http://avcom.co.za/phpBB2/viewtopic.php ... highlight=I have been twisting and turning on whether I should post this topic, that has been discussed MANY times before, but then it dawned on me that my life was AT stake , so I decided to anyway.
On satday I was at 6500ft in JHB GF AREA heading to Parys, and broadcasting were relevant at all times.
I had just broadcast my pos and alt, when literally 1/2 minutes later , 2 F&%8n microlites appeared "11 o clock pos" at same alt about. I was infuriated and requested the 2 monkeys to acknowledge, when hesitantly one monkey did. I then said to him that it would be nice for him to broadcast when necessary, he/monkey went quite.
This is not on, and second time that this has occured to me (previously in Spec Rules East.
Microlites should be banned from the skies, as this appears to be a common occurence. I know that I am out of line here with those MPL that adhere to rules, but my life is in danger as these kite fliers dont adhere to rules.
Next time this happens, Im going to follow them , to their destination and f^&k them up.
ITS TIME THAT THE POWERS OF MPL DO SOMETHING ABOUT THESE COWBOYS
Complaint on AVCOM re Microlight Radio Use
- gertcoetzee
Complaint on AVCOM re Microlight Radio Use
The following has been posted on AVCOM. I am sure there are two sides to the story. Luckily subsequent posts have been more reconcilatory. I think in the Western Cape we do position reports often, but should use 123.45 more to exhange recipes etc. instead of 124.8
Last edited by gertcoetzee on Mon Feb 26, 2007 7:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
First of all the language and statements is a no go 
I have many stories to tell about blik pilots how's procedures and RT sucks.
Gert, I can't find the post on avcom, can you supply a link pls.

I have many stories to tell about blik pilots how's procedures and RT sucks.
Gert, I can't find the post on avcom, can you supply a link pls.
Last edited by cobra on Mon Feb 26, 2007 9:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Aerotrike Cobra
I have to sympathise with the Avcommer who posted this.
In my short few months of flying in SA I have had 2 incidents where there could easily have been a mid-air collision had I not seen the silent traffic in time. I regret to say that both were trikes.
I get the impression that some guys are aware of thier lack of RT skills and so just keep quiet.
If we as microlighters allow this sort of thing to continue, the authorities are going to step in.
In my short few months of flying in SA I have had 2 incidents where there could easily have been a mid-air collision had I not seen the silent traffic in time. I regret to say that both were trikes.
I get the impression that some guys are aware of thier lack of RT skills and so just keep quiet.
If we as microlighters allow this sort of thing to continue, the authorities are going to step in.
Nottaquitta
Thanks Demon, advise taken
The biggest problem is with the RT courses presented. My brother-in-law and his son did their restricted radio license on the east rand somewhere. The total course was one NIGHT for 1-2 hours
We presented Restricted RT courses to SAA Ops personnel in one WEEK and this is just the basics. This includes airspaces, procedures, flight planning and practical RT exercises and scenarios, etc, etc.
I urge new pilot to please shop around, ONE NIGHT courses is not worth it, especially in the airspaces we find ourselves in and around JS.

The biggest problem is with the RT courses presented. My brother-in-law and his son did their restricted radio license on the east rand somewhere. The total course was one NIGHT for 1-2 hours

We presented Restricted RT courses to SAA Ops personnel in one WEEK and this is just the basics. This includes airspaces, procedures, flight planning and practical RT exercises and scenarios, etc, etc.
I urge new pilot to please shop around, ONE NIGHT courses is not worth it, especially in the airspaces we find ourselves in and around JS.
Last edited by cobra on Mon Feb 26, 2007 9:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Aerotrike Cobra
- John Young
Below is my post on Avcom ...
One blik pilot who doesn’t broadcast intentions ….
“XXX rolling 35, XXX†No left turn out or staying in the circuit NIX.
When you hear the call, the message actually says “All traffic in the vicinity of Cato Ridge, please scatter, ‘coz this dom dof blik pilot is taking off and doesn’t know what the f@ck he’s doing himselfâ€Â!! Tata ma chance !!
For info, trike pilots should be set up to give clear TX up to 25NM – line of sight. That’s plenty. My trike does considerably better – but then I am a radio ham.
Nearly all trike comms at Cato Ridge are good enough for “voice identification / recognition†alone …
John ZU-CIB
/unquote ...
Cato Ridge is equally good. Except for ….cornell wrote:I still say that guys should come to FALY to see how it is done here with the Microlights and Blik.
One blik pilot who doesn’t broadcast intentions ….
“XXX rolling 35, XXX†No left turn out or staying in the circuit NIX.

When you hear the call, the message actually says “All traffic in the vicinity of Cato Ridge, please scatter, ‘coz this dom dof blik pilot is taking off and doesn’t know what the f@ck he’s doing himselfâ€Â!! Tata ma chance !!

For info, trike pilots should be set up to give clear TX up to 25NM – line of sight. That’s plenty. My trike does considerably better – but then I am a radio ham.

