Page 1 of 2

Only in SA - anyone know ?

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 12:59 pm
by Ian
So we are on our way from Lekker Microland BFast to Springs and I notice this perculiar area over Daveyton.

There are RDP (?) houses, but no roofs, windows or doors, and in between them are squatter shacks.

questions:

1. Did the shacks build from complated houses ? ie used the roofs etc
2. Were the houses never completed ?

Looks so strange, imagine the politics around this lot :?

Anyone know ?

cheers ian

Re: Only in SA - anyone know ?

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 1:06 pm
by Gyronaut
Most likely explanation is that the contractor took the money and ran long before the job was done ...
Has happened many times across the country.

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 1:19 pm
by johnsa
Or its a project like they have between diepsloot and Centurion where the squatter are building there own houses with help from the Goverment it take a while but I saw it happening. But maybe George will know....

Posted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 7:26 pm
by John Boucher
I'd take the sinc sheeting of the shacks in between and put on the built houses. Would definitely be a larger living space?

Posted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 8:04 pm
by Gyronaut
Bad Nav Bru... that would assume far too much logic....

Not in Africa

I rest my case

##

Posted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 8:22 pm
by John Boucher
What was I thinking? :oops:

Posted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 9:48 pm
by Dish
Just my ounce of speculation but last year Absa ran a project in conjunction with several corporates where the company supplied the staff and labour and Absa provided the loot. The plan was to build 35 houses in a week or two. I know that one of the houses was handed over with much pomp and ceremony (and media) - im not sure how many of the houses reached completion or were handed over. ??? Just speculation??

Posted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 10:16 pm
by John Boucher
Remind me to find another bank.... feels like SAA getting bailed out (again...)

Posted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:09 am
by Grumpy
Eish Wena, If we move into the house we have address (police can find us)and we must pay rates and taxes. Water and electricity meters. etc. There are very different laws and rights pertaining to squatters. Way to go. (^^)

Posted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:33 am
by Dish
Ya ya -

Dont climb all over Absa - it was a great initiative and the plan was a good one. Corporates sponsored the labour and a little dosh, absa sponsored the rest. Everyone schlepped out via busses to the site and did there share of building for a few days.. was a good project... im just not sure to what extent it was completed....

($$) ($$) ($$)

Posted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 12:55 pm
by BOOMARANG
Im a Sales and Marketing Manager for a brick manufacturing company and deal with the RDP Circus every day. Not all the RDP house are built on new ground etc. the ANC alo has a program where they built the houses next to the shack that already exists in the yard. The proud new owner then has to demolish his shack when the house is finished and he moves in.Instead he promptly rents out the shack. ( the catchphrase for the shacks are “HISTORICALLY DISTORTED SPATIAL PATTERNS”)
What you saw is one of those areas. The contractor builds up to roof height and gets paid. then the roof by another contractor and gets paid, then the plumbing by another contractor and gets paid and so forth.Sometimes they wait months for payments from the goverment and then everything just grinds to a halt. Or he gets paid, buys a new BMW x5 or a Volvo etc. and then its a game of musical chairs for the ANC to find some other contractor to finish the house.

The reason why you dont see any other building material to complete the house is simple.........( you guessed it !) it will dissapear.

Not to say all the contractors are like that. I deal with a couple proffesional guys who are commited to it and are real good businessmen. Hope this help.

Posted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 1:06 pm
by John Boucher
Dont climb all over Absa - it was a great initiative and the plan was a good one. Corporates sponsored the labour and a little dosh, absa sponsored the rest.
I am not.... merely stating a fact! Now I know where by bank charges are being spent! The same to see that the SAA bale out cost each paying taxpayer close to R 2000 per person!

Posted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:04 pm
by Dish
Bad Nav mate - Im not getting at you - were on the same page 8) 8) and i do agree , i think there are a lot of us who have a HELL of as lot of problem with the fact that bank charges even exist, let alone are soo high. Im the first to drop my toys when i see bank charges,,,, flipping ridiculous..

sooooo -

Posted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:44 pm
by Blue Angel
Eish :shock:

Posted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 3:16 pm
by Ian
BOOMARANG wrote:Im a Sales and Marketing Manager for a brick manufacturing company and deal with the RDP Circus every day. Not all the RDP house are built on new ground etc. the ANC alo has a program where they built the houses next to the shack that already exists in the yard. The proud new owner then has to demolish his shack when the house is finished and he moves in.Instead he promptly rents out the shack. ( the catchphrase for the shacks are “HISTORICALLY DISTORTED SPATIAL PATTERNS”)
What you saw is one of those areas. The contractor builds up to roof height and gets paid. then the roof by another contractor and gets paid, then the plumbing by another contractor and gets paid and so forth.Sometimes they wait months for payments from the goverment and then everything just grinds to a halt. Or he gets paid, buys a new BMW x5 or a Volvo etc. and then its a game of musical chairs for the ANC to find some other contractor to finish the house.

The reason why you dont see any other building material to complete the house is simple.........( you guessed it !) it will dissapear.

Not to say all the contractors are like that. I deal with a couple proffesional guys who are commited to it and are real good businessmen. Hope this help.

Thanks Boomarang

What a fiasco 8)

Cheers ian