Aircraft tracking for pilots is anyone interested?

Matters of general interest
psg
Learning to fly
Learning to fly

Aircraft tracking for pilots is anyone interested?

Postby psg » Wed Jul 11, 2012 6:47 pm

Hi Everyone
As a pilot I have read what has happened when an aircraft goes missing. I myself often wander if I went down in a remote place would anyone know where I was or where to look. There have been a number of cases over the last few years where aircraft have been lost for a few days and taken a lot of manpower to find. I want to develop a system whereby your phone will regularly transmit your location to a website that you or whoever you choose can see where you are or at least your last known position. I know that there is a problem with not always having a signal up there but the plan is that the data will be stored until there is signal and then sent. If you go down in an area with no signal there will still be a snail trail to your last known position that should include speed and altitude. This will assist in finding you and give a good idea of where you could be. The aim of this post is to gauge the interest and get some feedback as to whether anyone would be interested in such a service. Please feel free to leave any feedback here.

Sacha
justin.schoeman
Frequent Flyer
Frequent Flyer

Re: Aircraft tracking for pilots is anyone interested?

Postby justin.schoeman » Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:44 pm

Have a look on the various app markets - there are already a couple of systems that do that. But the best is still to use an ELT, or at least a PLB if you will be in a remote area.
ZS-NEL
Pilot in Command
Pilot in Command

Postby ZS-NEL » Wed Jul 11, 2012 9:39 pm

Hi Sacha,