Ferry flight to Ballito ...to Petit

ZS-NEL

Ferry flight to Ballito ...to Petit

Postby ZS-NEL » Wed Feb 15, 2012 9:43 am

Seems I'm getting a reputation now for ferrying trikes around the country. Tomorrow 16 February at 06h00 I will be off from Kitty Hawk to Ballito to deliver ZU-CMS Aerotrike Cobra to its new owner in Ballito.

The route will take me over Delmas, Standerton, Newcastle with a fuel stop at Battlefields strip. The aircraft is not transponder equiped and I will not be allowed into the King Shaka's airspace to Ballito. I will route to a rendezvous point North East of Ballito where I will meet up with another plane in mid air equipped with a transponder. In close formation we will then route to Ballito visible on the radar screens of King Shaka's air traffic controllers. :wink:
Like the PE flight I will have my BB and a backup NokiaN97 on tracking and the flight can be followed with altitude, speed and position updates every minute of the flight.

Now WHO is coming with? (^^)
Last edited by ZS-NEL on Tue Feb 28, 2012 2:12 pm, edited 2 times in total.
pietmeyer

Re: Ferry flight to Ballito

Postby pietmeyer » Wed Feb 15, 2012 1:58 pm

Geniet die trip. Wens ek kon saam maar sommige mense moet mos werk en geld in samel om daai duur Drifter camera te betaal ## ## ## ##

Wou nog altyd daai trip doen maar sal jou maar op die tracking ding moet volg en maar net droom oor so n trip vir nou (^^) (^^) (^^)

Geniet en veilig vlieg
Piet Meyer
Jabi J400 ZU-DUU (Wonderboom)
Chris

Postby Chris » Wed Feb 15, 2012 2:19 pm

Klink lekker!!!! Sal jou volg op die tracker, stuur net weet daai web site asb!!! Hoe lank is so trip????
Make every day a dream come true
Amick

Postby Amick » Wed Feb 15, 2012 2:30 pm

Can't wait for the photos.

Andrew Micklem
ZS-NEL

Postby ZS-NEL » Wed Feb 15, 2012 7:15 pm

Die link http://www.infozone.tv/index.php?option ... &Itemid=75

Just scrol down past the webcams and click on the route map.

Postby Big-D » Thu Feb 16, 2012 7:45 am

Enjoy Ouboet, CharlieMikeSierra is a great airy, I look forward to the photo's

Pietb

Postby Pietb » Thu Feb 16, 2012 8:35 am

Geniet Marius (^^) (^^)

Veilig Vlieg !!
Jab ZU-FDZ
Chris

Postby Chris » Thu Feb 16, 2012 9:39 am

Airborne from Battlefields, lekker vlieg Marius
cornell

Postby cornell » Thu Feb 16, 2012 9:46 am

Chris wrote:Airborne from Battlefields, lekker vlieg Marius

Good news he also got a absolutely stunning day (^^)
Petrol attendent in training
Chris

Postby Chris » Thu Feb 16, 2012 10:55 am

Landed!!! Well done (^^) (^^) (^^)

Postby nicow » Thu Feb 16, 2012 12:22 pm

Nou wag ons net vir die fotos... (^^)
vliegskool@hotmail.com
ZU-AWA
ZU-DMM
ZU-AJO
ZU-AWF
ZU-BAI
ZS-WOR
ZU-TCT
ZU-DOD
ZU-CIE
ZU-BIW
CHARLIE WHISKEY

Postby CHARLIE WHISKEY » Thu Feb 16, 2012 2:32 pm

Hi Marius

A Good reputation is priceless.

Thanks for helping out and delivering ZU-CMS for me to Ballito. Glad you had a nice trip.

I'm sure Cobra CMS spoiled you and "purrrrred" like a kitten all the way to the coast.

(^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^)

Thanks
Fueled by Faith.
ZS-VMP
ZU-BBR
ZU-CMS
ZS-WFT
ZU-FGR
ZU-CTS
Triker

Postby Triker » Thu Feb 16, 2012 6:34 pm

I'm sure Cobra CMS spoiled you and "purrrrred" like a kitten all the way to the coast.

Natuurlik het sy!! Dis mos `n Cobra
Ons gaan haar baie mis. Baie geluk aan die nuwe eienaar! Jy het `n moerse grand trike gekoop!!!!!!!!!
ZS-NEL

Postby ZS-NEL » Fri Feb 17, 2012 5:46 pm

It was an awesome flight. Total flying time from Kitty Hawk to Ballito was 3H45min (that excludes the 45min stop at Battlefields). Had a coffee and chat with Lourens and Nan and they reminded me of the Battlefields fly inn 12 May. So hope you all ready for this.

My average ground speed was about 80mph at some stages it was 105mph and the highest altitude was 9 676ft over the mountains at Volksrust. All in all a smooth ride except for the decent and take off from Battlefields. That's why they call it Battlefields? Just past Devon before Standerton I seriously considered turning back. Very low cloud was covering the ground for several miles. I climbed and went slightly off course to try and avoid this. I was relieved to see it opening up in front of me.

At Battlefields there was a bus full of pro soccer players and some serious soccer practising next to the runway. I had to break up the cell phone photo sessions around the plane to get going and kept on answering the same question of "Eish is theees a plane?" No, it's a flying motorbike and I'm in a hurry to deliver these snakes to Durban”, pointing to the Cobra logo on the panniers. Within seconds I could start up without shouting "clear prop" :lol:

The Rendezvous point North of Ballito and outside the KS CTR was also too bumpy for my liking. After several orbits waiting on the transponder-equipped plane to take me in, I found myself heading for Ballito carefully trying to stay inside the corridor. When I join overhead the yellow sling with Dave and Kevin was ready for take off to fetch me but did not expect me to be so fast. After a great lunch and a couple of beers on the beach front and a swim and more beers in Kevin's pool I was on Kulula back home at 19h00. Oh, and we made a quick visit to Airmagic's impressive factory but Paul was out selling stuff. (^^) Next time Paul.

Thanks Bennie for letting me fly the Cobra and for Kevin and Dave for the great time. Can't wait for the next one! (^^)
old no 7

Postby old no 7 » Fri Feb 17, 2012 8:11 pm

Nice Marius (^^)
ZU-f-ALL