Page 1 of 1

Are microlight/LSA pilots that bad?

Posted: Sun May 13, 2012 9:12 pm
by Nkwazi
Hi guys
I've posed this question on Avcom
http://www.avcom.co.za/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=95264

Please, let's make constructive comments!!

Re: Are microlight/LSA pilots that bad?

Posted: Sun May 13, 2012 10:23 pm
by kloot piloot
Microlighters do not have to stand back when compared to PPL's driving C150's or hire pilots driving school planes.

What existing MPL pilots can do is to make sure that their radios are audable (spelling ? ) and to refrain from using 124.8 as a chat channel.

Posted: Mon May 14, 2012 10:53 am
by Tailspin
I can definately say that for one i have spoken alot to ATC's of various fields, moving in and out of their air space, i have not had any problems with them, have had a problem with an ATC confused as to what exactly they want from me as they were not audible over the comms yet i could clearly hear and speak to others in the Gaggle with no problem.

So i would say there is nothing wrong with most Pilots Radio work but then there are the Manne that just think they are the stuff e.g. how can you be talking to JHB when over Roodekoppies Dam. So i will read the posts but well s064 s064
A maroon Bell Jet Ranger nearly flew me out of the sky over Roodekoppies Dam . No radio work at all. 124.80, 125.80, 124.20. no response

Answer:The heli could have been in contact with JHB.?

Posted: Mon May 14, 2012 2:47 pm
by Tumbleweed
Isn’t it time we dump this inferiority complex of always feeling judged and having to justify our existance?

If your coms are k@k then fix it. If your radio work is suspect then fly with someone who will talk until you're in the circuit or have your instructor run through what is expected.

Sharing hilarious confessions, one ppl admitted that so sooner had he cut engines then the van arrived next to his plane to take him to the tower because he screwed up so bad that they demanded to see if he had a licence. :lol:

Some okes who have clocked 1 000's of hours and can pin point tail dragger cross landings rather climb as quick as possible to 1500 feet to avoid radio work.

The only okes bitching are those who have never flown microlights. Share your experiences with them or take them for a flip and just make new buddies.

As for some oke having who screwed up, he has only embarrassed himself. Should all microlighters or Misasa members carry guilt or a complex coz someone has done something stupid? I don’t and I don’t even care what he did.

One guy out of about 80 odd is acceptable odds. You’ll find more assholes in a boy scout meeting or a Sunday service so what’s the problem?

Posted: Mon May 14, 2012 4:19 pm
by Bundy
Tumbleweed wrote:Isn’t it time we dump this inferiority complex of always feeling judged and having to justify our existance?
Damn Straight! (^^)
Tumbleweed wrote:If your coms are k@k then fix it. If your radio work is suspect then fly with someone who will talk until you're in the circuit or have your instructor run through what is expected.
What helped me a hell of a lot in the beginning, (and still does) is listening to your local GA Airport frequency. I can pick up FAWB/FAWK clearly from my place and it's really good "practice" just to listen to the calls.... You be amazed at the kak the ppl'rs can talk too :lol:
Tumbleweed wrote:The only okes bitching are those who have never flown microlights. Share your experiences with them or take them for a flip and just make new buddies.
One guy out of about 80 odd is acceptable odds. You’ll find more assholes in a boy scout meeting or a Sunday service so what’s the problem?
I have a mate of mine that (when I had an airworthy plane :wink: ) used to sms me weekly asking if I had a back seat for him? He has 1500hrs on fixed wing, over 1000 hrs on a 44 heli, flies for a living everyday. But he still wants to "get back to how the Wright Bro's used to do it" as he says....I have flown one of the Hawk instructors, a Boeing 777 pilot, and they all loved it. xxx (^^)
On most occasions, I have really met some great friends in all the different aviation disciplines. Most are friendly, eager to share their knoweledge/experiences and lend a hand where necessary.... and as TW says, there is the odd total doos. Met one at KittyHawk earlier this year! :twisted: Eish ^...and yes he had a lot to say in front of his Big Blik Buddies....but he had never flown a trike before? Go figure :roll:

These days, I dont feel I need to "justify" my status as a pilot. I fly a unique type of aerie, has it's pros and cons... just like a Cessna, or 44, or paraglider....but most importantly, I respect the fact that the beautiful blue above us belongs to us all....no matter what the "bird" is (^^)

Posted: Mon May 14, 2012 5:28 pm
by John.com
Bundy wrote:What helped me a hell of a lot in the beginning, (and still does) is listening to your local GA Airport frequency. I can pick up FAWB/FAWK clearly from my place and it's really good "practice" just to listen to the calls....
If you want to hear how the "big boys" do it, go to LiveATC.net and select JFK Approach (KJFK), JFK Final or say San Francisco (KFSO)!!! (^^) (^^)

Choose the "in browser, requires Flash" option, which seems to work the best. It takes a little time to buffer, but then just sit back and enjoy the "ATC-speak"!! :wink:
KJFK ATC.jpg
It's a good opportunity to brush up on your METAR code as well! :wink:

Have fun!

Posted: Mon May 14, 2012 5:43 pm
by kloot piloot
Tailspin wroye:
but then there are the Manne that just think they are the stuff e.g. how can you be talking to JHB when over Roodekoppies Dam. So i will read the posts but well

A maroon Bell Jet Ranger nearly flew me out of the sky over Roodekoppies Dam . No radio work at all. 124.80, 125.80, 124.20. no response

Answer:The heli could have been in contact with JHB.?
I also saw that k@k comment / answer but wasn't going to waste my time to reply to such an idiotic statement. Why would a Jetranger at 500ft ASL over Roodekoppies in the GF want to talk to Jhb ? :roll: :roll: Anyway ... sigh.

Posted: Mon May 14, 2012 5:57 pm
by Bundy
kloot piloot wrote: I also saw that k@k comment / answer but wasn't going to waste my time to reply to such an idiotic statement. Why would a Jetranger at 500ft ASL over Roodekoppies in the GF want to talk to Jhb ? :roll: :roll: Anyway ... sigh.
Kloot, I think we should report him for low flying! 500ft ASL over Roodekoppies? Thats WAAAAAYYY too low! :lol:

Posted: Mon May 14, 2012 7:45 pm
by DarkHelmet
Aren't we supposed to be 2000 ft AGL over a national park? I had my knuckles rapped over Borakalolo a while back ;)