THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Re: THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Postby Bundy » Mon Aug 29, 2016 4:08 pm

Great flight with Troy on Sunday.... :mrgreen:

Hands off for 90 minutes...lekker day to be in the air! 8)
14067713_1028796617216878_2417380972701851283_n.jpg
14079657_1028797657216774_1175798738718226324_n.jpg
14079857_1028797963883410_4561221307313808154_n.jpg
14089108_1028798257216714_3985508757160418210_n.jpg
14089255_1028796820550191_7883003919442189013_n.jpg
14141918_1028798467216693_7665530993700666306_n.jpg

Postby Bundy » Thu Sep 15, 2016 6:30 am

Reminder of this Saturday's Tailwinds Fun Nav and Braai.

Sep 17th @ Microland

Bring your dop n tjop... (^^)
Fires start from 10h00
All Welcome! (!!)

Postby Bundy » Mon Oct 17, 2016 1:05 pm

Hi Guys,

The Tailwinds have been collecting funds for quite sometime now and we have reached the point where we can start allocating these to various repairs and improvements that are needed... (^^)

In the absence of a Formal Committee to make such decisions, it is important that we therefore as a group decide where to start, and give everyone a chance to put forward their ideas and imput to ensure transparency and the interests of the majority. ##

I therefore ask that all Microland Pilots who are interested send me a short list of proposals for what you would like to be done so that we can formulate a list which will be passed around at our Xmas Braai to be prioritized by those in attendance. Once the list has been prioritized we will then tackle each project in that order as the funding becomes available... :)

Please send your list of proposals to me by whatsapp on Oh seven 2 eight 23 234 one....by latest Oct 31st 2016

Many Thanks (!!)

Postby Bundy » Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:59 am

Sincere thanks to William for making a new Weather Station a reality. (^^)

Merv will see to its installation and upkeep and the Tailwinds Fund will be taking care of the Annual Fees and costs associated with the system.

Your monthly donations at the braais will be much appreciated...
THANK YOU to all of you! Please keep up your support... (!!)

Dont forget to forward me your proposals for our improvement projects...The list will be voted on at the Xmas braai (^^)

Postby mulderpm » Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:05 pm

There ar's a gaggle of us flying up to the Potties Fly-in on the 11th & 12th November 2016. If anyone want's to join us please let Alan (Bundy) know. (^^) (^^)

Alan, zero, seven, too, ate, too, tree, too, tree, for, uno.

Postby mulderpm » Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:29 pm

Unfortunately for microlighters, WhatsApp has taken over the conversations/messages for the Tailwinds. We, as most flying groups, have a very strong and active WhatsApp group. We will still post general announcements here, but as you can see, there aren't many.

If you want to join the group then please contact me, zero ate 1 for too 7 double ate too sex, or Mervyn Renolds. (^^)
BuzzLight
Pre flight checks done

Postby BuzzLight » Thu Apr 06, 2017 10:56 am

Hi Paul,

Glad the WhatsApp group is doing well!!
As for the Zwartkop Airshow, thats sounds like an awesome idea...would love to take part in that. Has this been approved yet?
To infinity.......and beyond!!

Postby Bundy » Mon Sep 04, 2017 5:38 pm

Like many others I think it's sad that WhatsApp is now virtually the only form of communication these days? :wink:
It may be practical but there is just no "history" to it?
Don't believe me? Go try find a post from 3 months ago on WhatsApp?? :wink:

It would be nice if we could at least post pics and news on these threads still so we have a record of our expeditions and adventures? (!!)

I will do my bit to at least try and resurrect some of the banter and cammeraderie that once filled these pages... even if it becomes a personal blog in the process.... ^ :wink:

Sunday's weather was awesome! I managed to get an old School friend and his wife airbourne in celebration of their 1st Anniversary. She didn't speak much English and the comms were a bit of a challenge!
The funniest was when I tried to broadcast my position and she would just keep interrupting me saying "Solly I no hear loo"? :lol:

Great flight in perfect conditions! (!!)

Looking forward to Kokoriba next week. (^^)
21230821_10156731844264762_6817088636569032670_n.jpg
21317585_10156731843544762_4604492367983078757_n.jpg
21231816_10156731839584762_7709122943518994163_n.jpg
21192880_10156731843799762_5811407720215227512_n.jpg

Postby Bundy » Sun Sep 10, 2017 10:19 am

Such a nice trip up to Kokoriba this weekend! (^^)

My first time there and the runway is great with very well looked after, reasonably priced accommodation and excellent facilities.
Restaurant, pool...pub alles onder een dak ekse! (!!) Moer lekker.

