1st time buyer - Aquilla vs Cobra?

Matters of general interest
BeanCounter
Solo cross country
Solo cross country

1st time buyer - Aquilla vs Cobra?

Postby BeanCounter » Wed Apr 18, 2012 8:26 pm

Hi Guys

I'm about halfway through my training at Microland and hoping to soon have something to put in a hangar. vhpy I'm very keen on weekend fly-aways and to put the trike on a trailer for trips down to the Drakensberg etc.

At the risk of pitting the BMW-manne against their Mercedes-Benz counterparts, what would be the better choice for my first trike - Aquilla or Scout/Cobra?

Thanks
ZU - KBP Cobra

Time spent flying is not deducted from one's lifespan
DarkHelmet
Toooooo Thousand
Toooooo Thousand

Re: 1st time buyer - Aquilla vs Cobra?

Postby DarkHelmet » Wed Apr 18, 2012 9:00 pm

It is really a preference thing, what are you training on at the moment? What is more comfortable? What is your budget?

I started training on a Aerotrike Safari, bought one, lost it in the crunch, found a bargain in a Windlass, I am happy so long I can fly!
bryan
Whats the right frequency?

Postby bryan » Wed Apr 18, 2012 11:38 pm

I fly an Aquilla so I am biased, but saying that I think you are not comparing apples to apples.....cost ,speed etc. Secondly finish your training then try different trikes before making up your mind . As you gain experience your needs might change. Then thirdly, one does not put a trike on a trailer and take it somewhere, you fly the damn thing that is what it was designed to do!
Regards
Bryan Erasmus
ZU BFR
ZU EZA
ZS-NEL
Pilot in Command
Pilot in Command

Postby ZS-NEL » Wed Apr 18, 2012 11:52 pm

bryan wrote: Then thirdly, one does not put a trike on a trailer and take it somewhere, you fly the damn thing that is what it was designed to do!
So bek moet jam kry!
BeanCounter
Solo cross country
Solo cross country

Postby BeanCounter » Thu Apr 19, 2012 7:47 am