THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Paul Meanwell

Re: THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Postby Paul Meanwell » Tue Jan 12, 2016 7:59 am

Not looking too good for flying in........

:shock: ,,,, ,,,, ,,,, ,,,, ,,,,
Drink Triple,
See Double,
Act Single!

Postby Bundy » Mon Feb 08, 2016 8:23 am

Good Morning All....I have decided to try start a bit of a fun "Nav Championship" for us to co incide with our monthly Tailwinds Braai's. :)

I will post full details and a full set of rules etc etc shortly... but this is basically how it will work:

1: Each Braai day will start with a 60-80NM Navigational exercise. With a minimum of 2 waypoints. Waypoints to be photographed in flight as "proof".

2: Only paper maps, magnetic compass and stopwatch are allowed as nav aids. (Cellphones to be placed in sealed envelope in saddlebags)

3: You will nominate your average GS and flight duration before you take off based on your planning.

4: All exercises with start outbound overhead Bapsfontein Tower and end reporting overhead the windsock at MLand to avoid time lost joining and landing. You fly against the clock...and you record your own time. Honesty is the hallmark of a good pilot! (!!)

5: Two routes will be planned and advertised before hand...with takeoffs seperated by 3 minutes. Your route on the day will be randomly drawn at the Nav briefing. (This is to try and seperate aircraft in the air and avoid aircraft simply following the one in front) IE every 2nd aircraft taking off will fly a seperate route....

6: You may not orbit...slalom or land (unless emergency) in order to "lose" time, you must fly direct point to point, but you may control your airspeed and thus your flight time in that straight line. Cheaters will be publicly flogged with insults... ##

7: We will keep a log of the entries and times throughout the year. A "Grand Champion" will be crowned at the annual Xmas braai based on your 3 best results/times in that year. You must fly a minimum of 3 Nav's during the year to be in the running.... (^^)

This is meant to be a fun...challenging, spirit and skill building "comp". I hope you will join me in taking part...
All pilots in any aerie within flying distance of FABA are welcome to take part!

I will post the details of the first one on Feb 20th soon.... (^^)

Please send me your suggestions and comments....we'll see how the first one goes and then take it from there..?

Cheers!
Bundy.
NickSwardt

Postby NickSwardt » Mon Feb 08, 2016 1:06 pm

Sounds like fun, I've been wanting to sharpen up those skills (^^)

Does this mean were gonna be seeing more of you this year?

Postby Bundy » Mon Feb 08, 2016 1:08 pm

That's the plan Nick... (^^)

Postby mulderpm » Thu Feb 11, 2016 9:45 am

Alan's "Bundy" skills test & NPL licence renewed this morning. Well done Alan s023 s023

About the Nav comp, great idea. Just touch base with Mervyn (MISASA Competition co-ordinator) for guidance on how to do a Nav competition. (^^) Even the simplest one, requires a GPS tracker per aircraft, to log the competitors flight. etc, etc...

Postby Bundy » Thu Feb 11, 2016 5:08 pm

First I'll see what the interest is Paul...simple and fun is the secret. (^^)
ME 109

Postby ME 109 » Thu Feb 11, 2016 5:39 pm

mulderpm wrote:Alan's "Bundy" skills test & NPL licence renewed this morning. Well done Alan s023 s023

About the Nav comp, great idea. Just touch base with Mervyn (MISASA Competition co-ordinator) for guidance on how to do a Nav competition. (^^) Even the simplest one, requires a GPS tracker per aircraft, to log the competitors flight. etc, etc...
Must have just missed Alan this morning :) Renewed my license an flight test this morning with Mervyn.....he survived and I am good to go (^^)
Hope to see some Tailwinds pilots at oom Polla's bomdrop en chop (^^) (^^)
Exciting times for microlighters, fun competitions are the way to go.
Andries Kruger
ZU-CSZ Aquilla 582 (Bumble bee)

Postby mulderpm » Fri Feb 19, 2016 10:05 am

We welcome and congratulate Gavin Lewis-Walker on completing his Instructors Flight test.
So good to have another weightshift Trike instructor at Microland.

Also a great thanks to Mervyn Reynolds (Captain Yster) and Fanie Deysel (Captain Steel) from Skyriders Flight School, who helped him in getting his rating.

Well done Gavin. (^^) (^^)

See you at the braai tomorrow for an official "Straf Dop". (^^) (^^) (**)

Postby Bundy » Fri Feb 19, 2016 4:31 pm

Nice one Gav.... (^^)

Postby Bundy » Sun Feb 21, 2016 5:21 am

Lekker Fun Nav followed by a great braai! (^^)

Nice to see you all and catch up! (!!)

Thanks to all who contributed...especially Smiley Joe. (^^)
IMG_0706.jpg
IMG_0707.jpg
IMG_0708.jpg
IMG_0710.jpg

Postby mulderpm » Sun Feb 21, 2016 4:21 pm

Thanks to all for another great braai. A special thanks to those that brought food and for the generous donation to Johannes for all his help. Some of us only left after 5.

Microland and Skyriders Flight Scool, arguably, must be the busiest and most active LSA flight scool in SA. We now have 3 instructors, and they are busy, busy. Well, Microland has a fantastic gees and cameradery....no doubt about that. (^^) (^^) (^^)

Postby Blue Max » Sun Feb 21, 2016 5:07 pm

Yeah!
mulderpm wrote: Well, Microland has a fantastic gees and cameradery....no doubt about that. (^^) (^^) (^^)
And thanks to Paul and Dion who is keeping the gees alive and well. (^^)
GavinL-W

Postby GavinL-W » Sun Feb 21, 2016 8:35 pm

(^^) definitely an awesome club to be part of. Thanks Paul and his better half for all the effort you put into the braais and activities at the club.
Jetman

Postby Jetman » Mon Feb 22, 2016 7:14 am

Well done Microland....you guys and girls rock. Great stuff and thanks for keeping microlighting alive... (^^) (^^)
ZU-FDE Apollo Delta Jet
ZU-IHK Sling
ONE LIFE....LIVE IT
Suesing

Postby Suesing » Mon Feb 22, 2016 9:41 am

well done okes
http://www.valleyflightsmicrolighting.com
Jabiru Instructor ( Grade B)