About 6 trikes, a gyro and two fixed wings made the trip as part of our group.
Very hazy conditions flying straight into the sun both there and back but other than the usual 15h30 pony ride in the thermals on Friday it was smooth sailing. We flew via Cullinan and Crater to Kokoriba which is a nice and relaxed 75 odd NM each way.

So nice to be able to take my son Troy on his first Cross Country trip and happy the Wx Gods didn't bounce him around too much... :lol:

Thanks to Connie and Fanie for arranging the trip....to Peter for tagging with me as my wingman and my fellow Tailwinds mates for the lekker kuier as always! (^^)
Def coming back to this spot again! (!!)

My only wish with all these places we go is that there was more shade to park our planes under.... :) Plant bome mense! :lol:
21430266_1375883999174803_813965734492257573_n.jpg
21371348_1375884335841436_8389063814677753039_n.jpg
21430268_1376605195769350_7151178343411097332_n.jpg
21371192_1375884849174718_1713487712387442129_n.jpg
21557707_1376604755769394_3068937535750841059_n.jpg
21462682_1375884982508038_7397060770411752153_n.jpg
21430490_1375884512508085_3498753176754881663_n.jpg
21463418_1376605355769334_3754801437993795630_n.jpg
21430453_1375885519174651_3653202641502987909_n.jpg
21369234_1375885125841357_5537450591768999222_n.jpg
20374367_1376605589102644_7908104322300523911_n.jpg
21463220_1376605452435991_4893026580036299971_n.jpg
21430363_1376605865769283_7844863406841137460_n.jpg
falconp1

Postby falconp1 » Sun Sep 10, 2017 2:31 pm

Very nice Bundy. Keep the chat coming.
I operate with an iPhone now. It was always easier to upload pix grom my PC but a bit dof with resizing pix from my phone or iPad. How do you do it? It might help if you start a separate chat on microlighters about resizing of pics. I think a lot of guys will appropriate the input. Myself included puff
ZS-WVD CONDOR
ZU-CIW Challenger 11
freddievanrooyen@yahoo.com

Postby Bundy » Mon Sep 11, 2017 4:37 am

falconp1 wrote:
Sun Sep 10, 2017 2:31 pm
I operate with an iPhone now. It was always easier to upload pix grom my PC but a bit dof with resizing pix from my phone or iPad. How do you do it? It might help if you start a separate chat on microlighters about resizing of pics. I think a lot of guys will appropriate the input. Myself included puff
Lol...Freddie I don't have a clue mate. :lol:

Pretty much IT retarded myself. I know there are special apps that you can use like "Shrinkpic" which when enabled will compress the picture files as you post them.
I get them on here by posting them onto Facebook first. Facebook compresses them in any case and I then save the compressed version of the photo in a temporary folder on my PC which is where I then upload them on here from...

Prob a far simpler way to do it but like I said I R Stupid... ^ :wink: (^^)
Paul Meanwell

Postby Paul Meanwell » Mon Sep 11, 2017 7:35 am

Hey Alan,

You trying to make out like your avatar now???? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Was a great weekend though, the wife and I both wanting to go back again. Everything so well maintained and priced.

(^^) (^^) (^^)
Drink Triple,
See Double,
Act Single!

Postby Madman » Mon Sep 11, 2017 9:00 am

Awesome Bundy, looks like an EPIC weekend was had for sure vhpy

Microlighters missed you =D*

Postby Bundy » Mon Sep 11, 2017 4:59 pm

Reminder of the Monthly Tailwinds Braai.... this coming Sat 16th Sep. (^^)

Nick and his team of "Braai Hards" will supply the coals and bykos....just bring your dop n tjop! (!!)

Fires start from about 10am.

Postby Bundy » Mon Sep 11, 2017 5:03 pm

Madman wrote:
Mon Sep 11, 2017 9:00 am
Awesome Bundy, looks like an EPIC weekend was had for sure vhpy

Microlighters missed you =D*

Its missing a lot of awesome people Raf.... (^^)
Paul Meanwell wrote:
Mon Sep 11, 2017 7:35 am
Was a great weekend though, the wife and I both wanting to go back again. Everything so well maintained and priced.

For sure Paul, good company, good chow....good price....what more does one need?
We def going back! (!!)