Around SA coastal tour 2007

Slider

Around SA coastal tour 2007

Postby Slider » Wed Oct 18, 2006 6:48 am

Hi

Het iemand al planne om volgende jaar om SA te vlieg, soos die trippie in 2003/4? Ek dink die ouens het dit in April gedoen vanaf Springs vliegveld.
ZU-ALW
Hanger 5-7
Microland
emil

Postby emil » Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:03 am

as iemand doen count me in ....dalk vir Agent ook sal sy arm draai
Biggles

Postby Biggles » Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:40 am

I believe this has been discussed before. Over a beer so cannot remember details but the idea was to start the tour in Gangstas paradise and head to natal down along the coast to the greatest place on earth (Cape Town for those that haven't been here)(gangstas pass through imigrashin control) and then up the west coast and back across to Josie (through botswana?). The idea is that people jion as the gaggle passes thier home base and then do the complete circle back home.

If done properly will be like a never ending mexican wave tour:)

Weather wise, the best flying is around August september for the cape, with the flowers an all.

What about the other regions?

Count me in!!
Trike pilot

Aerotrike Cobra
ZU-DLP

Winelands FAWN
ForensicFlyer

I'm in...

Postby ForensicFlyer » Wed Oct 18, 2006 9:20 am

Ok - here's how I see it...

I am currently sorting out my medicla (asthma) crap...

When that's done, I am doing my MPL...

After that, I am gonna get my first aerie - a trike...

I am "into" the Aquila's...

So, by August next year, I will be comfy flying, have my MPL and have my trike...

Considering the nature of my work (24/7 stand-by) I will probably do a "leg or two" and head back home...

But, I will try to train some volunteers and employees by then, and just do the whole damn think!

So - what do you say? Who else is in?

Where are all the big-mouth boys from the other night?

Come on guys! Dark Helmet, Demon, D-Man, all the others? Where are you? Get in?

So I say August 2007 is PERFECT... Let's do it...

Anyone have a proposed flight route yet?

How about we go for a "record most private airstrips visited" at the same time?

Watch me!
Stan Bezuidenhout
IBF Investigations South Africa
"I'd rather have it and not need it than need it and not have it!"
Arnulf

Postby Arnulf » Wed Oct 18, 2006 9:36 am

Biggles wrote:
(gangstas pass through imigrashin control)
Eish, where do us gangstas apply for de visa, and what is de bribe?
Arnulf

Postby Arnulf » Wed Oct 18, 2006 9:41 am

So I say August 2007 is PERFECT... Let's do it...
Weather wise possibly not ideal. April, May, is generally the best weather window in Southern Africa for such an undertaking.

Arnulf
Biggles

Postby Biggles » Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:03 pm

Arnulf, not gagstas paradise... cops not so easy to bribe here, they have to pay the bill for that mansion in Campsbay... :lol:

Agree april/may def best time for the cape...
Trike pilot

Aerotrike Cobra
ZU-DLP

Winelands FAWN
Slider

Postby Slider » Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:13 pm

Hi

I worked on something, so say what you think about the route:

Gauteng? Deneysville Parys Kolobe Klerksdorp Bloemhof

Bloemhof Kuruman Upington

Upington Pofadder Springbok

Springbok Hondeklip

Hondeklip Vredendal

Vredendal Morning Star

Morning Star Swellendam

Swellendam Oudshoorn Plett

Plettenberg baai Uitenhage Grahamstown

Grahamstown Port Alfred Kei Mouth

Kei Mouth Mazeppa Bay The Haven Port St John Grosvenor Wild Cost Margate

Margate Cato Ridge Greytown Volksrust Secunda

Volksrust Secunda Gauteng
ZU-ALW
Hanger 5-7
Microland
ForensicFlyer

Direction...

Postby ForensicFlyer » Wed Oct 18, 2006 4:18 pm

Hey - isn't that the WRONG way around?

How about this?

We call Gauteng the "Official Start" of the round trip, clockwise around SA... Dunno why, but clock-wise seems "better" to me somwhow...

Anyway - We split the county in half...

Everyone from East of Mosselbay goes Anti-clockwise, and everyone to the West Clock-wise...

We (CT guys) fly north and around to Gauteng.

The other guys fly the other way...

From there, Gauteng boys split into two directions - East and West...

The WC guys join the GT guys and fly to somewhere in the middle (Uitenhage or M/bay?) and then we all meet AGAIN!

The EC guys fly down the WC south and around to meet with everyone AGAIN as well...

The the WC join the Gauteng boys back, and so on...

