Challenger 2 Long Wing 582

Postby Big-D » Sun Mar 25, 2007 10:40 am

In keeping with my tradition of sharing my experience of all the airy’s I fly, herewith my experience yesterday in a Challenger 2 Long Wing 582

I arranged a demo flight with well known Challenger man Philip van Niekerk who has 5000 hours, 27 ratings and is a grade A instructor.

My first impression of the airy was that it is very pretty and seemed spacious comapared to other 3 axis airy’s I had looked at. My impression of Phillip was the opposite in that he is not pretty or spacious but the salt of the earth.

Philip is quite a character and a great advocate of the Challenger – He loves these airy’s more than life itself.

Pre-takeoff checks done I jumped into the pilot seat – Getting in and out is quite a mission, as many of you know I am 1.89 and weigh a lot. Once in the challenger it is quite comfortable though and I was amazed at the unobstructed view with the prop at the back. Visibility from the pilot seat is actually almost on par with a trike and you don’t need goggles with the little windscreen, the sides are open which is great for visibility and the fresh breeze.

Philip jumped in the back and we taxied down the runway – First thing I notice is that this bird does not have a Aerotrakt suspension like my Mainair trike and you do feel every bump on the grass runway.

Next thing I knew we were rolling and the take-off roll was remarkable short and we were flying – The rate of climb of the Challenger is remarkable – Philip and my combined weight is about 210kg and the VSI was showing 800 fpm and that was not even at full throttle at 50mph.

Once we had a little altitude Phillip gave me the controls and man, was I impressed - The Challenger Long wing cruises around 70mph with the clipped wing about 15mph faster I am told. We were in the long wing and it really flies like a dream, cruising along at 65-70mph and the bird flies to where you tell her to fly effortlessly.

Next thing Phillip took control again and asked “Ready for some fun?” – He proceeded to do what felt like half a barrel roll, it was by far the steepest turn I had ever been in and felt effortless – I tell you this airy is VERY responsive and wants to have fun and be thrown around the sky, next was a stall and the bird stopped flying at 32 mph. Philip proceeded the demo with a display of the gliding ability of the airy, cut power and I watched the VSI – The challengers glide ratio is unreal and she just floats along – Amazing stuff

Summary: Geat visibility, very responsive, unreal climb and just an excellent bird. If I were buying I would take a good look at the Clipped Wing 582 wide body with the ability to fly up to 100mph

I will never give up trikes but now have 30minutes dual Challenger-time logged in my log book towards a 3 axis MPL and I have Philip booked for 2 hours next Saturday.

Challenger 2.jpg
Challenger 2.jpg (2.16 KiB) Viewed 1958 times

Postby DarkHelmet » Sun Mar 25, 2007 10:55 am

Eish, what a small pic! Mebbe you must fetch yer memory card from me before the next flight!

So I gotta wait on the ground for you for 2 hours next saturday? I would rather not take Elizabeth along then!

Postby Big-D » Sun Mar 25, 2007 11:07 am

2 hours

1 hour Darkhelmet
1 hour Big D

Postby DarkHelmet » Sun Mar 25, 2007 11:12 am

In that case I will make sure Elizabeth is there! Just for your enjoyment while you wait for me!

Postby The Agent » Sun Mar 25, 2007 11:30 am

Small pic's for small okes. :lol:
Bennie Vorster

Postby Bennie Vorster » Sun Mar 25, 2007 11:47 am

My first impression of the airy was that it is very pretty and seemed spacious comapared to other 3 axis airy’s I had looked at.

:shock: :shock: :shock: Image :shock: :shock: :shock:
Growing old is far more dangerous than flying !!!
Bennie Vorster
083 277 5110

Postby Big-D » Sun Mar 25, 2007 11:55 am

LOL :lol: :lol:

Ja ja funny :lol: - DH just brought my camera's memory stick back with a new 4GB stick - Will post bigger pictures next time

Postby DarkHelmet » Sun Mar 25, 2007 12:20 pm

The small pic is what prompted my visit!

Postby Morph » Mon Mar 26, 2007 9:34 am

See, I told you so, 8) 8)

I had 48 minutes in a 503 long wing on sat morning. I took skidmark for a little cabbage patch flying 8)

They are great aircraft, build extremely well, last forever, great flyers.
Coyote

Postby Coyote » Mon Mar 26, 2007 4:20 pm

I flew the 582 clipped wing 3 weeks ago and man what a lekker aerie. Cruises at 80mph without effort, stall is a non event and climbs like a poep out of bath. We also did some STEEP turns and pulled a few G's. I flew from Rhino Park so altitude was against us but we had no problems at all.
Coyote
Life looks better from 2000 ft
skidmark

Postby skidmark » Sun Apr 01, 2007 8:12 am

Hey Morph and you guys..... I rest my case! WVV is my new babe, the wifes slipping to position two......good thing she doesn't read the forum.I'll be in c-ck! :lol: :D :D

Postby Duck Rogers » Sun Apr 01, 2007 9:08 am

Big D wrote:Next thing I knew we were rolling and the take-off roll was remarkable short and we were flying – The rate of climb of the Challenger is remarkable – Philip and my combined weight is about 210kg and the VSI was showing 800 fpm and that was not even at full throttle at 50mph.
Like Morph said: "See, I told you so"
You a believer now?

Postby Big-D » Sun Apr 01, 2007 1:41 pm

DH and I both flew a lesson with Philip this morning on the Challenger 582 ZU-BIM. Great weather. Feels kinda strange being dependent on someone else's skill in the air again but at least 90% of hard stuff we have mastered as both of us can fly an accurate circuit and judge the distance from the ground which is what takes most pilots a long time to learn.

Learnt the basics of keeping the string/ball in the middle during turns with rudder imput and we both had great fun.

Phillip showed DH how manueverable the Challenger is with some fun flying.

I think Philip was shocked at DH's flying skill, not knowing that DH is a flight sim master - Of course the trike background does help alot.

Got some bigger pictures today. Will keep you guys updated with our progress, I don't think it will take too long before we both go solo but we are having fun and taking it one step (Left rudder than right) at a time. I need to learn to stop pushing the right rudder into a sideslip everytime I want to climb or ad power :lol: :D

Blue skies

Challenger Ian Phillip Take-off Baps.JPG
Challenger Ian Phillip Take-off Baps.JPG (44.03 KiB) Viewed 1788 times
Challenger Ian 1.JPG
Challenger Ian 1.JPG (23.41 KiB) Viewed 1788 times
BIM Ian Phillip.JPG
BIM Ian Phillip.JPG (64.1 KiB) Viewed 1788 times
Dre'man

Postby Dre'man » Sun Apr 01, 2007 3:21 pm

Do I sense a couple more trikes going on the market in the near future????????
Flying below power lines on DS650X
And above in nothing
"Too much power is just enough"

Postby DarkHelmet » Sun Apr 01, 2007 3:51 pm

My trike is staying RIGHT where it is! Doing 3-axis convex is a goal!