Illegal squatters and our airfields

kloot piloot

Illegal squatters and our airfields

Postby kloot piloot » Sun Mar 24, 2013 6:56 pm

We hear of isolated incidents where squatters target airfields as ideal illegal settlement areas.

It would be interesting to know if airfields draw squatters.

Rustenburg is encroached by a squatter camp with only a concrete wall keeping the squatters out, Vanderbyl has already gone to the squatters, Leeudoringstad airfield is now a low- income housing area, but how widespread is this and is it a threat to our general aviation airfields ?
Roel Jansen
Never say: "I should have ..."
ZU-IAR powered by BMW 1200
Goose

Re: Illegal squatters and our airfields

Postby Goose » Sun Mar 24, 2013 7:36 pm

Moet nie van bronkhorstspruit vliegveld vergeet nie het ook n hoof-straat geword :(

Postby Bundy » Mon Mar 25, 2013 5:46 am

We have had squatters set up camp on our plot twice....and twice we have removed the undesirables within 24hrs. (this is the time according to the Law as I understand it?). The Law also states that your land has to have a fence around it...even if its just 3 strands of barb wire. :roll:

The problem I see happening is when it's State Land (IE Municipal Aerodrome). Here you will have no response by the Land owner to remove the problem....after a week, there is virtually no way to remove them (legally) and good luck with the court case.
I can tell you that the problem is going to get a whole lot worse before anything else. Our Borders are virtually completely unprotected and streams of foreigners enter each and every day mostly headed for the urban areas, Goateng especially. With such an apathetic and completely useless government in charge....dont expect anything to change anytime soon.

What worries me more (as we do not have a squatter problem) is when our aeries start getting hacked to pieces for scrap. It is allready happening at many airfields and that my friends will start spelling the end for many of us. :(
I can see 24/7 armed guards employed at all major airfields in the very near future... :evil:

Slightly off topic but relevant....

If your field has permanent staff staying on the property....treat them well. Remember that their presence is virtually your only line of defence in the dead of night. The staff at FABA get spoilt rotten by me and many others and having a good and respectfull relationship is hugely beneficial to your security and aircraft's well being. Well worth the effort from your side, and the staff appreciate your imput tremedously. When I arrive overhead to check the windsock...I can allready see ol Johanness running to open my hanger door (!!)...what a superstar. (^^)

Postby nicow » Mon Mar 25, 2013 8:07 am

Don't forget Nylstroom (FANY)-you must join overhead to look for dogs, goats,donkeys and their owners (**)
nico@limpopoflightschool.co.za

Postby mulderpm » Mon Mar 25, 2013 10:42 am

Springs (FASI) has the same squatter/thieves problem. The municipality has cut down many of the bordering trees to remove hideaway places. Flying in circuit to the west of the 03/21 runway, you can see the hollows they have dug out for a dwelling. It is not so much the squatters that cause damage, it is the vegrants/thieves that follow them so that they can move around freely. Thieves have cut holes in the side of steel hangars to steel tools and fuel. On one occasion, they came in with a bakkie and simply tied a chain between the window of the flight schools club house and the bakkie, drove off, and yanked it out. They stole the TV's, computers, fuel ,tools and emptied the fridge. Luckily so far no aircrafts have been damaged...but it will come..like at Klip. (**)

Echo...look after your resident staff...echo. (^^)
kloot piloot

Postby kloot piloot » Mon Mar 25, 2013 9:57 pm

Thanks for the responses,

So, lost to squatters so far :

Barberton (municipal property)
Bronkhorstspruit (?)
Leeudoringstad (municipal)
Vanderbijl Park (?)

Threatened / affected:

Kliprivier (private or municipal ?)
Nylstroom (property belonging to ?)
Rustenburg (municipal ?)
Springs (municipal)

How are the other provinces doing ?
Roel Jansen

Postby nicow » Tue Mar 26, 2013 7:54 am

Nylstroom,municipality .
Potgietersrus-no squatters-municipality rent hanger space out to us.