This way we ALL fly AROUND SA, but EVERYONE meets TWICE, while no-one has to fly too far alone (as a small group)...

This will make it more interesting, thoughts, ideas, advice, etc can be exchanged and EVERYONE not doing the whole leg can meet in Gauteng, Durban, Cape Town and Plett or something...

Than we have TWO major meetings and FOUR major fly-ins...

How about someone give us ALL the private airstrips in SA on Google Earth? Is there one out there? Or can you ALL post your area's private strips, so I can compile a single one?

Thoughts?
Stan Bezuidenhout
IBF Investigations South Africa
"I'd rather have it and not need it than need it and not have it!"
Biggles

Postby Biggles » Wed Oct 18, 2006 5:12 pm

Eish :shock: , lost already... forensicflyer you will need all your sleuthing skills to try and find me after all that :shock: ! :?

I think the idea is to stay together...
Trike pilot

Aerotrike Cobra
ZU-DLP

Winelands FAWN

Postby Duck Rogers » Wed Oct 18, 2006 8:18 pm

ForensicFlyer wrote:Anyway - We split the county in half...

Everyone from East of Mosselbay goes Anti-clockwise, and everyone to the West Clock-wise...

We (CT guys) fly north and around to Gauteng.

The other guys fly the other way...

From there, Gauteng boys split into two directions - East and West...

The WC guys join the GT guys and fly to somewhere in the middle (Uitenhage or M/bay?) and then we all meet AGAIN!

The EC guys fly down the WC south and around to meet with everyone AGAIN as well...

The the WC join the Gauteng boys back, and so on...
Ag kak man....I'm lost already :shock:

What if I just sit in one place and wave as everybody comes by twice :?:

PS Aerosan.....shaddup!!
GR8-DAD

Postby GR8-DAD » Wed Oct 18, 2006 8:35 pm

A very confused Eend - imagine that :shock: :roll:

FL, daar is baie makliker maniere om ons dronk te kry hoor! Ons hoef nie in sirkels te vlieg nie :wink: :twisted:
Nooitgedacht: 124.8 Alt 1050 ft
S 32°16'49.8 E 18°53'33.0
Miskiet

Postby Miskiet » Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:09 pm

Got a e-survey from Misasa. One of the questions was whether I'd be interested in doing any of the following fly-away' (silly question - of course I am!):

1. Moz
2. Botswana
3. Namibia
4. Kalahar BB

And the abovementioned round the country coastal trip.... Sounds great to me. Those guys that are time limited can just show up on a location at a given date, throw their kit on support vehicle and join for as long as they want.

Iets soos daai Londense hop-on-hop-off dubbeldoor busse. Teen die tempo wat my vliegtuig moeilikheid gee gaan ek erens moet slaaplek bedel en 'n week laat by die huis aankom....
Riaan
Looking at the sky

Postby Riaan » Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:50 pm

Ek sit hier op Lambertsbaai teen die weskus, lyk my julle weet nie waarnatoe om te vlieg nie, wie ook al die roete doen ek stel 'n mosie van erge wantroue in Forensiflyer, hy wil nie eens my dorp raak vlieg, so wat weet hy nou van die wereld, boet dit is leeu wereld die, hier stap die kreef uit om te kyk wat buite die water aangaan..sit dan my dorp se naam ook daarop, dan vlieg ek saam

Postby Morph » Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:53 pm

Gr8-dad and I have been talking about this for about six months now. My plan is to fly clockwise (fighting a strong south easter coming down the westcoast would be a pain). Fly no more than 4 hours a day and try to keep the arragements as loose as possible, i.e. no bookings ahead of time that can cost you if you do not make the date. This will give us flexibility to deviate course due to weather etc. It would be lekker to have 1 ground crew vehicle per 4 planes to help with fuel, cooler boxes, booze, food etc, but an expedition without support is also an option, just more difficult. You also have the ability to explore locally once on the ground if you have a vehicle.

I worked on about 2450 miles, so it would be about 200 to 250 miles a day. This gives us 10 flying days. But you never know about the weather so if you allow for 20 days so you can take a break in between it would be awesome.

Cost wise fuel would be R3500, oil R250, food and drinks per day R100 (R2000) accomodation (R0 if camping and R150 per night B&B) R3000 worst case. So it would cost R8750 per person. If you budget on R10K that would be perfect and this would include the cost of the vehicle that is split between the 4 planes. R500 each (Fuel R2000 based on 4000km 15l/100km) the ground crew would have to pay their own way wrt food and accomodation