Geel Kerneels, the Pax, and the Gust Front

Asterix

Geel Kerneels, the Pax, and the Gust Front

Postby Asterix » Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:35 pm

Okay. ##

I promised to tell the story of the gustfront when I rejoined. Also, the experience that you are about to read led to serious introspection by me about flying with a pax - and recent events just served to reinforce my new convictions about taking on a passenger.

My Dad always says: "It is good to learn from your mistakes, but better to learn from others mistakes." So - please learn from this if you can - I will write in honesty without trying to save face - in return - please respect my honesty and don't shit on me too heavily. Here goes:

So, we are into the first week of January 2012. Geel Kerneels and me has been on Beginsel since arriving there from Lekoa Lodge on 17 December 2011. We have BIG plans to fly down to Volksrust and then up the escarpment to Piet Retief, up to Amsterdam, and just enjoy flying in Southern Mpumalanga, camping on airfields.

However, most mornings are fogged in, and by 11h00, if you look towards Piet Retief you can see the CB's already starting to build as the moist coastal air from Northern Natal slams into the rising ground between Piet Retief and Pongola. By 14h00 they develop into MONSTERS, and all plans of doing a fly-away in that direction is indefinitely put on ice.

I feel a bit frustrated because I can't really fly - I just bugger around the farm some afternoons, practising engine-outs and spot landings, never venturing too far from the runway. Every evening around 18h00 a gustfront from the south-east hits Beginsel as tonnes of water slams to the ground over Northern Natal.

I make peace with the fact that no fly-aways will be happening.

But a wild-card then shows: " We have a Whiner!"

For days now, my brother in laws' brother's wife, lets call her Anny, have been whining for a flip. I tell them constantly to arrive early (take-off 05h30 to 06h00) one morning when it is not fogged in, but there is always a long story about this and that, so they cannot come so early. Non- MPL's do not understand how the weather affects us.

Then one afternoon in in the first week of January, they arrive at Beginsel for different reasons altogether.

Not long - and the whining starts: "Wanneer gaan ons nou vlieg - jy belowe al weke lank."

In a moment of madness I start to contemplate a flip, and walk around the "opstal." It is about 17h00. Towards Piet Retief, surprisingly, the skies look relatively harmless for a change. North is open. West is open. Towards the North East, on the other side of Bethal there seems to be some development, but not nearly the monsters I have been looking at in the South East for days now.

So the (near) fatal chain of events start.

I go and take Geel Kerneels out of the mieliestoor, pre-flight, slap on my helmet and go for a circuit. Smooth. Hands of Smooth. From 1000ft agl I check towards Bethal, and those Cumulonimbus looks far away and not growing anymore.

So I land, I strap Anny in and of we go.

We have a lovely flight - the light quality is brilliant, all is smooth, and the earth looks lovely from up here on this summer-afternoon. We never venture more than about three miles from the field.

20 minutes later, and I establish a long finals for Beginsel. "Gaan ons nou al land?" comes the question. I can sense the disappointment in the question, and as a matter of fact, it is so smooth and beautiful that I don't actually feel like landing. So why not?

"Oukei, kom ons vlieg maar gou Heymans Kole toe vir 'n touch and go en dan kom land ons" So I point the trike south for the 5 mile flip to StaVlak (on your maps) and back.

I don't bother to glance towards the North - East....

A couple of minutes later we are two miles out to the North of StaVlak, 1000 ft agl. As I start contemplating my long finals for a touch and go, wrists resting on the bar in this smooth weather, I catch a movement towards my 11 o clock high.
What the hell? - I think to myself as I spot a pigeon, MOVING!! , 30 ft up from left to right over my nose.

I start telling Anny to check out the crazy pigeon - and I get interrupted mid-sentence by the most violent bar-movement I have ever experienced. A switch has been flipped, in a matter of one second.

Having flown hands resting - the bar is flung from me - and in a daze I try to grab it and get it back to neutral. I recover from a steep descending turn, but something does not feel right. I can feel teeth grinding kicks through the bar - it feels as if the wing has become a wild stallion, and I can actually feel it shifting between positive and negative g's!

As I get us back into straight and level I glance over my left shoulder and I go numb - the feeling you must get when staring at the barrel of your worst enemies' revolver. My bladder actually starts to relax as I contemplate the black sky over Bethal. The realization hits me like a hammer - GUSTFRONT!

I have read about it. I have been warned about it. I was told that it will hit you in a matter of ONE second. I believed - but I did not understand. NOW I understand, as I go into survival mode.

As cool as I can sound under the circumstances I tell Anny that we have encountered some turbulence and that we are going to land, and that I need to concentrate, and that she must not talk to me. I praise the Lord that I have StaVlak on my nose, a mile out, and I start flying my long approach.

Reducing power with bar a little in I try and settle on an approach at about 55 mph IAS. Suddenly, the wing starts to make that familiar whistling sound as she picks up speed, and my approach is thrown upwards. I glance down at my instruments - and again - my bladder start to relax. My IAS is climbing like hell through 60, 65, 70 , 75, approaching 80. My VSI is going + 800 f/pm. I release all power and push on the bar. NOTHING. The wing is SCREAMING!

