No fly-ins in Durban area?

Free Spirit
Passed radio course

No fly-ins in Durban area?

Postby Free Spirit » Tue Jun 21, 2011 6:50 pm

There are fly-ins all over the country - even the remotest of Karoo dorps have one. Absolutely everywhere BUT in Durban and surrounding areas. Only the Battlefields one but thats not really for small planes. What's the issue here?? No clubs, jolly pubs NOTHING. Ok ok, I know there are 3 airfields but thats all - they don't even organise fly-out/ins to each other :shock: :shock: :cry: :cry:
NO LIMITS
kloot piloot

Re: No fly-ins in Durban area?

Postby kloot piloot » Tue Jun 21, 2011 8:04 pm

It is because Sharks do not know how to mix rugby and pleasure (**)
Roel Jansen
Never say: "I should have ..."
ZU-IAR powered by BMW 1200

Postby AndyG » Wed Jun 22, 2011 8:19 am

Free Spirit wrote:There are fly-ins all over the country - even the remotest of Karoo dorps have one. Absolutely everywhere BUT in Durban and surrounding areas. Only the Battlefields one but thats not really for small planes. What's the issue here?? No clubs, jolly pubs NOTHING. Ok ok, I know there are 3 airfields but thats all - they don't even organise fly-out/ins to each other :shock: :shock: :cry: :cry:
Tell you what, if enough people show interest I will organise a fly in to Light Flight in Cato Ridge. We can either do a brekkie or a braai. We could also hold a spot landing or something similar, maybe a mini nav rally with the emphasis on timing and accuracy rather than speed.

Let me know if anyone is interested. (^^) (^^) (^^)
James Bentley

Postby James Bentley » Wed Jun 22, 2011 9:36 am

There is a lot of interaction between the various airfields in KZN vhpy vhpy vhpy

most of the fly ins are arranged through EAA and not necessarily advertized on this forum (**)

We had one at Richmond a few weekends ago which was very well supported

PM me if you need info on the next one...
Airfield EVA'S FIELD
Home EVA'S FIELD
Work Pietermaritzburg
Free Spirit
Passed radio course

Postby Free Spirit » Wed Jun 22, 2011 12:24 pm

Now that's the spirit AndyG. Its really difficult for newcomers to know where to go if nobody talks about it. With such stunning weather we should have a brekkie flyin every month. I am more than willing to help organise. vhpy

PS I am an EAA member...
NO LIMITS

Postby Grumpy » Wed Jun 22, 2011 1:56 pm

Andy, Heard so much about Light Flight and it's reputations, I might just fly in as well. via Kulula though.

Postby AndyG » Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:03 pm

Grumpy wrote:Andy, Heard so much about Light Flight and it's reputations, I might just fly in as well. via Kulula though.
Eish Grumps I don't know whether Kulula will get into our field. We may have to put in an arrestor bed at the end of 01 & 19.

James how would you feel about a little Nav Rally and a braai or brekkie afterwards?
James Bentley

Postby James Bentley » Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:11 pm

Keen!

We need to get a few of the out of town guys to visit us
Airfield EVA'S FIELD
Home EVA'S FIELD
Work Pietermaritzburg

Postby AndyG » Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:26 pm

OK

Maybe for the first one we keep it simple and just do some bacon and egg or boerie rolls with hot coffee.

I will tee up a date with Geoff and post it here and then we can take it from there.

Cheers,
Free Spirit
Passed radio course

Postby Free Spirit » Wed Jun 22, 2011 7:47 pm

That sounds more like it vhpy vhpy vhpy. I will have to drive in as I don't have my own plane at the moment, :oops: but I will be there!!
NO LIMITS
vernon11

Postby vernon11 » Thu Jun 23, 2011 2:31 pm

Free Spirit wrote:There are fly-ins all over the country - even the remotest of Karoo dorps have one. Absolutely everywhere BUT in Durban and surrounding areas. Only the Battlefields one but thats not really for small planes. What's the issue here?? No clubs, jolly pubs NOTHING. Ok ok, I know there are 3 airfields but thats all - they don't even organise fly-out/ins to each other :shock: :shock: :cry: :cry:
We would like nothing more than to have a decent fly-in with breakfast, but just dont have the facilities yet. Our strip is 600mtr grass at Munster. We have quite a few planes come in from time to time, but nothing really organised. Saturday we had four Samba, and a bushbaby. I will be helping the owner soon to get things done, but it takes time.
Vernon. (^^) (^^) (^^)

Postby AndyG » Fri Jun 24, 2011 11:24 am

Vernon,

Just need a gas bottle and kettle for the coffee. Some boerewors, rolls and a fire. The okes are not fussy. Just nice to get together at different places. Hope that you come up to Light Flight for the one I organise. Would love to see your Savannah and catch up with you again.

(^^) (^^)
vernon11

Postby vernon11 » Fri Jun 24, 2011 1:57 pm

Yes Andy. I am sure it will happen soon. Lets talk after the wild coast fly away. And yeh will be good to catch up. A lot of years have passed.
Cheers,
Vernon.

Postby Tumbleweed » Fri Jun 24, 2011 2:03 pm

When's the Wld Coast Fly away?
vernon11

Postby vernon11 » Fri Jun 24, 2011 7:25 pm

Tumbleweed wrote:When's the Wld Coast Fly away?
7th - 11th July. As far as I know all accomadation is booked up. You would have to get in early next year. It is something not to be missed.
Cheers,
Vernon.