Page 1 of 1

New Engine.

Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 6:27 pm
by Blue Max
I bought a BRAND NEW Toyota 4Y engine for my plaas bakkie today.
I can even proof it with pictures.!
Complete with carburater, alternator and ready to install.
Only needs oil once it is installed and should be fit for another 250,000 km.
PRICE R12,300.
Dit laat n ou dink as jy jou gat moet af betaal vir n klein Rotex 582 two-stroke engintjie. (**)

Can some-one please explain the economics to me in this regard. ?
thanks ?

Re: New Engine.

Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 8:06 pm
by Baitbird
The slim oke's are going to say 100 000 toyota engines produced vs 1000 rotax engines .

Less engines to recover in-efficiency in production on.

Personally I just think aviation is considered a captured market - en nou word ons deur die ore gen....i!

Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 9:01 pm
by justin.schoeman
That may be a 4Y, but I sincerely doubt it is a Toyota. I certainly wouldn't consider flying behind a Chinese knock-off engine. But high quality automotive engines are definitely cheaper than aircraft alternatives. But not that much cheaper. A new BMW R1200 engine is around R100k!

Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:32 am
by Bundy
Blue Max wrote: Can some-one please explain the economics to me in this regard. ?
Confuscious say..."man have airplane dream....must have money?" :wink:

Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 10:20 am
by slysi
R12,300? Surely not. If one looks carefully you can pick up a bargain on second hand engines. Being the conservative type I would stick to the tried and trusted power plants.

Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 4:11 pm
by Robbie Shaw
Bundy wrote:
Blue Max wrote: Can some-one please explain the economics to me in this regard. ?
Confuscious say..."man have airplane dream....must have money?" :wink:

Confuscious also say .... man with willy in peanut butter jar is F%^&**&* nuts :lol: :lol: ## ## (^^)

Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:06 pm
by slysi
Confucius said....man who walk into airport door with woody is bound to Bangkok :)

Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 8:41 pm
by Blue Max
:(
slysi wrote:R12,300? Surely not.
Do you mean to say R12,300 is not a bargain even if it is Chinese or Korea.?
:roll:
Julle maak my deurmekaar.

Posted: Sun Mar 16, 2014 5:56 am
by Boet
Bluemax, moenie worrie nie, sit net die oorspronklike Toyota manifolds en carbs op die bogus 4Y, en hy loop net so lank. Die carbs was saam met daai enjins kom, crap. Ek het een in my Venture gesit en jare met hom gery. vhpy

Posted: Mon Mar 17, 2014 8:32 pm
by Turbo
Nissan is KING with reliability -- 1400 engine rules!!

THEN came Toyota 4Y !!!

=D* =D* ^*^^ ^*^^ ^*^^

Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2014 9:49 pm
by Bosvark
Blue Max wrote:vhpy
I bought a BRAND NEW Toyota 4Y engine for my plaas bakkie today.
I can even proof it with pictures.!
Complete with carburater, alternator and ready to install.
Only needs oil once it is installed and should be fit for another 250,000 km.
PRICE R12,300.
Dit laat n ou dink as jy jou gat moet af betaal vir n klein Rotex 582 two-stroke engintjie. (**)

Can some-one please explain the economics to me in this regard. ?
thanks ?

You got ripped off. I saw one at a parts dealer in Pta yesterday for R11 500 ##