Micrair 760 Kak or Not Kak

Technical questions, advice, sharing information etc (aircraft, engines, instruments, weather and such)
georgeh

Micrair 760 Kak or Not Kak

Postby georgeh » Thu May 13, 2010 4:46 pm

I have a micrair 760 which i could not get to work very well, and was told its a piece of SH 1T. I replaced it and am wondering if i should persevere with this Microair or not. Is there anyone out there that can shed any light on this radio?

George Harrower.
George Harrower
KFA

Re: Micrair 760 Kak or Not Kak

Postby KFA » Thu May 13, 2010 8:27 pm

We have a 760 installed in the training Explorer and it's a powerfull unit. You can gooi it in this direction, I will catch (-) (^^) More seriously, if I have it I will use it, it is not too bad. If I had to buy a new one... MGL V10 wins hands down, it's the most powerfull unit we have worked with and it's seriously user friendly. Local is very lekker... (^^)
Rudix

Postby Rudix » Thu May 13, 2010 8:34 pm

I have had problems with 2 different 760's, in different planes. They would not transmit on the higher frequencies like 135.600. Both had problems with the PLL (phase locked loop) unlocking towards the top of the band.

Other than that they worked really well!
"Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic." ;)
georgeh

Postby georgeh » Fri May 14, 2010 8:38 am

Thanks for the reply's.I'm glad to hear something positive. I had this unit in my Shadow and both transmission and reception was terrible. Is there anyone in KZN who has one in their plane, that would be prepared to hook mine up to their harness and check if mine is working properly? I would really like to take it off the shelf and use it.
George Harrower.
George Harrower
Frootbat

Postby Frootbat » Fri May 14, 2010 2:54 pm

Hallo George,
I had a 760 in my Bantam till a few weeks ago, and it was replaced by a MGL ....Jippee
I still feel like taking the 760 up to 3,000' AGL to give it a drop test, because of the poor (kak) service it gave me.

The MGL was just over 6K, best investment in a long time. (Local is lekker)

Hannes.
Bantam B22J (ZU-DUX)
Luff your aerie.
georgeh

Postby georgeh » Fri May 14, 2010 3:43 pm

Thanks for your input Hannes, I dont want to drop it from 3000ft just yet, and i wouldn't if i were you either, i'm just a bit concerned that maybe there's a common simple problem somewhere with the way it needs to be installed, you know maybe an aerial problem or something. Surely it wouldn't be on the market at the price if it was KAK, because as far as i know it was quite expensive when the previous owner purchased it.
George Harrower.
George Harrower

Postby Duck Rogers » Fri May 14, 2010 4:06 pm

Frootbat wrote: I still feel like taking the 760 up to 3,000' AGL to give it a drop test......
Hannes, please make sure you're over my house when you do that :mrgreen: Alternatively, I'll make you a k@k offer for the piece of rubbish ## vhpy vhpy

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Fri May 14, 2010 6:49 pm

I've had 2 and as far as radios go they are OK. I don't know how to set the vox squeltch but the radio works ok...
Wargames

Postby Wargames » Sat May 15, 2010 12:49 pm

georgeh wrote:I have a micrair 760 which i could not get to work very well, and was told its a piece of SH 1T. I replaced it and am wondering if i should persevere with this Microair or not. Is there anyone out there that can shed any light on this radio?

George Harrower.
Ask tsotsi, he has the same radio, and same problems. Sorted his spark plugs out, and no problem any more.

Good luck.
The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"

Postby Boet » Sun May 16, 2010 8:05 pm

A friend of mine moved to OZ, and took his BB with. At an fly-in/air show he met with the Microair agents, and complained about the rather weak performance of his Microair radio. They whipped it out of his aerie, stripped the whole dang thang, gave it a tune-up, and it was fine thereafter. It is a nice little unit, not understood locally, and not backed up tecnically. My 2c. How is the radio in the Animal doing? vhpy