Page 1 of 1

The Customer is always right....really?

Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 5:11 pm
by Bundy
True story! :roll:

"Right, will you please mount this shower hook for me here."

"Sure, let me just check that its safe to do so..... (with my pipe detector) ....Mmm, sorry Sir, but I'm picking up a copper pipe here, can I move it a bit to the left?" :)

"No man there are no pipes in this wall...I did all this plumbing myself...just put it where I wanted it please. :x

"Sir, there is only one thing a copper pipe in this wall can carry....I cant drill here." :?

"IM TELLING YOU ALAN, there are no pipes in that wall, please hurry up, I've got to get back to the office" :evil:

"Sorry Sir, I am not prepared to drill here..." :roll:

"Ag I'll DO IT MYSELF THEN.....GIve me that $#%#en drill...." :evil: :evil: :evil:

BRRRRRRR!!!!! WHOOOSH! AGE NEEEEE MAN!!!!

:lol: Partykeer kry ek my so lekker!! :lol:

What a $#%@ dumbass?.....I duly shut the water off for him and told him to call a plumber....(why should I help you when you treat me like a doos? :twisted: )

....haha he even got a nice taste of 220v when 4 bars of H20 came firing his way!....Next time maybe you should listen to the oke who does this everyday??? ##

Re: The Customer is always right....really?

Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 6:46 pm
by Asterix
(why should I help you when you treat me like a doos? )

I dunno - do some introspection - maybe the guy is right? Not about the position of the pipes, but about the way he treated you? (Like a doos)! :roll: :roll:

You have a "pipe" detector. Maybe this guy has a "doos" detector? :?: Did you ask when you walked in? :?:

Maybe you ARE one? Who is to say? :twisted: :twisted: Nobody knows..... ($$)

:lol: :lol: (^^) :wink:

Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 7:53 pm
by Bundy
Maybe you're right....Maxine calls me a doos all the time :lol:

Your insults remind me of a mate of mine who visited Thailand a few years back.....when he came back he said "Wow what a beautiful country...these Thai chicks love us Africans...I must just take my "doos detector" with next time!" :lol:

Be careful in that place chaps....some guys have had some nasty surprises I'm told (**)

xxx :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 10:39 pm
by kloot piloot
Bundy, I saw your Isuzu at Microland on Saturday with the advertised "You need a handyman". Never realized that this is your game.
I can tell you one thing, and your post confirms this; Bundy, you will make it far in life ! Patience will reward you !
You come over as an honest and hard working person, you have shown your enthusiastic mettle with Misasa, the rebuilding of a smashed dream with Steff, yet you remained humble but determined. Bravo !

By spending money on a metal detector, rather than a flashy 4x4 to impress your customer says it all !

Maxine, give the man slack ... he thinks long term. Not a bad trait, not at all.

Bundy, next time, unscrew the lightbulb in his bathroom, place a 10 cent coin on the bulb's contacters and bayonette it back in.

You will have him scratching for weeks .... and when he asks for your help ...
Moer sy rekening ! (**)

Posted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 6:58 am
by Bundy
Thanks Kloot, not sure I deserve all that but I appreciate it Sir. (^^)

Must give my dear wife credit...when she calls me a doos it's usually for a good reason. :lol:

Just some useless advice for anyone doing renovations...

Pipe detectors are not 100% accurate and most will struggle to pick up Polycop (plastic) pipes. You will be amazed at the intricate system of pipes and conduits present below the plaster in the average home. You will be amazed even further by the most times completely non sensical way in which they are plumbed by the average plumber/builders.

Drilling is always risky, but especially so in any kitchen or bathroom. It is also very costly to repair if you screw it up!!! If in doubt....DONT. Most internal walls are single brick construction...even if you are drilling in the bedroom adjacent to a bathroom you can hit a pipe on the bathroom side!

Whenever you renovate or build a house take detailed pictures of the underlying infrastructure! Including underground waste pipes and all the 50mm drains running through the slabs.. from every concievable angle....they will be extremelly valuable to you later on.

The most dangerous times to drill are directly above and next to any known water outlet or socket.....as well as any time after 15h00 on a Friday Afternoon!!! That's exactly when you are likely to get a watery surprise (**) :roll: ^