Bushbaby thread - show us your BB!

CFD

Bushbaby thread - show us your BB!

Postby CFD » Sun May 13, 2007 9:29 pm

I have started a thread for Bushbaby enthusiasts to share a bit of the history of their toys!

I started building ZU-CFD in 1999 and first flight was 8th December 2002 at Morningstar. She has been all over since then - still going strong.

ZU-CFD with Rotax 582 - now with 315hrs NOT FOR SALE!
582 finds a kennel.jpg
582 finds a kennel.jpg (66.52 KiB) Viewed 2559 times
Engine test.jpg
Engine test.jpg (56.07 KiB) Viewed 2559 times
before 1st flight jitters.jpg
before 1st flight jitters.jpg (55.25 KiB) Viewed 2559 times
CFD

Postby CFD » Sun May 13, 2007 10:08 pm

Some early pics of CFD getting arround.
removing bugs.jpg
removing bugs.jpg (74.9 KiB) Viewed 2554 times
good'ol steam gauges for me.jpg
good'ol steam gauges for me.jpg (84.6 KiB) Viewed 2554 times
too much sky-not enough time.jpg
too much sky-not enough time.jpg (53.89 KiB) Viewed 2554 times
Mogas

ZU-DZI

Postby Mogas » Sun May 13, 2007 11:00 pm

Nice pics and plane CFD
Here are some of mine.
20_07_01_26_003_179 (Small).jpg
FANS take-off
20_07_01_26_003_179 (Small).jpg (35.47 KiB) Viewed 2532 times
IMG_0224 (Small).JPG
Panel
IMG_0224 (Small).JPG (50.73 KiB) Viewed 2532 times
IMG_0234 (Small).JPG
Motor
IMG_0234 (Small).JPG (75.5 KiB) Viewed 2532 times
Nottaquitta
Mogas

ZU-DZI

Postby Mogas » Sun May 13, 2007 11:19 pm

Some more.
crop (Small).JPG
Just after first flight.
crop (Small).JPG (41.93 KiB) Viewed 2526 times
IMG_0222 (Small).JPG
Me and son.
IMG_0222 (Small).JPG (51.38 KiB) Viewed 2526 times
107-0773_IMG (Small).JPG
New kit.
107-0773_IMG (Small).JPG (69.07 KiB) Viewed 2526 times
Nottaquitta
CFD

Postby CFD » Sun May 13, 2007 11:23 pm

Nice pics and aircraft you have there Mogas - did you build DZI yourself?

Must be quite different flying up there - ever taken her down to the coast?
Mogas

Postby Mogas » Sun May 13, 2007 11:36 pm

Thanks, yes self built. Also took about 3 years, logged in excess of 1200 hours build time including trestles etc. but was not in a hurry and did many things twice. Was very rewarding and will do it again.
Only been flying about 100 hours now, longest sector about 1.5 hours here in the Lowveldt. Will probably venture further this winter. I have huge respect for mountains and clouds!
Nottaquitta
CFD

Postby CFD » Sun May 13, 2007 11:53 pm

I am scared of heights so it has taken me ages to get up there amongst the 'klippe'!

Its great to actually be up there - as long as their is no win around. We are totally fenced off with big mothers here in Cape Town so hou have to brave it if you want to go inland!

Here are some pics of CFD amongst some large stones! I still hold my breath sometimes when I think about it!
Mitchells Pass.jpg
Mitchells Pass.jpg (43.74 KiB) Viewed 2523 times
DuToits Peak.JPG
DuToits Peak.JPG (74.18 KiB) Viewed 2523 times
approaching angels 12.JPG
approaching angels 12.JPG (54.52 KiB) Viewed 2523 times
Last edited by CFD on Mon May 14, 2007 5:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Morph » Mon May 14, 2007 12:02 am

Awesome pics CFD, I can't wait to get my baby in the air :mrgreen:
Mogas

Postby Mogas » Mon May 14, 2007 12:07 am

Eish ya, mountains and wind together not lekker. Have been there once and vowed never again. That cured my fear of heights very quick!
Nottaquitta

Postby Low Level » Mon May 14, 2007 1:30 pm

Nice air to air pix CFD. Who photographed you?

I really enjoy air to air pixs. Think it must be amazing to fly in formation, or next to someone.
CFD

Postby CFD » Mon May 14, 2007 4:00 pm

Hi Ldel - the pics were taken by my mate Stephan Moser from his Challenger.

I enjoy air-to-air pics too. Very hard being both photographer & pilot in a bushbaby as it is a little unstable! The polycarb windows also blur the pics so I try and fly with the door open.

Postby Morph » Mon May 14, 2007 4:53 pm

CFD wrote:Very hard being both photographer & pilot in a bushbaby as it is a little unstable!
Boet will kick your butt for saying this. :wink: It is "RESPONSIVE" (assume the correct westcoast accent with rolling r's)
CFD

Postby CFD » Mon May 14, 2007 5:27 pm

That is a whole new topic on its own - is the Bushbaby unstable or 'responsive'? After 400hrs I can tell you its a bit of both - but that is what I like about it. If I wanted stability I would fly a diesel locomotive!

The bushbaby is unstable in the yaw axis - being so short coupled and with those big flaperons that cause eccentric drag every time you twiddle the stick! I think it makes for a more interesting journey! The good thing is that it is then very responsive to corrective input!

A lot of international crits of the Kitfox/Avid genre claim that the plane is poorly designed and this instability is a flaw! Maybe true but still lots of fun to fly. The new Explorer has cured this 'problem' for lazy legged pilots. Not the ideal paraplegics aircraft!
Bennie Vorster

Postby Bennie Vorster » Mon May 14, 2007 6:39 pm

:? I sometimes do go and sit in mine in the hanger for ten minutes or so over a some weekends, but I suppose a man have to start someware. :roll:
Growing old is far more dangerous than flying !!!
Bennie Vorster
083 277 5110
CFD

Postby CFD » Mon May 14, 2007 6:57 pm

Bennie - what is keeping you from flying then!