Page 1 of 2
New Wing Design
Posted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 6:41 pm
by The Agent
Well with the steerman (assistant ground pilot) in his post and the rest of the guys helping to get the speed up the latest swept back wing test was not so successful today.
Ok thats all bull shit what realy happened was that a student pilooooot last it with the help of a crosswind and ended up upside down in the bean patch.
We (thats now Hugo and yourstruly) helped him out of the trike and then turned it up right again and put it in tow back to the hanger.
Nou wat was die man se naam nou weer, bliksem this german desease is not doing me any good.
Cant remember all the names but all assited and mainly the ego of a 1.5 hour solo pilot was severely dented, shame boet but afterthe doctor had checkeed him out and it was nogal a gyny doctor because he fell his P#$%^&*()_s off, so that was relevant to the incident.
Only a small cut on the lower leg (dis nou net so bo die maermerrie) and lots of ground and dust other than that I think he is ok, but will feel it tonight.
Good luck mate and trust to see you in the air soon.

Re: New Wing Design
Posted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 7:30 pm
by kloot piloot
That is one cool wing. Can be used for slow flying and observation.
How much damage to the veggies in the back ground ?

Posted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 7:40 pm
by Stephan van Tonder
Amazingly little damage to the veggies. He'll be fine but going to be very stiff tomorrow for sure. Never underestimate that silly little crosswind.
Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 10:05 am
by Kiewiet
Just want to give a special thanks to Graham and Hugo for assisting me to get out of the Bean Patch,
All is well and I hope to be in the Air soon after myself and Andy has rebuilt ZS-ATT
Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 10:09 am
by Rudix
Kiewiet wrote:Just want to give a special thanks to Graham and Hugo for assisting me to get out of the Bean Patch,
All is well and I hope to be in the Air soon after myself and Andy has rebuilt ZS-ATT
Glad you are ok !
I have a few hours on ATT, sweet old bird, hope she flies again soon
Fly safe,
Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 3:12 pm
by mcfly
Kiewiet
You gave us a hell of a fright!...... I trust that you will put this one behind you and write it down to expierience. Get focussed and move on. I'm sure that every pilot could tell a similar tale.
Wisdom comes from experience, experience comes from mistakes!
Mcfly
Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 10:22 pm
by Nkwazi
Ja Kiewiet - dont let this deter you from taking your next lesson - it happens to the best of us - glad you ok, you gave us a fright
Posted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:06 am
by Gyronaut
Funny thing about experience... its what you get just after you needed it!
Glad you're OK Kiewiet!
Fly Safe
PS, congrats on the 500 posts Nkwazi!
Posted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 12:01 pm
by Big-D
Kiewiet, I met you at Kroon about 2 weeks ago when your Boet was up in the Challenger
Sorry to hea of your misfurtune buddy - These things happen - You will laugh about it in a while
Posted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 3:36 pm
by Dish
Aggggg - ou agent baas, if you only had a buck for every time you have helped a oke put his plane away ???/ - i say this why, .... because almost 15 moths ago ole agent helped me pull the challie out at Rhino.. man that was work.... think agent might still have a pic of that..??
Kiewiet - glad your okay mate, put it behind you and safe flying in the future...

Posted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 3:47 pm
by Kiewiet
Thx for all the word of encouragement guys. I am glad to say that the old lady ZS-ATT will soon be back in the air with me strapped in tightly. Just waiting on Jenya to fix the wing and she is back in business.

Posted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 3:57 pm
by Tailspin
Hey Kiewiet
i think just about all of us have had an oops over time.
Glad you are ok and just get back in the saddle and keep on flying.
Posted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 4:10 pm
by Bayliner
A similar experience happened to me. Repairs cost 60K. Have paid half already and trying to find the other half so that the instructor can help me finish my MPL. Until that time, no flying for me.
Posted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 4:57 pm
by AWACS
Kiewiet,
Ons was baie verlig om te hoor jy is OK! Die ding is maar soos perdry..afgeval, opgeklim en weer gery.
Ons wag vir die dag wanneer jy jou lisensie het.
Sterkte!
Posted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 9:31 pm
by Jetman
Kiewiet, my pa het ons geleer dat as n perd jou afgooi, dan moet jy hom so vinnig moontlik weer klim. Kry so vinnig as moontlik weer wind op daai windlassie se neus met n instrukteur, vergeet van cross winds en gooi kole. Sal jou nog ontmoet. Groete Skin