Postby Tumbleweed » Tue Mar 26, 2013 1:16 pm

Bethal Airfield and Standerton airfield both annexed by squatters. Also read about Escort?? on avcom. Hangers and gliders plindered to nothing.
kloot piloot

Postby kloot piloot » Tue Mar 26, 2013 10:04 pm

Airfields lost to GA:

Barberton (municipal, annexed by squatters)
Bethal (municipal, annexed by squatters)
Bronkhorstspruit (?)
Leeudoringstad (municipal, low income housing)
Standerton (municipal ?, annexed by squatters)
Vanderbijl Park (?)

Threatened / affected:

Kliprivier (private or municipal ?)
Nylstroom (municipal)
Rustenburg (municipal ?)
Springs (municipal)

Unaffected:

Bapsfontein (private)
Kitty Hawk (private)
Petit (private)
Potgietersrust (municipal, no threat)
Vrede (municipal)

How are the other provinces doing ?
Roel Jansen
avgas

Postby avgas » Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:39 am

nicow wrote:Don't forget Nylstroom (FANY)-you must join overhead to look for dogs, goats,donkeys and their owners (**)
Not that bad Nico. It used to be like you describe
They did what they wanted to until we stepped in and fixed fences and put motorised gate up. A lot of the Hanger owners were to lazy to close the gate thus causing donkeys to stroll in for a feed. The fences were stuffed with HUGE entrances for anything and anyone.
We seem to think we have everything under controll :|
Permanent labourer patrolling fences every day and collecting donations for airfield maintenance from visiting aircraft.
Belongs to Local Council but run and looked after by Flying club. It still is licensed by Council and we are looking at putting lights in again.(last ones were vandalized)
We see a bright future in Nylstroom airfield (^^)
Real men don't have to kill a Rhino for a Horn
Balls to the wall
weedy

Postby weedy » Wed Mar 27, 2013 2:38 pm

Warden in the mid 90's
Donaldson Dam (gliding)
Harismith nearly went to the dogs, now has a fence
Claude
kloot piloot

Postby kloot piloot » Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:21 pm

Weedy, I see on google earth that the original Warden is partly invested by low cost housing. Is the new field southwest of town private or council ?
Is Donaldson Dam the same one as Carltonville skydiving ?
Roel Jansen

Postby Boet » Thu Mar 28, 2013 6:39 am

:lol: :lol: :lol: Ek sien al die arme donner wat op FALFTN kom plak.....hy sal stof eet, en die son sal hom uit droog soos biltong in n sink kaia in die somer, en in die winter sy gat af vries. En as dit nat raak, is die klei so taai, hoe verder jy loop, hoe langer raak jy.!!!!! :evil: :evil: Living out here in the sticks have benefits!!

Postby nicow » Thu Mar 28, 2013 7:58 am

avgas wrote:
nicow wrote:Don't forget Nylstroom (FANY)-you must join overhead to look for dogs, goats,donkeys and their owners (**)
Not that bad Nico. It used to be like you describe
They did what they wanted to until we stepped in and fixed fences and put motorised gate up. A lot of the Hanger owners were to lazy to close the gate thus causing donkeys to stroll in for a feed. The fences were stuffed with HUGE entrances for anything and anyone.
We seem to think we have everything under controll :|
Permanent labourer patrolling fences every day and collecting donations for airfield maintenance from visiting aircraft.
Belongs to Local Council but run and looked after by Flying club. It still is licensed by Council and we are looking at putting lights in again.(last ones were vandalized)
We see a bright future in Nylstroom airfield (^^)
Dis goeie nuus (^^)
weedy

Postby weedy » Tue Apr 02, 2013 12:18 pm

kloot piloot wrote:Weedy, I see on google earth that the original Warden is partly invested by low cost housing. Is the new field southwest of town private or council ?
Is Donaldson Dam the same one as Carltonville skydiving ?
Ok I did not know Warden had a new field.
Donaldson Dam runway is now the main road in Bekkerdal to the East of Westonaria
Claude