Pilot's and bikers

JvTonder

Re: Pilot's and biker's

Postby JvTonder » Fri May 14, 2010 10:09 am

falconp1 wrote:
JvTonder wrote:Ok so thought about this a bit and here is my list, if memory serves me right (**)

Hi JvTonder.

Do you still own the 41 Harley. Post some pix. I see you were more into on, off road bikes.
Yes we still have it but not in a state to take pic's off when she is I will post some. I grew up on a farm so started on off roads/dual bikes and slowly upgraded, but yes I do love them specially the XLV.
Last edited by JvTonder on Fri May 14, 2010 10:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
Flying feeds the soul!
JvTonder

Postby JvTonder » Fri May 14, 2010 10:33 am

Dish wrote:Jeepers Jv - Thats quite an impressive list.... so now begs the question to all, in two categories - street and off road, which qualifies as your all time favourite... for me, (off road) - has to be the CRF250 - 4 stroke, reliable as an old toaster and awesome fun.... closely followed by the XR200R (in its day) when pro link suspension had just come out, could wheelie that thing for weeks.... !!

also DYING to here from Rudix - I know his toy box of bikes was splitting at the seams >?? Rudix??

Dish that is a difficult question to answer, I love both, off road for plain fun and getting rid of frustration, used to ride enduro races. On road for touring and going to rallys and just causing general "amok". We grew up on a farm so started on off roads, nothing beats the sound, easy off use, low torque and usability of a Honda single 4 stroke, specially on a farm if it is used for work. Funny thing is I am a huge Suzuki fan but always ends up buying a Honda, go figure? vhpy

a Pic or two of some off them.
558F0018.jpg
558F0018.jpg (18.5 KiB) Viewed 2958 times
DSC00029.JPG
kamera 013.jpg
Flying feeds the soul!

Postby Dish » Fri May 14, 2010 10:41 am

I dont know you at all but seems to me after all those bikes the CRF 230 would be a bit pap for you ?? if your anything over 85 Kgs??? Loving the dabate raging between the 4 strokes that were all the range and the new breed of KTM's that are out. 300SXF ? two stroke - wow - fantastic bike....

saw a guy at de wildt about a year ago, riding a stock standard 200R in GREAT condition, immaculate.... oke said that he had had it since 1983 and barring a few normal glitches that motor had been running perfectly - Like kevin hopper once said about my Jabiru motor, OIL it, Fuel it and Cool it and it will not give up - vhpy vhpy
wildthing

Postby wildthing » Fri May 14, 2010 1:34 pm

falconp1 wrote:Howzit Low Level.

The one and only Kawa I owned was a Lawson replica KZ1000R back in the early 80's. Blow my mind the first time i did 200kmh. Found this on the web. To lazy to find my own foto's then scan right now. The foto of your wife look,s like somewhere in ET. Paradise rallye. Best rally of the year, because of the twisties. Just go to the rally site to look at other bike,s then it's back to the twistie's. Did a lot of racing in the 80's and 90's. Had the time of my life.

This brings back memories, After my Moto Guzzi 850 Le Mans my first proper superbike was a Kawa Eddie Lawson replica They were numberd, mine was # 076, wonder what happend to that one, this was followed by only Honda,s CB900F, CB900F2, CB1100RC, 900 Fireblade, 929 Fireblade, 956 Fireblade and a mountainbike.

Pierre
tsotsi

Postby tsotsi » Fri May 14, 2010 1:38 pm

Difficult to answer Dish, but I think the Kawa is my favourite despite my huge respect for the R6 I had, unlike the not so nice YZF1000
IMG_0801 (Small).JPG
ZZR1200
Last edited by tsotsi on Sun May 16, 2010 1:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Fly by wire
Bennie Vorster

Postby Bennie Vorster » Sat May 15, 2010 5:50 pm

Growing old is far more dangerous than flying !!!
Bennie Vorster
083 277 5110
Mogas

Postby Mogas » Sat May 15, 2010 8:52 pm

Here's my list starting in about 1973, the ones that I can remember, have not been without at least one bike since then.
175cc BSA Bantam Major
50cc Suzuki
Triumph 500 Tiger
T500 Suzuki
GT550 Suzuki
Matchless 500
CR250 Honda
DT175 Yamaha
XR200R Honda
CB900F Honda
IT250 Yamaha
XT600E Yamaha
CBX1000 Honda
XR250R Honda (two of them)
FZR1000 Yamaha
GS1200R Adv BMW
and my latest XRV750 Honda Africa Twin
AT.jpg
AT.jpg (46.08 KiB) Viewed 2884 times
Nottaquitta
JvTonder

Postby JvTonder » Sat May 15, 2010 9:06 pm

Nice Mogas, wanneer gaan ons ry?
Flying feeds the soul!
Mogas

Postby Mogas » Sun May 16, 2010 1:23 am

JvTonder wrote:Nice Mogas, wanneer gaan ons ry?
Eish, looking forward to a nice long bike ride, too much work, too little time. Come visit at Komati on your XRV vhpy
Nottaquitta
JvTonder

Postby JvTonder » Tue May 18, 2010 9:19 am

Mogas wrote:
JvTonder wrote:Nice Mogas, wanneer gaan ons ry?
Eish, looking forward to a nice long bike ride, too much work, too little time. Come visit at Komati on your XRV vhpy

Would love to but sold my XLV (not XRV, different animal). Still have the ST1300 and Blackbird and just might come down for a weekend.
Flying feeds the soul!
Tracer

Postby Tracer » Wed May 19, 2010 8:35 pm

At last got my DL650, today!!!!
100_0989_s.jpg
100_0989_s.jpg (58.12 KiB) Viewed 2782 times
100_0990_s.jpg
100_0990_s.jpg (60.92 KiB) Viewed 2782 times
Nacho
Survived second engine out

Postby Nacho » Thu May 20, 2010 10:15 am

Nice bike Herman. Will give you many happy riding hours. One of the best bikes in its class. Did a few trips down to George and Knysna with mine. Also did the seven passes in Knysna, no hassles. I remember a 1200GS trying to take me on with my DL650. Well at 200km/ph he still couldnt leave me behind ##

Invest in a belly pan, to protect you engine from stones. Even on the normal tar roads I will suggest you get this. Not that expensive.

Did a trip to the Drakensburg last week, unfortunately by myself, but still enjoyed it. Next time you must bring Betty. (^^)
x1.jpg
x1.jpg (55.24 KiB) Viewed 2765 times
x2.jpg
x3.jpg
WvB aka Nacho
wvbosch@gmail.com
ZU-FFS (-)

Postby Big-D » Thu May 20, 2010 10:45 am

Nice bike Tracer - Have not taken a V-Strom for a spin but sat on one and very comfy, must say

Think it is time for major microlighters bike-get together (!!)

Tracer

Postby Tracer » Thu May 20, 2010 10:58 am

Nacho wrote:Nice bike Herman. Will give you many happy riding hours. One of the best bikes in its class. Did a few trips down to George and Knysna with mine. Also did the seven passes in Knysna, no hassles. I remember a 1200GS trying to take me on with my DL650. Well at 200km/ph he still couldnt leave me behind ##

Invest in a belly pan, to protect you engine from stones. Even on the normal tar roads I will suggest you get this. Not that expensive.

Did a trip to the Drakensburg last week, unfortunately by myself, but still enjoyed it. Next time you must bring Betty. (^^)
I will definetly get a Bash Plate, bit of a mis-communication with the dealer on that one!! Now we can go for a ride sometime, we should arrange something!
Nacho

Postby Nacho » Thu May 20, 2010 11:16 am

Jy hoef my nie 2 keer te nooi nie (^^)
x5.jpg
WvB aka Nacho
wvbosch@gmail.com
ZU-FFS (-)