Microlighters clueless on the radio

D2O

Re: Microlighters clueless on the radio

Postby D2O » Mon Jun 30, 2014 12:56 pm

Station Kariba wrote:Hi Fellow Aviators

For what it is worth, we have new regulations up here on Radio License for all LSA or Microlight Pilots. You now have to obtain a PPL radio license, where the exam is conducted by CAAZ. If the Pilot does not hold this Radio License you cannot fly in controlled air space. There is an internal Radio course run at our club, if you have passed this exam you can fly in Class G airspace (Uncontrolled airspace) only. If you do not hold either you are restricted to the circuit ONLY. The relevant radio license is then endorsed in your License. This was done in the interest of SAFETY, most importantly.
I presume you're not referring to S.A.
I don't see a problem with doing the same radio exam as the PPL, as we all studied radio procedures based on the Radio Procedures Handbook by Dietlend Lempp, which is the same book everyone uses to study their radio licenses anyway.
Plane-less

Postby John Boucher » Mon Jun 30, 2014 1:41 pm

In SA, all do a Restricted Radio Licence - one standard with LPR

Postby Bundy » Mon Jun 30, 2014 4:40 pm

John Boucher wrote:In SA, all do a Restricted Radio Licence - one standard with LPR
Indeed JB. :)

But... I think it all comes down to practical experience at the end of the day.... Those flying in and out of Controlled airspaces often and chatting regularly with ATC's etc, etc will logically be far more radio proficient than others who do not. :wink:
I am one of those (who do not) so staying proficient is a challenge that needs regular practice. I have the RT CD in my bakkie and often listen to it to keep the std's as high as I can, but I also mess up a TX every now and then :oops: ....everyone does. ^
kloot piloot wrote: Practice makes perfect.
For sure Roel. (^^)

Postby John Boucher » Mon Jun 30, 2014 5:08 pm

Hi Al

As you know, that is why I push for ATC participation for events such as the old Tedderfield event and now the Kitty Hawk event. I had a rather in depth chat with Mark Swarts from CAA (who used to be an ATC). My reference was pertinent to an enforcement case (in process) where should enforcement take place due to a simple error, one would then total discourage NPL chaps from ever entering controlled environments - I have as serious problem with the financially driven thought process CAA has embraced.

I see there is another thread somewhere iro transponders on AVCOM on which I have not commented yet. This too adds to the dilemma of not flying in controlled airspace or under an ATC's control. Really a tit for tat situation...

Postby Bundy » Mon Jun 30, 2014 5:19 pm

He's a good presenter Mark is....can talk the hind leg off a donkey! :lol: Met him at DL's SCRM course this year...

Any extra exposure to ATC type enviroments we can get as NPL'ers can only be beneficial to us in the long term... and for events like FATA and FAKT it is essential, both from an educational and safety perspective.

Keep up the good work JB, and thank you for the effort. (^^)
D2O

Postby D2O » Mon Jun 30, 2014 6:19 pm

Listening in on air traffic in my area on my hand-held works wonders, especially Lanseria and Grand Central ATC, but I don't always catch them, as they're slightly out of my reception area.

I noticed Darrel Lush (DL) is also arranging ATC visits at ORT. Maybe we can request he do this again soon and extend the invite to microlighters?
Plane-less
Gaylord Focker

Postby Gaylord Focker » Tue Jul 01, 2014 8:07 pm

Personally i think all of you Chops are a bunch of COCKs and should stay off the radio and more time in the Pub buying me more dop that way i get more of a personality and you get the benefit of not having to listen to pricks on Avcom xxx xxx xxx
Wild Chicks,Cold beer,KY Jelly and Gt450 Nothing else required!!!!!!!!!
THE FORCE IS STRONG ON THE DARK SIDE

Postby John Boucher » Tue Jul 01, 2014 9:30 pm

Now there's a breath of fresh-air ##
Turbo

Postby Turbo » Tue Jul 01, 2014 9:58 pm

i must say i don't know that many ML pilots, but the ones i do know are relative good on the radio - BUT i have heard some atrocious radio communication.

Leading up to my license renewal which Oom Paul did for me over the weekend - i am willing to put money on it that more people will fail a radio test out of the blue POUNCED ON YOU when you least expect it.

Postby Tumbleweed » Wed Jul 02, 2014 2:46 pm

Gaylord should tell us how he responded to me on Durban Special Rules frefuency after I got my radio sorted at Ballito. :lol:
Turbo

Postby Turbo » Fri Jul 04, 2014 1:07 pm

Tell us -- were there swear words in his response? :lol: :lol:

Postby John Boucher » Fri Jul 04, 2014 1:12 pm

Eish... knowing Gaylord ... the urban dictionary of uncouth language ;-)

Postby Tumbleweed » Fri Jul 04, 2014 3:53 pm

The distant response went something like,

" Last caller.............."

Dead quite mass exit followed. :lol:
JOHAN FSX
Heard about flying

Postby JOHAN FSX » Tue Jul 08, 2014 6:10 pm

This is a very unfair attack on microlight pilots.
I am a PPL pilot flying from Rand Airport , who still regularly fly my microlight from Microland as well.
When I started my PPL licence my instructor complimented my radio work in the special rules area and at unmanned airfields , where
we were using the same radio procedures as at Microland in my microlight.
Learning to talk to the lady in the tower at Rand Airport took some getting used to.
My personal experience communicating blindly or to other aircraft on 124.8 or special rules whether I am flying my
Piper Archer or flying my Aquilla Trike has been the same.
IT IS ALL ABOUT SAFETY.
You will always get pilots whom are fast and fluent on the radio ,and those not flying regularly whom stutter, struggle and make mistakes
on the radio in both types of aircraft.
ZU-FSX Aquilla
ZS-LON Piper Archer
Turbo

Postby Turbo » Tue Jul 08, 2014 9:03 pm

JOHAN FSX wrote: IT IS ALL ABOUT SAFETY.
AMEN!!!!! Safety amongst eachother EQUALS COMRADERIE --- TRUE camaraderie!

hhhmmmm me wonders why some people just get it and others are too darn stubborn or stupid to. (I won't elaborate here!!) sour grapes someone!? ## ##