Page 1 of 2

No fly-ins in Durban area?

Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 6:50 pm
by Free Spirit
There are fly-ins all over the country - even the remotest of Karoo dorps have one. Absolutely everywhere BUT in Durban and surrounding areas. Only the Battlefields one but thats not really for small planes. What's the issue here?? No clubs, jolly pubs NOTHING. Ok ok, I know there are 3 airfields but thats all - they don't even organise fly-out/ins to each other :shock: :shock: :cry: :cry:

Re: No fly-ins in Durban area?

Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 8:04 pm
by kloot piloot
It is because Sharks do not know how to mix rugby and pleasure (**)

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 8:19 am
by AndyG
Free Spirit wrote:There are fly-ins all over the country - even the remotest of Karoo dorps have one. Absolutely everywhere BUT in Durban and surrounding areas. Only the Battlefields one but thats not really for small planes. What's the issue here?? No clubs, jolly pubs NOTHING. Ok ok, I know there are 3 airfields but thats all - they don't even organise fly-out/ins to each other :shock: :shock: :cry: :cry:
Tell you what, if enough people show interest I will organise a fly in to Light Flight in Cato Ridge. We can either do a brekkie or a braai. We could also hold a spot landing or something similar, maybe a mini nav rally with the emphasis on timing and accuracy rather than speed.

Let me know if anyone is interested. (^^) (^^) (^^)

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 9:36 am
by James Bentley
There is a lot of interaction between the various airfields in KZN vhpy vhpy vhpy

most of the fly ins are arranged through EAA and not necessarily advertized on this forum (**)

We had one at Richmond a few weekends ago which was very well supported

PM me if you need info on the next one...

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 12:24 pm
by Free Spirit
Now that's the spirit AndyG. Its really difficult for newcomers to know where to go if nobody talks about it. With such stunning weather we should have a brekkie flyin every month. I am more than willing to help organise. vhpy

PS I am an EAA member...

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 1:56 pm
by Grumpy
Andy, Heard so much about Light Flight and it's reputations, I might just fly in as well. via Kulula though.

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:03 pm
by AndyG
Grumpy wrote:Andy, Heard so much about Light Flight and it's reputations, I might just fly in as well. via Kulula though.
Eish Grumps I don't know whether Kulula will get into our field. We may have to put in an arrestor bed at the end of 01 & 19.

James how would you feel about a little Nav Rally and a braai or brekkie afterwards?

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:11 pm
by James Bentley
Keen!

We need to get a few of the out of town guys to visit us

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:26 pm
by AndyG
OK

Maybe for the first one we keep it simple and just do some bacon and egg or boerie rolls with hot coffee.

I will tee up a date with Geoff and post it here and then we can take it from there.

Cheers,

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 7:47 pm
by Free Spirit
That sounds more like it vhpy vhpy vhpy. I will have to drive in as I don't have my own plane at the moment, :oops: but I will be there!!

Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 2:31 pm
by vernon11
Free Spirit wrote:There are fly-ins all over the country - even the remotest of Karoo dorps have one. Absolutely everywhere BUT in Durban and surrounding areas. Only the Battlefields one but thats not really for small planes. What's the issue here?? No clubs, jolly pubs NOTHING. Ok ok, I know there are 3 airfields but thats all - they don't even organise fly-out/ins to each other :shock: :shock: :cry: :cry:
We would like nothing more than to have a decent fly-in with breakfast, but just dont have the facilities yet. Our strip is 600mtr grass at Munster. We have quite a few planes come in from time to time, but nothing really organised. Saturday we had four Samba, and a bushbaby. I will be helping the owner soon to get things done, but it takes time.
Vernon. (^^) (^^) (^^)

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 11:24 am
by AndyG
Vernon,

Just need a gas bottle and kettle for the coffee. Some boerewors, rolls and a fire. The okes are not fussy. Just nice to get together at different places. Hope that you come up to Light Flight for the one I organise. Would love to see your Savannah and catch up with you again.

(^^) (^^)

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 1:57 pm
by vernon11
Yes Andy. I am sure it will happen soon. Lets talk after the wild coast fly away. And yeh will be good to catch up. A lot of years have passed.
Cheers,
Vernon.

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 2:03 pm
by Tumbleweed
When's the Wld Coast Fly away?

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 7:25 pm
by vernon11
Tumbleweed wrote:When's the Wld Coast Fly away?
7th - 11th July. As far as I know all accomadation is booked up. You would have to get in early next year. It is something not to be missed.
Cheers,
Vernon.