Nearly all trike comms at Cato Ridge are good enough for “voice identification / recognition†alone …
John ZU-CIB
/unquote ...
- Bacchus
- Flying low - mind the power lines
Surely there are trike pilots who does not do there reports. BUT that knife cut both ways.
Just Saturday morning i flew back from Yzerfontein via Hopefield, and just south of Malmesbury all of a suddden here is this blik aerie crossing my line....luckily below me. I called him, but no responce.
After landing at Wintevogel i asked the other guys if they also saw this dude, and yes, they had. This guy was aparrently playing around in the area for quite a while.
Still dont know who he was though.
Anders as die perd op AVCOM wat agterna wil vlieg en die ouens wil opf*k, kan ek nie dieselfde doen nie, my trike is te stadig!
Daai ou moet ook seker maak voor hy sommer agterna wil vlieg en mens wil donner. HY kan dalk dik gemoer word. RAMBO!!!!!
Die feit dat ons aeries goedkoper en kleiner is, maak nie van ons ape ( monkeys) nie.

Just Saturday morning i flew back from Yzerfontein via Hopefield, and just south of Malmesbury all of a suddden here is this blik aerie crossing my line....luckily below me. I called him, but no responce.
After landing at Wintevogel i asked the other guys if they also saw this dude, and yes, they had. This guy was aparrently playing around in the area for quite a while.
Still dont know who he was though.
Anders as die perd op AVCOM wat agterna wil vlieg en die ouens wil opf*k, kan ek nie dieselfde doen nie, my trike is te stadig!
Daai ou moet ook seker maak voor hy sommer agterna wil vlieg en mens wil donner. HY kan dalk dik gemoer word. RAMBO!!!!!
Die feit dat ons aeries goedkoper en kleiner is, maak nie van ons ape ( monkeys) nie.

ZU-GFC COBRA
In fairness he has a point, but I know Bliks are just as guilty. Once in the GF at Microland before my MPL, second or third time solo a Bonanza came screaming past at low level 400 agl heading for Bapsfontein Tower from the west!
Any Blik who did his homework properly should know there is a local frequancy in operation, remeber the old saying, one finger pointing out and four pointing straight back to you!

The Agent wrote:I trust that my posts has enough dignity.

I am based in a rural area and do most of my flying away from the busier centres. I have found that MPL radio work in this area IS poor and many potjiekos recipies are exchanged on 124.8 and it can be annoying and a normal quick "uitkak" over the radio normally does the trick. I can understand that this will piss-off some blik pilots and MPL pilots that do do it the right way.
I found this to be completely different when I fly towards Cape Town, MPL's radio work is really good with frequent accurate position and height reports - well done CT boys

Two weekends ago I flew with 17 bliks to FAWC and FASX, 5 hour flight in total - eish, eish, eish. Bad radios in some of those aeries

Having been to Worcester a couple of times I am a bit weirry of the gliders, fortunately they normally have ground support radio that works and informs approaching aircraft of activities and gives instruction.
Nooitgedacht: 124.8 Alt 1050 ft
S 32°16'49.8 E 18°53'33.0
Re: Complaint on AVCOM re Microlight Radio Use
Microlites should be banned from the skies, as this appears to be a common occurence.
I think this monkey is pushing it too far.....en ek ruk behoorlik my stert in 'n krul! sommer so dat ek Afrikaans begin praat. Ek vloek baie beter in Afrikaans after all .....%#*#@ Boks !!
Agreed, bad RT or even No RT is a big NO NO. Even in my still very very low hours (<100) also crossed paths with a "Monkey" ( this time it was one in a blik, who probably have done a looooooong radio course) The only difs here : he knew i was too slow to follow him home to F%#@ him up.
So, sorry for you Mr macho PPL who ever he is. You do get monkeys in bliks as well. (hope the trike pilots take him out, not in the sky thou,but on the avcom forum)
I aslo did my restricted Radio (one day crash course - 99%). But believe me I will challange any Pilot at RT even ATP's. Will also speak to Houston if only the 503 can get more lift.
And how do a LOW hour pilot like me overcome his RT fear? To find out go check out www.ivao.aero/za
I think this monkey is pushing it too far.....en ek ruk behoorlik my stert in 'n krul! sommer so dat ek Afrikaans begin praat. Ek vloek baie beter in Afrikaans after all .....%#*#@ Boks !!
Agreed, bad RT or even No RT is a big NO NO. Even in my still very very low hours (<100) also crossed paths with a "Monkey" ( this time it was one in a blik, who probably have done a looooooong radio course) The only difs here : he knew i was too slow to follow him home to F%#@ him up.
So, sorry for you Mr macho PPL who ever he is. You do get monkeys in bliks as well. (hope the trike pilots take him out, not in the sky thou,but on the avcom forum)
I aslo did my restricted Radio (one day crash course - 99%). But believe me I will challange any Pilot at RT even ATP's. Will also speak to Houston if only the 503 can get more lift.
And how do a LOW hour pilot like me overcome his RT fear? To find out go check out www.ivao.aero/za
That my point, a descent RT course is NOT justZS-NEL wrote: I aslo did my restricted Radio (one day crash course - 99%). But believe me I will challange any Pilot at RT even ATP's. ...

Aerotrike Cobra
No it apparently includes recipies...cobra wrote:That my point, a descent RT course is NOT justZS-NEL wrote: I aslo did my restricted Radio (one day crash course - 99%). But believe me I will challange any Pilot at RT even ATP's. ...![]()
![]()
on the radio
![]()
When I flew back from AP on sunday the radio was so busy I couldn't get a gap till half way over dam and like I mentioned earlier ground speed was low. I think what can cause additional problems is when pilot doesn't know landmarks in the area.