Coastal Flying in December

CVStrong

Coastal Flying in December

Postby CVStrong » Mon Oct 14, 2013 1:37 pm

Hi Guys,

I would like to tap the minds of those who have the experience of doing a bunch of coastal flying and flying to the coast, as I will be on the coast with my trike in December, and want to make sure I do not fall foul to the pitfalls of coastal flying, that I may not be aware of...

I will be doing a combination of Flying and trailering (depending on WX conditions) I have my wife and 2 friends going, so the intention is to have 2 people in the car and 2 in the trike... the car stopping where needed for support etc... the route planned is as follows:

Eagle Creek to Volksrust
Volksrust to Eva's Field (Hilton)
Eva's Field to Munster
Munster to Morgan's Bay / Kei Mouth (Browns Landing) (I have heard that the area around Port St Johns can be quite interesting in terms of wind...)
Morgan's bay to Somerset East (private strip)

Then depending on the conditions, I was hoping to be able to do down to Demon's fly in at St Francis on the 28th (here we would have no vehicle support), then back to Somerset East, and then routing home... not sure of the routing on that part yet... but thinking SE to Gariep then Gariep to Bloem/Tempe then Tempe - Home...

Each of the legs is either just overnight or for a few days... The trailer is there to take away flying pressure, in terms of booked accommodation in Morgans Bay... The remainder of accommodation is with friends and family, so things are flexible...

Would love to hear your comments

Craig
in the sticks

Re: Coastal Flying in December

Postby in the sticks » Mon Oct 14, 2013 2:26 pm

Hi There ,I have a microlight strip qiute close to Port st Johns actually it is directly inland from Mngazana river mouth.You welcome to stay over if you so wish got lots of space.Just bring your own dop and chop the rest is on the house.Its always good to have fellow microlighters popping in
CVStrong

Postby CVStrong » Mon Oct 14, 2013 3:02 pm

Howzit ITS...

Will definitely pop in... even if not for an overnight trip... what are the co-ords of your runway? Please PM your contact details, so I can call when I am down there...

Craig

Postby nicow » Mon Oct 14, 2013 3:50 pm

in the sticks wrote:Hi There ,I have a microlight strip qiute close to Port st Johns actually it is directly inland from Mngazana river mouth.You welcome to stay over if you so wish got lots of space.Just bring your own dop and chop the rest is on the house.Its always good to have fellow microlighters popping in
(^^) (^^) (^^)
Now you'll be very busy over the holidays (^^)
nico@limpopoflightschool.co.za
vernon11

Postby vernon11 » Mon Oct 14, 2013 6:09 pm

CVStrong wrote:Howzit ITS...

Will definitely pop in... even if not for an overnight trip... what are the co-ords of your runway? Please PM your contact details, so I can call when I am down there...

Craig
Hi Craig.
Kevin is a good bloke, and will spoil you. As soon as my Challi is legal, I will be going down.
cheers,
Vernon. (^^)
CVStrong

Postby CVStrong » Mon Oct 14, 2013 6:35 pm

Well Vernon, we still gotta braai as promised when I get to you...

I am soo looking forward to being there... What have you got left to do with the Challi?

Craig
in the sticks

Postby in the sticks » Tue Oct 15, 2013 7:01 am

Co ords S31,41,148 E 29,14,589 My cell no 0783052434
CVStrong

Postby CVStrong » Tue Oct 15, 2013 9:22 am

Hey Kevin, will be in touch once my final planning is in place... very keen to visit...
CVStrong

Postby CVStrong » Sat Nov 09, 2013 2:13 pm

6 weeks to go, and things are falling in to place...

Looks like I will be spending some time with the great guys at East London too, just need to confirm whether they will be in town when I want to be there...

Can't believe how quickly this year has gone...

Any last minute sage advice for a low hours trike pilot embarking on an adventure?

Craig
vernon11

Postby vernon11 » Sun Nov 10, 2013 12:41 pm

Some Serious advice Craig. ENJOY YOURSELF.
see you soon.
Vernon.
CVStrong

Postby CVStrong » Sun Nov 10, 2013 3:06 pm

That my friend is a given...

We going to braai together around the 17th.

Chat soon

Craig

Postby nicow » Mon Nov 11, 2013 6:57 am

vernon11 wrote:Some Serious advice Craig. ENJOY YOURSELF.
see you soon.
Vernon.
(^^) (^^)
nico@limpopoflightschool.co.za
in the sticks

Postby in the sticks » Mon Nov 11, 2013 7:52 am

The trip from Port Edward to my place is about 2 hours if you dont have any strong head winds.just buzz the house and I will get someone to chase the cattle off the runway.From my place to East London is also about 2 hours.
vernon11

Postby vernon11 » Tue Nov 12, 2013 8:54 pm

Craig, I will be visiting Kevin on Friday or Saturday, on my way back from East London. The sad thing, is I will be driving.
I will let you know about the SLURP!!! oysters. :wink: :wink:
Vernon.
CVStrong

Postby CVStrong » Tue Nov 12, 2013 10:41 pm

I take it you are doing atf work for Bryan and the rest of the guys at wings.

Travel safely, pitty it isn't 2 weeks later, would have seen you there.
Chat soon

Craig