Crazy Prices

Big Man

Crazy Prices

Postby Big Man » Mon Dec 08, 2008 2:56 pm

I need some advice of where to buy spark plugs at a better price.

I just paid R 63.32 per spark plug = R 506.62 ( 8 )for my 912S Rotax (**) (**) at a well known aviation shop in Edenvale.

My humble opinion is that we are ripped off! :evil: :evil:
Where can we buy spares at decent prices??

Big man
I refuse to grow up.
ZU-CKX; ZU-ERN; ZU-LSC

Re: Crazy Prices

Postby Morph » Mon Dec 08, 2008 3:06 pm

http://www.rotaxparts.net/scripts/prodV ... oduct=1020

they price them at $3.19 each coming to $25.52 with shipping will probably land at R280 plus VAT R320.00. Aircraft parts don't have import duties.
Stephan van Tonder

Postby Stephan van Tonder » Mon Dec 08, 2008 3:08 pm

What exactly is the spark plug make and number - perhaps it can be sourced elsewhere. Yes I always think anything related to aviation is simply ridiculously priced and that somehow the suppliers think that anybody with an airplane must be a millionaire.
Nuts about Cheetahs. Petit is the place.

Postby Morph » Mon Dec 08, 2008 3:13 pm

NGK

DCPR8E for the 100HP and DCPR7E for the 80HP
Stephan van Tonder

Postby Stephan van Tonder » Mon Dec 08, 2008 3:15 pm

Ok here is NGK south africa's contact numbers. perhaps find out where else one can source them from.

Company Contact: Giles
Physical Address: 41 Jansen Road
Bantry Park
Jet Park
Postal Address: PO BOX 8156
Elandsfontein
Email Address: gilesp@ngkntk.co.za
Telephone Number: 0114187900
Fax Number: 0114187920
Web Address: ngkntk.com
Stephan van Tonder

Postby Stephan van Tonder » Mon Dec 08, 2008 3:20 pm

Ok actually spoke to Giles and he recons aviation engines only make around R8 per plug and even buying form them diect you will pay a similar price. Minimum order of 2000 units.
Eish.
Chris Liebenberg

Postby Chris Liebenberg » Mon Dec 08, 2008 3:53 pm

BMW motorcycle spark plugs cost R 127.00 each. Not only aviation is expensive.
Thatchman

Postby Thatchman » Mon Dec 08, 2008 3:55 pm

Thanks Big man for taking all the plugs. I went there at lunch time today and they could only give me 5. your price is right.

I have a crate coming in from USA early next year. Me thinks I might bring in some plugs.

Smiley

Postby Smiley » Tue Dec 09, 2008 2:04 pm

Big Man wrote:I need some advice of where to buy spark plugs at a better price.

I just paid R 63.32 per spark plug = R 506.62 ( 8 )for my 912S Rotax (**) (**) at a well known aviation shop in Edenvale.

My humble opinion is that we are ripped off! :evil: :evil:
Where can we buy spares at decent prices??

Big man
Welcome to the forum!!! (^^) (^^)
Flying tha beast named "Wollie"

Springs 122.40

Postby Low Level » Tue Dec 09, 2008 4:40 pm

I just spoke to my brother - owns Silverton Midas in Pretoria - R 45.00 and R 42.50 respectively for the DCPR8E and DCPR7E. That is his retail price.

He told me what is cost - R 8 mark-up my ass. :?

If it says something aviation above the door, you're gonna pay. :evil:
kloot piloot

Postby kloot piloot » Tue Dec 09, 2008 6:07 pm

Hey Ldel, didn't know that ! He's just up the road from my office, and I go there regularly. Also into bikes etc, isn't he ? Small world !!
Roel Jansen
Never say: "I should have ..."
ZU-IAR powered by BMW 1200
Splinter

Postby Splinter » Wed Dec 10, 2008 8:35 am

Ldel wrote:I just spoke to my brother - owns Silverton Midas in Pretoria - R 45.00 and R 42.50 respectively for the DCPR8E and DCPR7E. That is his retail price.

He told me what is cost - R 8 mark-up my ass. :?

If it says something aviation above the door, you're gonna pay. :evil:
Ldel I think we should take you hostage and demand the ransom from your brother....... Plugs at cost plus vat :lol: :lol: :lol:
ZU-RED
Lower, Lower ...........

Postby Boet » Wed Dec 10, 2008 9:34 pm

I was once told by some snotty basteward at an aircraft parts outlet, after I complained about an outlandish price for a very small item : "Sir, if you want to fly high, you have to pay high." My moermeter pushed instantly into the red, and I pushed R20k`s worth of aircraft parts right back over the counter, and walked out, without saying anything. I was too pissed off to speak. BUT I never went back to the same outlet, and have not spent a single coin there, neither will I ever. The wrong perception seems to be that everyone with an interest in flying MUST have deep pockets. WRONG. I can attest that it is bloody difficult to keep on flying on a baby-shoe budget, all I could afford was a little single seat biplane that I partially built for myself. It took many years of hard work, and smart plans before I could afford a bigger plane again. now the kids are grown up. One is out of the nest, and the other one to follow soon. I see something interesting developing, and we call it "Boer maak n plan", here in SA. We just start using alternative engines. It is a question of adapt or die. FLY?? :wink:

Postby Low Level » Thu Dec 11, 2008 8:12 am

kloot piloot wrote:Also into bikes etc, isn't he ?
We are both keen bikers - off to Kyalami now to watch the World SBK's practising. :lol: :lol:

Some useless info.

He decided to start a parallel line in his store for bikespares and accessories. That is where I saw the ripp off in the leisure market. :evil: Mark-up for car spares average 30%. The suppliers suggested retail price on bike spares had a gross profit of between 100 and 500 %. Filters cost R 24.00 - suggested retail R 115.00. Well known brand leather suits, cost R 1 999.00 - SRP R 5 900.00 and so it goes on.

As he is in this trade for a while now he decided it was outrageous, so he decided on a GP of 50 - 100 %. Within a month the suppliers were Throttled - pun intented (read bike shop) - not to supply him anymore, otherwise their biggest two buyers would not buy from them anymore.

Most of these suppliers are one man shows run from their homes, so they had to stop supplying him in order to survive. He now has to buy "skelm" in orded to get stock - what a joke.

He can write a book on what he has gone through with, and still is. It is now a principal thing for him - one of the reasons he pushed to get the annual toyrun started there.

He actually put an add in the major bike mags - Being Throttled by high prices and promised the World - hinting on the two shops - one of the mags didn't want to print the ad, cause it is competitive, :wink: but he got the reaction he wanted.
Bennie Vorster

Postby Bennie Vorster » Thu Dec 11, 2008 1:20 pm

Ok so talking aboute crazy Prices, Who knows where I can find a good secondhand 15 or 17 pitch prop for a 90 HP Yamaha outbord motor ? :roll:
Growing old is far more dangerous than flying !!!
Bennie Vorster
083 277 5110