Pilot's and bikers

Koevoet

Re: Pilot's and biker's

Postby Koevoet » Tue May 04, 2010 7:38 pm

Suzuki 750 Katana 1982 - was stolen and found it back - locks broken and got couple dents - so I stripped it - at this stage still in boxes - will one day fix it again. Must agree - gave me much joy.
Jaco
Nothing is impossible in life.
Very happy Scout Piloooot
http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/home ... p_activity
falconp1

Postby falconp1 » Tue May 04, 2010 8:05 pm

Koevoet wrote:Suzuki 750 Katana 1982 - was stolen and found it back - locks broken and got couple dents - so I stripped it - at this stage still in boxes - will one day fix it again. Must agree - gave me much joy.
Jaco
Howzit Jaco

That bike looked like it came from out of space when it arrived here. Very quick with a bullet proof motor. Did your's come out with mag wheel's or spoke wheel's
ZS-WVD CONDOR
ZU-CIW Challenger 11
freddievanrooyen@yahoo.com
Koevoet

Postby Koevoet » Tue May 04, 2010 8:27 pm

mag wheel's - wiil search for a pic in my photo scans
Slabfish

Postby Slabfish » Tue May 04, 2010 8:30 pm

Difficult to decide who`s enjoying themselves the most !
6yamaha.jpg
Clem Slabbert from FAPX
ZS WPF Mizer-Sold
ZU EKP Jora-Sold
ZU CWE Jora-Sold
ZU IAC New Jora
Koevoet

Postby Koevoet » Tue May 04, 2010 8:32 pm

Slabfish
Difficult to decide who`s enjoying themselves the most
agree with u -
If it was me flying - envy them riding there, and if it was me riding - envy them flying. Love doing both... vhpy vhpy
Slabfish

Postby Slabfish » Tue May 04, 2010 8:51 pm

My latest addition to the family :)
KLR-650 059.jpg
Clem Slabbert from FAPX
ZS WPF Mizer-Sold
ZU EKP Jora-Sold
ZU CWE Jora-Sold
ZU IAC New Jora
falconp1

Postby falconp1 » Tue May 04, 2010 9:00 pm

Slabfish wrote:My latest addition to the family :)

See you've got lot's of admirer's
ZS-WVD CONDOR
ZU-CIW Challenger 11

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Tue May 04, 2010 9:06 pm

Slabfish wrote:Difficult to decide who`s enjoying themselves the most !

Def the pax with the Shotgun culling the bikers :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby AndyG » Tue May 04, 2010 10:22 pm

I also owned a Katana 1100h scared the shite out of me, sold it after 2 weeks, did do 230km on it though!!

Postby John Boucher » Wed May 05, 2010 8:49 am

I started out on a Honda MB50..... and in order of ownership since the age of 16 what I have owned in the biking scene

Honda MB50
Honda MBX50
Yamaha RD350LC
Honda XL500S
Kawasaki ZZR600
Suzuki TL1000R (fun fun fun...... more fun)
Kawasaki ZX 9 (D-model)
Kawasakie ZX 9 (E-model like Low Level's and still pissed off because I sold her to pay VAT)
Honda CRF450R3
Bombardier DS650 (Sold due to some aviation induced divorce syndrome!)
BMW GS 650 Dakar (Sold due to some aviation induced divorce syndrome!)

I almost acquired a 2007 Kawasaki ZX12R very recently but the owner woke up but would take a Honda Varadero any day.....
TL Wheelie.jpg
My favourite position
TL Wheelie.jpg (4.33 KiB) Viewed 2188 times
ZX9 Burnout.jpg
A lekker burnout
ZX9 Burnout.jpg (4.54 KiB) Viewed 2188 times
JvTonder

Postby JvTonder » Wed May 05, 2010 11:32 am

Love them both, started riding at age 4 and flying at age one with dad and never stopped. Had to many to mention but at the moment riding a Blackbird (my second one) and a ST1300.

That's me and the wife after new years on the way home stopping at Old Joe, we enjoy riding in the Eastern Transvaal. She is on the Suzuki VX800 that i still had back then.
Des08-Jan09Edit 027.JPG
Pa se nuwe speelding 003.jpg
Flying feeds the soul!
falconp1

Postby falconp1 » Wed May 05, 2010 11:49 am

Howzit John.

I see you owned one of my favourite's. The RD 350 LC. I prefered the first LC to the power valve that came out afterwards. I never owned a 50.

My bike's in order from 1976.

Yamaha 125 1968 .
My dad surprised me one day with a box of part's. Said that if i really want a bike that bad i will put it together myself. Still had to pay him back the R30.00 he payed for it. Just so happened that i had R30.00 saved with my Standard Bank stamp book. Does anyone remember the 2 and a half cent that you paid your teacher every Tuesday then she would stick a stamp in you savings book. One book would amount to R10.00.

Yamaha RD 350 air cooled
Yamaha RD 350 LC X 2
Yamaha RD 350 LC Power valve X 2
Kawazaki KZ 1000 R lawson rep no. 143
Honda VFR 750 R V4
Honda NSR 400 R
Kawazaki Z1300
Suzuki RGV 250 x2
Honda RC 30 VFR The most awesome bike i have ever ridden .
Suzuki 600 GSXR 600 SRAD X2
Suzuki 750 GSXR SRAD

Wow that took some effort. I would really like to do the Paradise rally this year. I once flew my Falcon P1 to the Paradise. Unforgettable experience
Last edited by falconp1 on Thu May 06, 2010 10:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
ZS-WVD CONDOR
ZU-CIW Challenger 11

Postby John Boucher » Wed May 05, 2010 12:04 pm

Hey Falcon....

