Even though this crazy hoverbike hasn’t yet left the inventor’s neighborhood, the high-flying invention has some amazing potential. Designed by Australian Chris Malloy the bike is capable of traveling at speeds of up to 173mph at 10,000 feet. It could potentially travel even higher, but then users would have to carry oxygen. Classified as an ultralight, users won’t be required to have a pilot’s license to ride it, but might we need traffic lanes at 10,000 feet if it does take off?
The 1170 cc hoverbike engine is air-cooled and runs on regular unleaded fuel (if only it ran on algae… that would be cool!) One tank will net zippy riders about 92 miles. They’ll cost a pretty penny too – up to $40,000 depending on demand – though if Malloy can pull in more than 1,000 orders annually, prices will drop.
In an urban context, the hoverbike would be an absolute nightmare. But potential positive applications include aerial cattle mustering, search and rescue, aerial survey, wildlife and parks, film, military and emergency services, as well as powerline inspection. Quieter and smaller than helicopters, and therefore more fuel efficient, the hoverbike could offer a more sustainable alternative to airborne searches.
Read more: Crazy Hoverbike is Capable of Flying to 10,000ft
Crazy Hoverbike is Capable of Flying to 10,000ft
- John.com
- Location: Broederstroom (Magaliesberg) - home airstrip Aeroden
Crazy Hoverbike is Capable of Flying to 10,000ft
John Comley
ZU-BST (the Beautiful Seductive Temptress)
Magaliesberg, South Africa
Read my flying blog here . . . http://johncomley.blogspot.com/
"Truly superior pilots are those who use their superior judgment to avoid those situations where they might have to use their superior skills"
- Robbie Shaw
- The sky is all mine
Re: Crazy Hoverbike is Capable of Flying to 10,000ft
John.com wrote:Even though this crazy hoverbike hasn’t yet left the inventor’s neighborhood, the high-flying invention has some amazing potential. Designed by Australian Chris Malloy the bike is capable of traveling at speeds of up to 173mph at 10,000 feet. It could potentially travel even higher, but then users would have to carry oxygen. Classified as an ultralight, users won’t be required to have a pilot’s license to ride it, but might we need traffic lanes at 10,000 feet if it does take off?
The 1170 cc hoverbike engine is air-cooled and runs on regular unleaded fuel (if only it ran on algae… that would be cool!) One tank will net zippy riders about 92 miles. They’ll cost a pretty penny too – up to $40,000 depending on demand – though if Malloy can pull in more than 1,000 orders annually, prices will drop.
In an urban context, the hoverbike would be an absolute nightmare. But potential positive applications include aerial cattle mustering, search and rescue, aerial survey, wildlife and parks, film, military and emergency services, as well as powerline inspection. Quieter and smaller than helicopters, and therefore more fuel efficient, the hoverbike could offer a more sustainable alternative to airborne searches.
Read more: Crazy Hoverbike is Capable of Flying to 10,000ft
Hi John.com....
This is not crazy .... It seems and looks very unstable at 10k feet if you ask me..... Upside down could happen in flash....![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
Robbie Shaw. (Rhodie)
Zero seven 2 5 six zero 2 six two seven
ZU-BJU. (Love Machine)
Airmanship No 1
Zero seven 2 5 six zero 2 six two seven
ZU-BJU. (Love Machine)
Airmanship No 1
Eish...right there I already got seriously doubtful?John.com wrote:Even though this crazy hoverbike ...... Designed by an Australian

No offense Sheila.

Amazing what imagination and ingenuity can achieve? I'm sure Rafiek will give it a "spin"?

And when you're finished flying you can have a braai
- John.com
- Location: Broederstroom (Magaliesberg) - home airstrip Aeroden
I know, can you imagine an engine out at ANY altitude? No glide, no autorotate . . . . just two circular 'braai grids' dropping vertically out the sky with a human form in between (probably person head first due to C of G)!!Bundy wrote:Eish...right there I already got seriously doubtful?John.com wrote:Even though this crazy hoverbike ...... Designed by an Australian![]()
No offense Sheila.
Amazing what imagination and ingenuity can achieve? I'm sure Rafiek will give it a "spin"?

Without a chute you wouldn't find me within 1000m of this device!
John Comley
- Turbo
- Top Gun
they should make a ghost rider movie with this bike also..... 

imagine you ride/hover/fly this thing on the road, and grade 1 graduate (poooeliisie cop) pulls you over --simple, flip him the bird and fly away .... vang my nou jou bliksem....

- John Boucher
Smell the roses please....Classified as an ultralight, users won’t be required to have a pilot’s license to ride it, but might we need traffic lanes at 10,000 feet if it does take off?

A Bushcat is Born - CH 211 C "Super Excited"