Page 1 of 3
JHB weekend weather
Posted: Wed Jul 04, 2012 10:01 pm
by Vatso
This weekend weather does not look great

however Monday and Tuesday look perfect!!! Who is going to get an early before work flight in?? If I don't fly the weekend I am going to fly during the week even if it's for an hour.
Re: JHB weekend weather
Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 7:43 am
by John.com
Here is Brits weather, so Magaliesburg, etc.
Windy and cold! Not nice, but I think Monday morning before work is a good call . . . .

- Weather - Brits - 12.07.05.png (89.32 KiB) Viewed 3628 times
Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 9:13 pm
by John.com
Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 12:03 pm
by mulderpm
Thanks John. Nou kan ek saam praat
And at Microland near Bapsfontein.
Won't even need to start the engine. Just let go
Luckilly I got an hour's fligt in on Wednesday.
James, no fly out to Polokwane this weekend.
Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 12:26 pm
by Bundy
Hi John, Paul...what weather website you using?
Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 2:14 pm
by Blue Max
Julle ouens begin te lank voor die tyd skrik.
Bapsfontein :
My weervoorspelling dat daar Sat n baie ligte windtjie van 3 m per sek sal wees van die Noorde af met geen teken van reen nie!
na my mening is dit lekker vliegweer..

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 2:15 pm
by Tribal Croc
Bundy wrote:Hi John, Paul...what weather website you using?
Badweather

.com.

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 3:36 pm
by Alkemac
Tribal - brilliant...
Was also thinking along the lines of
www.k@ksoek.com !
Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 5:34 pm
by Asterix
Oom Polla - - jy het weerkunde lesse nodig!

Mulderpm - no worries mate, made the call yesterday when I saw that this front will not rotate East, and saw how far the pressure falls behind it. For Gautengers - get out your redwine and light the fireplaces!
I'll try again next weekend.
( As a matter of passing, as I am typing, my Wingman Bugwar is on his way to Polokwane to come visit me for the weekend, since our flying plans was sabotaged by nature. His Softness with new one-month old is visiting her parents, and since we cannot fly, we'll have a beer. In actual fact, we'll have several Cappies and Coke, and a BIG braai at my new place! Bugwar misses me...

)
Manne, ons gaan lekker fles vat, steak braai en kak praat hierdie naweek!

Volgende naweek bring ek vir Witchy Woman huis toe! En as die weer kak lyk vir die naweek, gaan Marius haar vir my opvlieg in die week. Hy is mos nou al 'n ou hand om Cobras te ferry!

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 9:08 pm
by D2O
What comes after bad weather?...Monday!
I just got my plane, and now I can't fly it cause of the weather? This sucks! I'm gonna go drown my sorrows in beer and wine!

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 10:44 pm
by ZS-NEL
Asterix wrote: En as die weer kak lyk vir die naweek, gaan Marius haar vir my opvlieg in die week. Hy is mos nou al 'n ou hand om Cobras te ferry!

....en die ferryman sit hoeka die weer ding en doen want is nou weer vol geboek vir more. Larry always says: "If you are NOT at the airfield early tomorrow - you are definitely NOT going to fly"

Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 6:14 am
by Bundy
Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 6:26 am
by Bundy
Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 8:19 am
by John.com
Bundy wrote:Hi John, Paul...what weather website you using?
http://www.windguru.cz/
Brilliant site! The accuracy is phenomenal!
Clearly, you have to find a location close to you. Be sure to use the "2D" tab (just above the graph), and select the "Wind (alt...+2000m)" option from the dropdown, which gives good wind data/graphics at lower levels. Clink on the "Help" on the RHS for pretty good help!
My one mistake I made using this site was to be so focused on
low level wind that I did not pay the necessary respect to the intensity of the
winds aloft OR the
temperature curve!! EISCH . . . . I got walloped by rotors coming over the Magaliesberg and at the same time almost froze my kahoonos off!
I had visions of myself as "Scrat" of Ice Age fame, body frozen and only eyeballs moving, flying straight into a mountain!!

- Scrat.png (69.82 KiB) Viewed 3388 times
Some other sites are:
http://www.weatherphotos.co.za/ - takes a while to find your way around, but LOTS of info!
http://www.windfinder.com/ - more for wind!
http://www.yr.no/place/South_Africa/Nor ... Brits-Wes/ - ok site
http://www.rudigreyling.com/wx/index.htm - I haven't spent too long on this site, but it seems like quite a bit of WX info!
Have fun, fly safe!

Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 3:23 pm
by ZS-NEL
So the weather prophets were not completely right again. Had a good 4 hours of flying this morning from 07h00 to 11h00 at Rhino.