up the "Iradication of all glass filters" campaign.
Put a diesel fuel filter in, available at any spares shop
Ask John Young, why he heads up the "Iradication of all glass filters" campaign.
Put a diesel fuel filter in, available at any spares shop
- BOATCH
- Flying low - mind the power lines
I put the glass filter in just in front of the tank inside the cocpit where i can see it.The other day i had some work done on the aluminuim tank and after i got i back i flushed it out 5 times and checked through the hole and all was clean.I started the motor and all was well so went for a nice cruise and after landing while taxi back to the hanger i checked the filter i got a fright to see how the filter was full of alumin filings.After 2 tanks of feul i still have to clean the filter and if this was the mercedes filter i would most probible had a engine out cause you can not see the cond inside the filter so for me i will always use them . Should any thing go wrong in flight you could see if there is feul in the filter or not. 

Been there, done that. Put a new tank in, had the glass filter, went for a flight, engine chooned "cough cough", poephol chooned "pweeeet"
Switched the electric pump on and the thing came back to life. 5 minutes back at the field the filter looked clean still, but it was completely blocked at the side where the threaded section screws in (outlet of the filter). The problem is this point has some sharp edges and dirt acculumates there and blocks the filter with a few seconds. ALso the mesh is too fine and clogs easily 0.1mm
A normal diesel one, does not have any points where it block and the mesh is 0.3mm
Mine is not the Mercedes one. it is quite translucent and you can easily see dirt
Switched the electric pump on and the thing came back to life. 5 minutes back at the field the filter looked clean still, but it was completely blocked at the side where the threaded section screws in (outlet of the filter). The problem is this point has some sharp edges and dirt acculumates there and blocks the filter with a few seconds. ALso the mesh is too fine and clogs easily 0.1mm
A normal diesel one, does not have any points where it block and the mesh is 0.3mm
Mine is not the Mercedes one. it is quite translucent and you can easily see dirt
Hi Morph.
Ya I read through the whole discussion many times. My trike had one on and I had no problems. Thing I like is that one can see if there has been any funny stuff thrown into ones thank by looking at the glass. Or if any funny stuff is growing there etc.
I do have the concern about the fuel starting to leak through the end caps.
What is the size difference between the glass filters and the diesel filter I buy at a spare shop? Which one should I ask for? Any in line plastic diesel filter?
Thanks
Karl
Ya I read through the whole discussion many times. My trike had one on and I had no problems. Thing I like is that one can see if there has been any funny stuff thrown into ones thank by looking at the glass. Or if any funny stuff is growing there etc.
I do have the concern about the fuel starting to leak through the end caps.
What is the size difference between the glass filters and the diesel filter I buy at a spare shop? Which one should I ask for? Any in line plastic diesel filter?
Thanks
Karl
Take to the sky
ZU-CBI
Aerotrike Scout
ZU-CBI
Aerotrike Scout
[quote="Morph"]Been there, done that. Put a new tank in, had the glass filter, went for a flight, engine chooned "cough cough", poephol chooned "pweeeet"

- Duck Rogers
Here we go again!!
Leave me out of it. Don't ask me anything. I know nothing. Pretend I didn't see this

Extra, learn from other`s mistakes. Go buy a Merc filter. I chuched out a LOT of those kak "glass fiters", but I moered them with a hammer first. bloody useless things. If you use autolube, buy GUD filter for Nissan 720 bakkie. Lekker GROOT filter. Cheap too. Maar hy moet baaaaaie kak vang voor hy verstop.

I agree that the glass filter does not work. I worked for Solo Wings and we got alot of bent triks due to those things. I believe the glass filter is made of paper too so it restricts the oil in the fuel to your engine and makes your engine run alittle leaner! Like all the oaks say use the diesel filter its the best. Another thing you can do is when you pour the fuel into your tank you can filter the fuel through a stocking! In the U.S there are filters that I use that are also made to block water. I am sure you have then in SA too. Blue skies! jamie
100% thanks! No glass for me then. Not worth the risk.
Take to the sky
ZU-CBI
Aerotrike Scout
ZU-CBI
Aerotrike Scout
Yip, Aviation Engines now sells them...Africa wrote:I agree that the glass filter does not work. I worked for Solo Wings and we got alot of bent triks due to those things. I believe the glass filter is made of paper too so it restricts the oil in the fuel to your engine and makes your engine run alittle leaner! Like all the oaks say use the diesel filter its the best. Another thing you can do is when you pour the fuel into your tank you can filter the fuel through a stocking! In the U.S there are filters that I use that are also made to block water. I am sure you have then in SA too. Blue skies! jamie
- Wargames
Aviation engines sells a small filter used for 2stroke premix that is clear plastic with strainer in. I had one, worked like a charm, till you see what crap it collects, then you start flying uneasy till you replace it.extra300s wrote:Thing I like is that one can see if there has been any funny stuff thrown into ones thank by looking at the glass. Or if any funny stuff is growing there etc.
The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"
Bosch make a "see thru" one.. Same dimensions as the Merc one, just a bit fatter. (pipe fitting same dia)
I dont have the PN at hand, I asked them for their Merc Diesel filter equivalent.
Cheers ian
I dont have the PN at hand, I asked them for their Merc Diesel filter equivalent.
Cheers ian
- Attachments
- Bosch fuel filter.jpg (23.42 KiB) Viewed 1745 times