Then suddenly, the bar goes slack. I am stalled. I KNOW it. But how can this be? I was pushing towards VNE a second ago?? I stare in amazement as my IAS drops like a rocket to 55, 45, 35. I look ahead - staring right down at the ground from about 600ft. Over my right boot - mielieblare, grass, checkers-sakke and dirt is blowing up at me from the ground and actually pelting me on the visor.

Then the wing pitches up again. And starts to whistle again. But thank God I recovered from the stall - I don't know how - but I did.

Up front I can see StaVlak and I GO for it from a 45 degree angle to the RWY. Over bloekombome and a cellphone tower at eye level, 50 ft to my right. Bugger the runway - just get on the ground. The turbulence subsides a bit and I manage to fly her onto the deck, battling to maintain glide path and direction.

As I touchdown across the runway through the freshly cut Rooigras, I turn the nose into the wind, kill the mags and pull the bar into my chest. I inform Anny that we cannot get out right away, because I can feel how Geel Kerneels is struggling not to be blown over.

On the deck. In one piece. I'll spare you the rest as we eventually get Geel Kerneels into a hangar, and I phone a very worried brother in law to tell him that we are alive, as the sun sets.

Later, he makes the 5 mile drive to collect us. Anny is chirping about how wonderful the flip was - I'm just thinking - "ignorance is bliss." Also, I can't talk as I am still trying to swallow down on the vomit that keeps on rising up.

I don't sleep that night.

Next morning, Brother in law drives me to StaVlak to collect Geel Kerneels. I go through pains in the pre-flight - expecting bent tubes and sprung wires - but nothing - he's still solid.

I fly back the 5 miles to Beginsel - not enjoying a moment - although conditions are perfect. I execute one of the best landings I have ever made, stop on the runway and get out. I go and lie down in the shade of my wing, which is moving lazily in the breeze as if saying: " come - lets fly!"

I close my eyes and thank the Lord for his deliverance. I thank Him that I may fly. And I promise Him that I will never again put the life of an innocent person in jeopardy - regardless of the amount of whining I have to listen to.

I hope that writing the above, I may save a life. Dear fellow MPL - don't go and learn for yourself - the outcome may be different.

Your friend James.
Last edited by Asterix on Fri Feb 24, 2012 7:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Asterix

Re: Geel Kerneels, the Pax, and the Gust Front

Postby Asterix » Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:40 pm

Beginsel from about 3000 ft agl
Beginsel, 8000 ft amsl.JPG
Loco

Postby Loco » Fri Feb 24, 2012 7:49 pm

WOW thanks for sharing! Amazing and sobering sequence of events...... Well done for putting her down in one piece and nobody getting hurt!

Seems like one should trust your instincts - if you have a bad "vibe" about the weather don't fly...???
Anthony Hugo

Crosswinds

Postby Bundy » Sat Feb 25, 2012 11:51 am

Jirre boet, ek kry sommer hoendervleis... :shock:

What do you think was going on (or happening with the air) when you were going through the rapid increase in IAS... then straight into a stall? Crazy stuff...

Thanks for tagging along this morning chom, had a lekker flight! Pity we could not take a picture of the standing waves we saw NE of Cullinan...never seen that before so clearly defined....glad we gave it a miss :wink:
Asterix

Postby Asterix » Sat Feb 25, 2012 2:05 pm

Hi Bundy - was lekker this morning!

I think it was severe windshear. I also think I helped to induce the stall as I pushed bar instinctively to try and bleed airspeed, then the wind shifted and left my out of airspeed. Whatever it was - it is what happens in a gustfront / line squall, apparently..
Thatchman

Postby Thatchman » Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:45 am

Nice post Asterix, thanks for sharing that.

Outside of the low flying threads, I have been getting bored with this site as for a while now as there has been little posted from which one may learn. Nice to see this post. (I know we go through phases on microlighters as well)

Don't worry James you will not get crapped on here on this site but rather thanked for allowing others to learn from your bad experience.

Postby Tailspin » Mon Feb 27, 2012 3:32 pm

Hi James

Were there any warning signs - any visual sort of signs that you picked up before you got smacked :?:

Just trying to get a pic in my Mind of what to look out for. :shock: :shock:

Postby Tumbleweed » Mon Feb 27, 2012 7:05 pm

Around this area either the sudden ice cold air or warm putrid sulpher smell.

Never turn your back on a thunderstorm thats just passed by. :oops: :)
wiskeyfoxtrot

Postby wiskeyfoxtrot » Tue Feb 28, 2012 7:22 am

Thanks for sharing Asterix, have had one incident ( not nearly as bad as yours, but similar and it scared the crap out of me )... NEVER take your eyes off a distant thunder storm ... it seems soooooo far away but before you know it ... you in the K@K, with some running down the leg of your flight suit.

Flew from George yesterday evening and the pilot was flying all over the place trying to avoid the CBs ! - if they try their best to avoid them in those big birds you must know its bad!

Glad you came out okay, and thanks for sharing.

