THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Re: THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Postby mulderpm » Mon Mar 11, 2013 12:42 pm

As some of you may know we had the Starters Nasters Navigation / precision flying competition at Microland this weekend.

It was a fun event regardless of you position on the leaderboard. And the experience gained is irreplaceble. It shows you how much fun it can be to fly just on a map and a stop watch amongst some CB's. I will approach my next sorty very differently. Maybe just peg a couple of darts in the map and go to each of them using just the map.

Thanks to Merv, Hendrik and the other organisers and helpers. (^^)

The floating trophy is with the Tailwinders. Rock on Tailwinds. (^^)

Thanks Stef for the pictures. Check daai rooi wangetjies. Die son het ons deur die visor gelooi. ##

Will definitly be at the next one.
Trophy.jpg
Trophy
Stef & GB.jpg
ZU-DBP Stef & GB
Bateleur

Postby Bateleur » Mon Mar 11, 2013 1:57 pm

Very well done Paul and D!! You flew like absolute pro's. (^^)
Stef Oosthuizen
Step it up a notch!!
ZU DBP

Postby mulderpm » Mon Mar 11, 2013 3:24 pm

Thanks Stef. You were brilliant as well. Next time its yours. (^^) Just get yourself a lighter naviagtor that stays :lol: You flew first class man (!!)
JCH

Postby JCH » Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:55 pm

Congrats not only to the winners but to all who participated.
Very nice flying and navigating.

Hope to be part of the next comp.
JCH
"The more you practice the luckier you get" - Gary Player
ZU-FDA
ZU-FVX

Postby nicow » Tue Mar 12, 2013 7:54 am

JCH wrote:Congrats not only to the winners but to all who participated.
Very nice flying and navigating.

Hope to be part of the next comp.
Ek ook...
vliegskool@hotmail.com
ZU-AWA
ZU-DMM
ZU-AJO
ZU-AWF
ZU-BAI
ZS-WOR
ZU-TCT
ZU-DOD
ZU-CIE
ZU-BIW

Postby Bundy » Wed Mar 13, 2013 5:32 am

Well done to Paul and Dionne for bringing home the trophy! (^^)

Was really nice to catch up with some friends I have not seen in a while on Sunday morning. 8) Challenging tasks from what I could see, I wouldve come stone last for sure :lol:

Enjoy the braai this weekend, sorry I cant make it guys, duty calls me elsewhere. :(

I am really missing my plane, desperately short of skytime that's for sure. :roll:

Last flight was 17/02... (**)

....dis sommer net kaksleg :evil:

Postby mulderpm » Wed Mar 13, 2013 10:47 am

Thanks Alan. Challenging tasks in challenging conditions, for sure. We were just lucky. Got your e-mail.

Jaco, just to make you jealous, you missed some great flying after the mist cleared this morning. Smoooothe as a baby's bottom (!!)

As was suggested by Merv, I checked AMH's nose wheel to see why she sometimes shimmies on a surfaced runway. The reason is my tyre is not round (rim is fine). I suppose it is from the years of standing before I bought her. ## The tyre is still looking good (no cracks & tread is fine). Does one have to replace the tyre to fix this? Any ideas? :?:

See you all at the Braai this Saturday. Honesty Bar Fridge will be stocked again. It was completely empty after the weekends event. :shock: Well done (^^)

Postby nicow » Wed Mar 13, 2013 11:19 am

The reason is my tyre is not round (rim is fine). I suppose it is from the years of standing before I bought her. ## The tyre is still looking good (no cracks & tread is fine). Does one have to replace the tyre to fix this? Any ideas? :?:

Hy is plat van al die briek trap (**)
Any ideas? :?:
Stel jou brieke af :lol:
vliegskool@hotmail.com
ZU-AWA
ZU-DMM
ZU-AJO
ZU-AWF
ZU-BAI
ZS-WOR
ZU-TCT
ZU-DOD
ZU-CIE
ZU-BIW

Postby mulderpm » Wed Mar 13, 2013 11:28 am

Die Aquilla se briek kan nie eers die vliegtuig stop nie, nevermind die band square maak :lol:

Kom nou ouens. Oom Paula se ek moet die band net styf op pomp? Hy is omtrend net n' halwe bar!
Tribal Croc

Postby Tribal Croc » Wed Mar 13, 2013 1:15 pm

mulderpm wrote: Smoooothe as a baby's bottom (!!)
First time I ever heard

"Microland trafic microlight is turning finals 03 - UNFORTUNATELY " :lol: :lol:
Tribal Croc
ZU-ICanXplane
Bushbaby Explorer MK2
Tailwheel fun starts here

#exploringsouthafricanskies
Bateleur

Postby Bateleur » Thu Mar 14, 2013 3:57 pm

Weather looks good for Saturday morning manne!! Lets fly and then BRAAI!! (^^) (^^)
I am going to be there for sure. Thinking of flying the route we flew with Mervyn from ML routing towards Delmas and then low level following the klip ?? river to Bronkies dam and then back to ML.
Stef Oosthuizen
Step it up a notch!!
ZU DBP

Postby mulderpm » Thu Mar 14, 2013 4:08 pm

That is not the route D. has in mind. (**) :lol: Tomorrow looks even better (^^) Lets do both puff

Postby Bundy » Thu Mar 14, 2013 4:23 pm

Well, I will be going up on Monday if weather allows....I miss DBP too much to wait another week.

Just remind me again....you have to push the bar thingy to go up right? :wink:

Man it's been a while.... ^
Bateleur

Postby Bateleur » Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:53 am

Eish Paul, if I have to fly looking down at a map again this weekend I might KOTS! (**)
I think a lazy, leisurely flight tomorrow morning will do us all good.
See you all tomorrow morning at 06:00. (^^)

Al, I feel for you chom. Don’t worry, I will keep your bird warm for you.
Stef Oosthuizen
Step it up a notch!!
ZU DBP

Postby mulderpm » Fri Mar 15, 2013 11:41 am

Stef. You don't know Dionne. When we got home on Sunday evening she started working out the route for the next trip :lol: She will grab the bar if we deviate. No chance my pal....we will have to fly looking at a map from now on. :shock: That is why I bought Air Nav Pro yesterday. (!!) Then at least the map is moving as we go...but looking down at a map is a must do :roll: I even tried hiding the map she drew...she just draws another one.($$) ($$) ($$)

Just joking. :lol: A leasurly flight to nowhere is cool. Maybe take a flask of coffee with us, land somwhere, kick tyres, praat k@k and fly back. (^^) Delmas or Rhino are good quiet destinations?

I flew this morning but conditions were not so good. :( Only one student at FABA in circuit.

See you all tomorrow.

P.S. Now that I have Air Nav pro, can someone show me why I bought it. (!!)