Page 1 of 1

Desert Dash in the M24

Posted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 7:45 pm
by Gyronaut
So, after Christmas, Christine and I decided to go visit her best friend in the Boesmanland.
It so happens that her best friend is Leon Bower's daughter, Liezel. Many of you will know Leon who has a farm in the Kakamas district. He flies a Cessna 172 and a Magni M16 Gyro. His farm is about 40 miles south west of Kakamas which is about 40 miles south west of Upington slap bang in the middle of the Boesmanland. He has a lovely runway etc on his farm.

From Morningstar I decided the most direct route is to Loeriesfontein (2.5hrs) where Boet Loubser kindly arranged fuel for us (there and back) and then it is another 1.5hours direct to Leon's farm. 4 hours flying time one-way.

Herewith some pics of the trip I thought I would share with fellow aviation enthusiasts. Man, this is big sky country. I called it "Leeu Wereld" and Cx kept looking for the lions. :lol:

Thanks to Leon and Gesina, Boet and Annie, Liezel and Gary for a great getaway!

Len & Cx

Re: Desert Dash in the M24

Posted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 7:52 pm
by Dobbs
Hi Gyronaut, lovely photos, thanks for sharing

Posted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:32 pm
by Blue Max
Hi Gyronaut,
I wish everybody will tell us about there trips.
A area worth visiting.!!

Desert Dash in the M24

Posted: Thu Dec 30, 2010 6:26 am
by John Young
Very lekker. !!!!

Thanks.

John ZU-sEXY

Posted: Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:31 am
by mak
Nice one Len, looks like an awesome trip.

Posted: Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:13 am
by Grumpy
Lekka jaloes nou. (^^) (^^)

Posted: Thu Dec 30, 2010 12:26 pm
by Boet
Len , welkom, bel net as ek kan help. Lekker kak oorgekom. Op pad terug van die "escort vlug", vlieg met oop deur, heerlik koel en baie winderig. Waai my vlieg-geld by my sak uit. Moertoe. Darem 2 terug gekry. Ander is MIA. shucks. (**) Dem, dis DUUR om te vliee! :cry:

Posted: Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:23 pm
by Scotsman
Beautiful aerie...beautiful landscape...lucky bugger (^^)

Posted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 12:47 pm
by CFD
Nice trip Len - was up at Boet for Xmas so just missed you. Had to come home to escape the heat!

Posted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 8:31 am
by AndyG
Lekker one Len. All the best to you and Christine for the new year (^^) (^^)

Posted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 9:21 am
by Jabbanaught
Well Done Len , Looks good , Maybe we should plan a Trip and go visit Leon .