I had a Black RD350LC with DG performance pipes. That time we were caught up in racing 50's and really did a lot of experimentation on porting / reed valves / induction etc. I used Honda 750 valve springs in the clutch to be able to handle the pull up. Man.... she was a beast. I remember at the time there were some okes with Honda 900F Boldor's in Kimberley. Ran circles around them with the screamer. The cops used to hate me for being able to outrun them on any given day!

Shame....

After my serious accident returning from the first GP at Kyalami in 1983 (Freddie Spencer was the king of the races that weekend!) I tried to convince my father that I wanted a RD500 (which also later became the RZ as you know) but was told in his eloquent manner to F-Off (My father never uttered a swear word besides calling Baas Ted a few times) Ek begin sommer weer huil.... :(

Postby Low Level » Wed May 05, 2010 2:05 pm

falconp1 wrote:The one and only Kawa I owned was a Lawson replica KZ1000R back in the early 80's.
Geez I loved the Lawson replica , colours and cut seat. At that stage I couldn't afford it, but I had a 1000J which I bought for R 300 on auction - my brother who did customized sprayjobs - converted to a Lawson replica. :lol:

Later on I got hold of a pranged ZX 1100, so I converted the J to monoshock and a full fairing - black. In '85 I got hold of a turbocharged 1000 ST, so the turbo gets stripped, 1000J crank welded, Wiseco pistons and voila my first 250 km/h + motorbike. Never knew the top speed, but it was geared for 280 km/h. Did a 247 km/h on Tarlton 800m. In those days they ran from the bottom through the traps and used the drag strip for slowing down.

As wobbly as the J was at 200 km/h, the stable it was at 250 with the shock and fairing conversion.
falconp1 wrote:The foto of your wife look,s like somewhere in ET. Paradise rallye. Best rally of the year, because of the twisties.
Yip, :wink: when the paradise was still at Numbi, Hazyview - 1999. Those days we went to ET about once in two months - camped at Pilgrims rest and spent the whole day between Graskop, Hazyview and Sabie - man those roads :mrgreen: :mrgreen: .
John Boucher wrote:I started out on a Honda MB50.....
That was one of biggest biking mistakes in my life. I started off on a Honda SS 50 which I bought in boxes and build it up. When I turned 16 the MB and MT 50 were just launched and I sold the SS 50. I was selling Transvaler newspapers to the miners - grew up in Orkney - in the morning and delivering the Vaderland in the afternoon to buy meself a decent bike. My dad the - wise one - advised me to buy the MB 100. Why buy a 50 if you can get a 100 for the exact same price - R 699.00. vhpy I followed his advise and missed out on all the dicing with the Suzuki RG 50's and later the Kawa AR 50 :? , and being a small town the cops knew us on our first names, so I was ducking cops the whole time. ##

But still the best times of ones life - the 50 days.

My biking history:
Honda SS 50
Honda MB 100
Kawasaki Z 250 when I came to varsity in Pretoria.
Kawasaki Z 900 - with spokes. :lol:
Kawasaki 1000 J - later converted to monoshock and turbocharged.
Kawasaki GPz 750 B2
Suzuki GSX 1100 :oops: - for about 3 months - got it at a bargain price
Kawasaki ZX 1100
Yamaha Jog 50 - my scooter days started. 8) Lekka roundabout in Pretoria.
'93 - Moved to Arnot power station near Middelburg and bought a Honda Lead 50 scooter to commute between the village and the power station and a Yamaha FZR 750 to see my GF in Pretoria.
In '96 back in Pretoria - Kawasaki ZX 1100
Kawasaki ZX 900 - '84 model - the first Ninjas
' 97 Kawasaki ZX 900 - D model - my first serious superbike and seriously expensive. Fortunately no wife, so I could spent my whole salary on a bike and beer. (^^)
' 99 Kawasaki ZX 900 - B2 - the one with my wife. Was sadly written off at 60 km/h. :(
2001 Kawasaki ZX 900 - B2
2004 Kawasaki ZX 10 R. Sold because of high mileage, but bought the exact same - cause I LOVE this bike.
2004 Kawasaki ZX 10 R
Recently went through an Eagle wing 125 scooter and then 150 Jonway Scooter for commuting. Chinese stuff don't last. 7000 km and they are scrap.
Bought a Vespa 200 for commuting - ex Lancet deliveries - 75 000 km on the clock - and it is perfect running order. Now I'm saving the Kawa a bit for the seeerious fun and the odd trip to work when in the mood, or have a bit further to travel. :wink:
falconp1

Postby falconp1 » Wed May 05, 2010 2:08 pm

Hey John

I wanted black but they only had white. Was on a four day pass from 7 SAI so could'nt wait. The salesman still wanted to show me were the kick start was and ignition switch and i was out the door already. Saw on the back of my army pass book were i entered the fuel consumption that i was getting 14.7L per 100 km at 130kmh . Must look for fotos and scan them. Was that the day Freddie won on the 250 and 350. I think it was Mario Radermeyer that gave him stick that day. Lekker day's
ZS-WVD CONDOR
ZU-CIW Challenger 11