Later (!!)
" Excuse me while i kiss the sky "

Aeroprakt A22 Foxbat
ZU - DYE
Sport Cruiser
ZU - LSA

Postby Bundy » Tue Feb 28, 2012 7:49 am

What was the distance (est of course) between you and the CB? I know there are no difinative answers here as every case is different but how far away do you recon you would have to be to be "relatively safe"?

I am such a pissie now that if I even see a large CB on the horizon I dont fly. Seen the sudden change in wind direction and speed for myself a few months ago! :shock: I watched a good friend land in the worst weather I have ever seen anyone land in. He was very lucky that day, a monumental effort to get on the ground. I had been up less than 1/2 an hour before him...storm was still far away...I was amazed at the sudden change! It scared the crap out of me... and I was on the ground! :wink:

It's also why I prefer to fly in the morning... Mother Nature gets PMS late afternoon on the highveld! :lol:
kloot piloot

Postby kloot piloot » Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:20 am

Sobering stuff James ! A gust front is no aeroplane's mate.
Were there any warning signs - any visual sort of signs that you picked up before you got smacked
Even with a CB being anything from 15 - 20km's away, always look for telltales on the ground far in front of you, between you and the cloud. Other signs while you are still flying in smooth air are your instruments, a constant increasing or decreasing of airspeed or the VSI indicating an increasing clim rate are tell tales that conditions are changing. The gust front is a result of a burst of cold air falling down below the cloud and then spreading along the ground like fire (normally at 50km/h), similar to a mini-cold front wedging in under the nice and smooth warm air you were flying in. The result being that you end up in rotor, shear and severe up and down draughts.

Slow rising smoke going flat, silver reflecting water going dark, dust in a line (squall) and even dust devils are all pre-warnings. But when leaves and bags are coming past you (as you described), you will know that it is almost too late to run. I've seen migrating birds doing emergency landings at my farm just before a gust front hit, only to continue on their flight once the ensuing storm receded.
Roel Jansen
Never say: "I should have ..."
ZU-IAR powered by BMW 1200
Asterix

Postby Asterix » Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:24 am

@ Bundy - I would estimate 20 km's away. (where the cb was - not safe distance. I think anything within 50 km I will be too scared to take off again in future) And see Kloot's description of a gust front below - that is exactly what happens. And yes - THERE IS NO ## WARNING! I did not look out for the things that kloot mentions - but in terms of the turbulence - It hits you in a second. (Obviously there IS a warning, you can see the CB miles away - so don't take off - or go and land before the gust front hits you - but in terms of the "feel" of the air - it was literally a second, maybe two, going from normal flight to all hell breaking loose)

And yes - it was too late - I was caught in it -luckily with a runway in front of me.

When I told Fanie (my ex-instructor) about what happened his eyes went very big and he said " You know you can break your wing in that?" So...afternoons in summer on the Highveld with big Cumulonimbus on the horison - you must be very careful!

Postby Big-D » Tue Feb 28, 2012 1:56 pm

Nice post Asterix vhpy Enjoyd reading it

Demon wrote "
usually strong winds and turbulence around storms...ask Big-D...
Ja, my voice becomes very high-pitch over the radio around storms as Demon will tell you, I sound a bit like the Bee Gee's :lol: :lol: :lol:

Glad you got safe on the ground Asterix

Paul Meanwell

Postby Paul Meanwell » Tue Feb 28, 2012 4:07 pm

James, sobering stuff.........

I first took to the air as a paraglider pilot (I still fly them), and my instructor always said gust fronts can travel up to 50km in front of a CB. We were always warned about them, since paraglider pilots usually fly from mid day onwards to take advantage of the best thermals.

I also attended a presentation by a very experienced paraglider pilot who watched a CB building in the distance convinced he was at a very safe distance. When he decided to land, he didn't make it to the ground. He reckons he was only 10m off the ground when the gust front hit him, at the bottom of the mountain in Hartbeespoort. It took him up into the air very quickly and there was nothing he could do. He tried spiraling, which normally can achieve a decent rate of around 18 m/s, but was still going up! He survived continuous turbulence and canopy collapses/reinflations and frightening altitude gains until the cloud spit him out, 10kms away from where it picked him up, and over the other side of the mountain.

His advice? If you can see a CB, its potentially close enough to get you!

Regards.
Drink Triple,
See Double,
Act Single!

Postby Madman » Tue Feb 28, 2012 8:35 pm

Howdy puff

This is really scary reading..makes you think twice about afternoon summer flights.

I can recall sitting at home one Sunday arvie,we live in Roodekrans,for those that don't know,it's very mountaneous,we live on top of the mountain..awesome view..but weather can be very different at home that down the road.

Well,we having lunch,very nice day..when all of a sudden a wind like I have never heard,seen or felt before pumps through,bending the palm trees,banging the doors shut...this lasted couple seconds..

Next thing there is a thick black CB right overhead..

Just the thought of getting caught in that violent gust can make anyone wanna kotch...

Well done James,glad you kept cool in hectic conditions (^^)

Safe :!: