Page 1 of 2

We need positives !! ??

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 4:10 pm
by Wargames
Just a thought or 2 here:

With the last couple of posts getting really "nasty" and s062 , I was just thinking as to why??

The main thing that stood out was the part 24 regs that is leaving everyone in total darkness. The second reason, secondary source of part 24, is that we are feeling like a couple of sitting ducks and do not know what is being said and how negotiations are going with the CAA to resolve this matter peacefully. We are frustrated because the sport we love suddenly has the potential to be just a bit out of reach for most of us.

That said, we need a few positives to come and relieve the pressure a bit. I was thinking in the line of a fly out with a couple of guys from the local club, but weather is bit bad here in cape town, but the forecast is looking good for next weekend.

We need to operate as we always have done, before this part 24 thing started to poke us. Maybe thats what "They" wanted, be we just cannot give in to this type of regs and die a slow death. We need to show "them" that this will not change the way we are thinking about flying.

I know that I has left a couple posts that was stirring a bit, but that is just a bit of my own frustrations. We need to get a few posts running that will have a positive effect on all.

Last thought: Ever wondered why they call it triking??

Because it's tri-KING.

The reason for this topic is the following question:

What do you enjoy most about microlighting??

My answer: The freedom it gives me to relax and feel like I'm "on top of the world"!

Enjoy the rest of weekend.

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 6:21 pm
by Boet
Go, fly while you still can. :evil:

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 6:46 pm
by lamercyfly
Hi wargames..

Yup, life has definately not stopped us......

I am leading 6 pilots on an organised aero-trek from Durban, through the Free State Golden Gate area, on to Kimberley then down to Vredendal on the Western Cape Coast, then to Cape Town and returning up the Coast back to Durban. All in all it should take us about 9 nights and 10 days of adventure flying......

This is the beginning of a new venture of mine, where I take paying owner pilots on organised, safe aero-treks through South Africa. I supply all the logistics, and do the call on weather and routes etc.,

I am also planning routes into Africa, up as far as Kilimanjaro....

So, I hope some good news....

Regards.

Microlighting...

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 8:05 pm
by John Boucher
Hey Wargames.... Don't forget, we are not all weight shift guys here.... Some do fly 2/3 axis aeries....

But do remember, whilst we are being bliksem'ed we have to bliksem back, even be it by means of the PEN IS MIGHTER THAN THE SWORD method. I think by venting certain anger, new angles of the prevailing problems arise. What's the saying ... EARLY WARNED IS FOREWARNED!

Hi David... looking forward to your arrival here and to future ventures!
Keep me posted of arrangements....

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 9:35 pm
by Wargames
Hi BAD NAV,

I know that not all on this forum is weight shift, but I know many Bush Baby's etc with rotax engines. So most is under the influence of part 24. But who care, we must all enjoy it. And yes, I am going to fly while I still can. Luckily I have 503, but then the rules are so scrambled, that what is said today, is the reverse of what was said yesterday. Somewhat sounds like the rotax manual.

David,

Keep us posted on your flight. Would like to meet you guys when in cape town.

Safe flying.

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 9:47 pm
by John Boucher
We are all feeling the ROTAX binge and I hope that this will be sorted out to all's content!

Hopefully sanity shall prevail and el Supremo Jordaan will settle this nonsense!

Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 9:36 am
by skybound®
Need this :lol:

We had a great Saturday and Sunday with a fly in to one of our local members strips, just outside PE. We had visiting pilots from East London and Grahamstown that attended and camped over the night with us. Had a great Potjie and the comradrie was fantastic.

Another thing to look forward to is the Baviaans trip coming up in April.

Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 10:44 am
by lamercyfly
Yo Sky..... lekka! I expect some of that same potjie stuff for my gang when we pull in to your pitstop on our way back up the coast :lol:

I'll will PM you soon with regards logistics in your area.

Cheers.

Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 10:46 am
by JACO
Good idea wargames, For us okes up here in the Pta area, this weekends fly in at Aerodin will hopefully put a smile back on our faces. :lol:

I'm going to CAA tomorrow for new ATF's on two 503's, and one 582, I've got all my ducks in a row (hopefully) and are ready for them .... 8)

Wish me luck ....

Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 12:48 pm
by skybound®
lamercyfly wrote:Yo Sky..... lekka! I expect some of that same potjie stuff for my gang when we pull in to your pitstop on our way back up the coast :lol:

I'll will PM you soon with regards logistics in your area.

Cheers.
Look forward to it David. Try co-incide a trip with Baviaans - that is always a stunning bash. April 11,12,13.

Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 2:37 pm
by Wargames
JACO wrote:Good idea wargames, For us okes up here in the Pta area, this weekends fly in at Aerodin will hopefully put a smile back on our faces. :lol:

I'm going to CAA tomorrow for new ATF's on two 503's, and one 582, I've got all my ducks in a row (hopefully) and are ready for them .... 8)

Wish me luck ....
Hi Jaco,

Please let us know about ATF's. With specifics about questions they asked wrt maintenance etc. Could be useful information.

Good luck.

Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:04 pm
by Woody
As the thread started off....what blows my hair back about flying is mostly getting away from politic's :twisted: .clearing my mind and get new perspective and guts to carry on....oh and when the monster inlaw comes to visit :wink:
Im sure all of us are looking foreward to aeroden the week-end,so we can do what we all love....FLY (^^)

Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 10:19 pm
by John Boucher
A friend and I were chatting today and with a serious shock we realised something that makes sense about a lot of things in this country...

To apply for an Engineer's post, you have to have a degree....

To apply for a Teacher's post, you need formal instruction and a qualification....

To be a pilot, you need a valid medical plus all the nitty gritty like ATF's etc.

To be a politician........... YOU NEED ABSOLUTELY F...ALL to fill that position only that you must be able to lie like a fly and be able to manipulate!

Ironic - were being controlled by un-schooled unqualified morons!

It's shocking!!!!

Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 8:16 am
by Wargames
BAD NAV wrote:To be a politician........... YOU NEED ABSOLUTELY F...ALL to fill that position only that you must be able to lie like a fly and be able to manipulate!
Bad nav,

I dont want to go into politics, but think about this one.

In Europe and elsewhere in the world, exept africa, nobody wants to go into politics, because there is no money to be made.

But in africa on the contrary, politics is a highly profitable business. Thats why it such a mess. Everyone join for the money, and not for the cause. Makes you think, ne!!

Yeah Yeah Yeah

Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 8:34 am
by John Boucher
METHINKS Affirm shopping!

It is sad to see that in just about every facet of everyday life in SA "overpolicing" is being effected on law abiding citizens! Where the policing is supposed to be applied, it get shut down, wool over the eyes or gets paid off (out?) to turn a blind eye....

SCORPIONS shutdown because they were catching the boewe
FICA because we are laundering HOT money - what money?
Receiver of Revenue - gee die Kaizer wat hom toekom se voet
ESKOM coal reserves sold off because we don't need unsightly stockpiles
ESKOM bosses get bonusses for the above move.....?
ESKOM decides we are tooo clean and don't get enough sleep!
We are not allowed to shower so much anymore - what will kaZUMA do?
SAA sells their aeries to MANGO - shows a moer of a profit
SAA sells off their spares for these aeries - shows a moer of a profit
SAA CEO get a moer of a bonus for above move....?
SAA shows moer of a loss next year because of previous...

...... and here we are Romeo Oscar Tango Alpha X-Ray & Charlie Alpha Alpha !!!!! I truly hope Colin J can keep this one together!

The wrong okes in this country are being bliksemmed METHINKS

B4 someone nails me.... please see the humour in above! We doing the wrong things chaps.... stop flying microlights and join the above! Much more lucrative ventures for us than fighting over a R 9000 crank! :lol: