Leaking gearbox oil plug

pietmeyer

Leaking gearbox oil plug

Postby pietmeyer » Mon Mar 17, 2014 5:46 am

Hi Guys

I have posted under accessories wanted but not sure how many check that out and need some advice.

My 582 e-box drain plug is stripped and now leaking oil. It is the plug at the bottom on the cover side :? :roll: Just from this statement I probably make it rather clear that I am not mechanically inclined and not sure of the terminology :roll:

I guess I can have the cover remove and find a place that can re-thread or if anybody has a spare cover from a scrapped box lying around please let me know. If you know of somebody who can re-thread it or who has done it, also let me know

Thanks'
Piet Meyer
Tel: 082 774 7541
Email: meyerph@telkomsa.net
Piet Meyer
Jabi J400 ZU-DUU (Wonderboom)
Tracer

Re: Leaking gearbox oil plug

Postby Tracer » Mon Mar 17, 2014 6:00 am

So, is the actual plug stripped, meaning you can't remove it to replace with a new one, or is the casing thread stripped?
pietmeyer

Postby pietmeyer » Mon Mar 17, 2014 8:52 am

Casing thread is stripped. Plug can easily screw in and out but not tighten :oops:
Piet Meyer
vernon11

Postby vernon11 » Mon Mar 17, 2014 11:43 am

Piet, I know you can get helli coils. But for that application, I would be a bit hesitant. I would try and get another cover.
Vernon.
Turbo

Postby Turbo » Mon Mar 17, 2014 8:22 pm

What thread is that plug?

Does anyone know if it is imperial or metric?
pietmeyer

Postby pietmeyer » Tue Mar 18, 2014 5:25 am

vernon11 wrote:Piet, I know you can get helli coils. But for that application, I would be a bit hesitant. I would try and get another cover.
Vernon.
Why would you say that Vernon? What if I use plumbing tape and maybe add another washer? The problem is that the plug goes in but just does not tighten. Just as it seems like it will tighten, it is loose again. Seems like it is that last little bit that is the problem :cry:

Those covers are expensive and seems to be a moer of a job to just replace also. Would like to go for a cheaper option but still safe option :cry:
Piet Meyer

Postby Bundy » Wed Mar 19, 2014 3:39 pm

I'm not an AP...but the same thing happened to my sump plug on my old bantum bakkie... I bought a different plug (slightly bigger) and re tapped the hole to the bigger thread. Took me about 15 min and cost less than a spark plug. :wink:

Is this not maybe an option?
vernon11

Postby vernon11 » Wed Mar 19, 2014 3:45 pm

I must confess Piet. The Heli coils are good. The solid ones that cut their own thread, not the ones that the hole has t be first tapped. I have seen them and used them in many applications. Taking into account the difficulty and expense of getting a new cover, I would use one. I know I am contradicting myself here. Thread tape is not necessary, nor are two washers. Your best bet would be to go to an automotive engineering firm. to get one. they use all sorts of sizes. They might even fit it for you. Let me know how it goes.
Vernon
vernon11

Postby vernon11 » Wed Mar 19, 2014 3:52 pm

It is metric.
Tracer

Postby Tracer » Thu Mar 20, 2014 6:13 am

Piet, sal met jou praat, ek het 'n idee of twee!
Turbo

Postby Turbo » Thu Mar 20, 2014 1:38 pm

Bundy wrote:I'm not an AP...but the same thing happened to my sump plug on my old bantum bakkie... I bought a different plug (slightly bigger) and re tapped the hole to the bigger thread. Took me about 15 min and cost less than a spark plug. :wink:

Is this not maybe an option?
exactly why i asked what thread it was --
vernon11

Postby vernon11 » Thu Mar 20, 2014 2:41 pm

Hey Alan.
Did you get an AP to sign it out? vhpy vhpy
It is a good idea, and maybe the best option.
Vern.

Postby Bundy » Thu Mar 20, 2014 2:52 pm

Nope...my AP doesn't have a rating for a Ford Bantum....don't think the CAA would give a damn... :lol:

I also don't trust helicoils (just from my lawnmower shop days)...I think this would be the best and at least you don't have to strip the whole thing to fit a 2nd hand cover?
PeterGrant

Postby PeterGrant » Thu Mar 20, 2014 4:05 pm

Hello Piet,
I have the same problem with my e-box.
At the moment the thread is sealed with Locktight.
There are only about 4 threads available on the case so a Helicoil most likely will not hold.
The best solution is to take off to the gearbox case and get a good engineering works to machine a brass insert for you.
I guess the best design will have a shoulder on the inside so it can never pull out.

Someone suggested to me to get the thread aluminium welded and tapped to fit the original plug.
I don't know enough about Al welding on alloys to comment on that.
good luck!

Postby Duck Rogers » Thu Mar 20, 2014 7:26 pm

Jislaaik okes!
13 replies to a simple problem and everyone's going in circles.
Pieta......as jy my klein laaitie vir 'n spin in daai Jabbi vat dan kom maak ek daai ding vir jou gou reg........vir mahala, free, gratis and for nothing!
Bel my of PM my