Hi guys
I've posed this question on Avcom
http://www.avcom.co.za/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=95264
Please, let's make constructive comments!!
Are microlight/LSA pilots that bad?
Re: Are microlight/LSA pilots that bad?
Microlighters do not have to stand back when compared to PPL's driving C150's or hire pilots driving school planes.
What existing MPL pilots can do is to make sure that their radios are audable (spelling ? ) and to refrain from using 124.8 as a chat channel.
Roel Jansen
Never say: "I should have ..."
ZU-IAR powered by BMW 1200
I can definately say that for one i have spoken alot to ATC's of various fields, moving in and out of their air space, i have not had any problems with them, have had a problem with an ATC confused as to what exactly they want from me as they were not audible over the comms yet i could clearly hear and speak to others in the Gaggle with no problem.
So i would say there is nothing wrong with most Pilots Radio work but then there are the Manne that just think they are the stuff e.g. how can you be talking to JHB when over Roodekoppies Dam. So i will read the posts but well

A maroon Bell Jet Ranger nearly flew me out of the sky over Roodekoppies Dam . No radio work at all. 124.80, 125.80, 124.20. no response
Answer:The heli could have been in contact with JHB.?
- Tumbleweed
Isn’t it time we dump this inferiority complex of always feeling judged and having to justify our existance?
If your coms are k@k then fix it. If your radio work is suspect then fly with someone who will talk until you're in the circuit or have your instructor run through what is expected.
Sharing hilarious confessions, one ppl admitted that so sooner had he cut engines then the van arrived next to his plane to take him to the tower because he screwed up so bad that they demanded to see if he had a licence.
Some okes who have clocked 1 000's of hours and can pin point tail dragger cross landings rather climb as quick as possible to 1500 feet to avoid radio work.
The only okes bitching are those who have never flown microlights. Share your experiences with them or take them for a flip and just make new buddies.
As for some oke having who screwed up, he has only embarrassed himself. Should all microlighters or Misasa members carry guilt or a complex coz someone has done something stupid? I don’t and I don’t even care what he did.
One guy out of about 80 odd is acceptable odds. You’ll find more assholes in a boy scout meeting or a Sunday service so what’s the problem?
If your coms are k@k then fix it. If your radio work is suspect then fly with someone who will talk until you're in the circuit or have your instructor run through what is expected.
Sharing hilarious confessions, one ppl admitted that so sooner had he cut engines then the van arrived next to his plane to take him to the tower because he screwed up so bad that they demanded to see if he had a licence.

Some okes who have clocked 1 000's of hours and can pin point tail dragger cross landings rather climb as quick as possible to 1500 feet to avoid radio work.
The only okes bitching are those who have never flown microlights. Share your experiences with them or take them for a flip and just make new buddies.
As for some oke having who screwed up, he has only embarrassed himself. Should all microlighters or Misasa members carry guilt or a complex coz someone has done something stupid? I don’t and I don’t even care what he did.
One guy out of about 80 odd is acceptable odds. You’ll find more assholes in a boy scout meeting or a Sunday service so what’s the problem?
Damn Straight!Tumbleweed wrote:Isn’t it time we dump this inferiority complex of always feeling judged and having to justify our existance?

What helped me a hell of a lot in the beginning, (and still does) is listening to your local GA Airport frequency. I can pick up FAWB/FAWK clearly from my place and it's really good "practice" just to listen to the calls.... You be amazed at the kak the ppl'rs can talk tooTumbleweed wrote:If your coms are k@k then fix it. If your radio work is suspect then fly with someone who will talk until you're in the circuit or have your instructor run through what is expected.

I have a mate of mine that (when I had an airworthy planeTumbleweed wrote:The only okes bitching are those who have never flown microlights. Share your experiences with them or take them for a flip and just make new buddies.

On most occasions, I have really met some great friends in all the different aviation disciplines. Most are friendly, eager to share their knoweledge/experiences and lend a hand where necessary.... and as TW says, there is the odd total doos. Met one at KittyHawk earlier this year!

These days, I dont feel I need to "justify" my status as a pilot. I fly a unique type of aerie, has it's pros and cons... just like a Cessna, or 44, or paraglider....but most importantly, I respect the fact that the beautiful blue above us belongs to us all....no matter what the "bird" is

- John.com
- Location: Broederstroom (Magaliesberg) - home airstrip Aeroden
If you want to hear how the "big boys" do it, go to LiveATC.net and select JFK Approach (KJFK), JFK Final or say San Francisco (KFSO)!!!Bundy wrote:What helped me a hell of a lot in the beginning, (and still does) is listening to your local GA Airport frequency. I can pick up FAWB/FAWK clearly from my place and it's really good "practice" just to listen to the calls....

Choose the "in browser, requires Flash" option, which seems to work the best. It takes a little time to buffer, but then just sit back and enjoy the "ATC-speak"!!

It's a good opportunity to brush up on your METAR code as well!

Have fun!
John Comley
ZU-BST (the Beautiful Seductive Temptress)
Magaliesberg, South Africa
Read my flying blog here . . . http://johncomley.blogspot.com/
"Truly superior pilots are those who use their superior judgment to avoid those situations where they might have to use their superior skills"
ZU-BST (the Beautiful Seductive Temptress)
Magaliesberg, South Africa
Read my flying blog here . . . http://johncomley.blogspot.com/
"Truly superior pilots are those who use their superior judgment to avoid those situations where they might have to use their superior skills"
Tailspin wroye:
Anyway ... sigh.
I also saw that k@k comment / answer but wasn't going to waste my time to reply to such an idiotic statement. Why would a Jetranger at 500ft ASL over Roodekoppies in the GF want to talk to Jhb ?but then there are the Manne that just think they are the stuff e.g. how can you be talking to JHB when over Roodekoppies Dam. So i will read the posts but well
A maroon Bell Jet Ranger nearly flew me out of the sky over Roodekoppies Dam . No radio work at all. 124.80, 125.80, 124.20. no response
Answer:The heli could have been in contact with JHB.?

Roel Jansen
Kloot, I think we should report him for low flying! 500ft ASL over Roodekoppies? Thats WAAAAAYYY too low!kloot piloot wrote: I also saw that k@k comment / answer but wasn't going to waste my time to reply to such an idiotic statement. Why would a Jetranger at 500ft ASL over Roodekoppies in the GF want to talk to Jhb ?![]()
Anyway ... sigh.

Last edited by Bundy on Tue May 15, 2012 5:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
- DarkHelmet
Aren't we supposed to be 2000 ft AGL over a national park? I had my knuckles rapped over Borakalolo a while back