CAPE TRIKERS

Re: CAPE TRIKERS

Postby Gyronaut » Fri Mar 12, 2010 7:51 am

I'll be there in ZU-RDR (even though its not a trike) for sure!

Len

Postby John Boucher » Fri Mar 12, 2010 8:58 am

Hope you guys have a lekker day.... Just a word of caution though if I may :idea:

SAFETY
WITH AIRCRAFT CONVERGING ON A SINGLE CIRCUIT - KEEP A GOOD LOOKOUT!
SAFETY
FAMILIARISE/VISUALISE THE CIRCUIT YOU ARE ENTERING AND THE JOINING PROCEDURE!
SAFETY
COMMUNICATE however DON'T HOG THE FREQUENCY WITH BANTER & JABBER - KEEP IT BRIEF!
SAFETY
LISTEN OUT before KEYING THE PTT & KNOW ALREADY WHAT YOU WANT TO SAY!
SAFETY
DO A GO-AROUND IF YOU ARE NOT COMFORTABLE WITH LANDING OR TOO HOT!
SAFETY
YOU STOP FLYING WHEN THE AIRCRAFT IS STATIONARY IN IT'S PARKING SPOT, ENGINE NOT RUNNING, MAGS OFF, MASTER OFF!
SAFETY

Anything to add - PLEASE DO TO MAKE THIS A SAFE FLY-IN!

http://www.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/fin ... y=Saturday
Ranger

Postby Ranger » Fri Mar 12, 2010 4:41 pm

John, you are so correct regarding the safety issue. On busy days at airfields it can get hectic. I've been lucky to have flown into controlled airfields and concider myself quite competent when it comes to radio procedures, joining procedures and so on. Very seldom do I hear guys broadcasting not nesseccary but helpfull information like no.1 or no. 2 .............in the circuit etc. I've come to realize that for some pilots it's almost like a phobia broadcasting information. Then you get the chatter boxes who hog the relevant frequency with info like, " Hey boet you must bring meat for the braai". Yes, nesseccary information but out of place except on 123.45 ##. Maybe we can get trainee ATC boytjies to have some fun. We can invite them to a braai or informal fly-in sothat they can man a handheld and get some order at these gatherings. It can only improve safety.
I sometimes get confused............But i'm not sure

Postby John Boucher » Fri Mar 12, 2010 5:04 pm

Shot Ranger.... I am sure the ATC's would love to be a part of such an event. It would however be un-official otherwise you would have to NOTAM it etc. You would still be landing at OWN DISCRETION but would be more organised. Something Grumpy could discuss with Goffel methinks! Will also get the guys NOT TO BE AFRAID of ATC procedures then!

I started initiating such a program as Safety Officer at John Weston in Kimberley but relocated before it came to fruition.

Ask Len (JetRanger) how the ATC's would grasp any opportunity to fly with when there was an open seat in the chopper!
Jabbanaught

Postby Jabbanaught » Sat Mar 13, 2010 2:52 pm

Thanks Grumpy .

Maybe our next effort should be to invite some ATC guys to come fly with US .

Nice seeing all you guys again .

Paul
Autogyro - Calidus ZU- ???
Magni M22 - ZU EGA

Postby Gyronaut » Sat Mar 13, 2010 3:57 pm

Pleasant 'drop in' at Wintervogel this morning! The weather was perfect, the pie was good, the coffee was good and the company was excellent. Nice to put faces to some of the nicknames on here. I didn't take any photographs, but I am sure someone else did and will post them.

Two fixed wings from Morningstar popped in and landed to say hi. Several others flew overhead but chose not to land.

Three Gyro's RDL (Dave Lehr), DUO (Paul Roux) and RDR (Moi) were welcomed by the 'trikers' and flew from there to Fisantekraal in formation. (We knew Louis would be watching so our procedures were impeccable :lol: )

Well done Grumpy (soon to be renamed Happy) for this initiative, lets hope it becomes a more regular, better attended way to meet and greet other like minded aviators.
=D*
Last edited by Gyronaut on Sat Mar 13, 2010 6:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
THI

Postby THI » Sat Mar 13, 2010 4:40 pm

Thanks again Grumpy! Was lekke!

Here some pics
IMG_5395 (Small).JPG
Hans doing pre flight
IMG_5397 (Small).JPG
Grympy doing pre flight
IMG_5398 (Small).JPG
What a view!
IMG_5404 (Small).JPG
Grumpy returned
IMG_5419 (Small).JPG
Paul (Jabie 430) joined us
IMG_5424 (Small).JPG
Len (JetRanger) and Paul (Jabie430) warming for their return flight
IMG_5425 (Small).JPG
Dave (Learjet) warming up for return flight
Thinus Enslin
Potchefstroom (FAPS)
ZU-CML
Sycamore MK1 - Hilux of the gyros
Would love a RV10 though...
Bayliner

Postby Bayliner » Sat Mar 13, 2010 10:33 pm

Sounded successful. Looks like all had a good time. I was up at about 06H30 and the weather was perfect. I was going to drive in but decided to stay and work on my trike. Trike is now ready for the wing after making some mods to the fairing to accomodate the nose wheel that has been moved forward a few inches. Worked the whole day until sun down but achieved a satisfactory result. Cannot wait to join in again and re-new a couple of acquaintenances. But first for those exams .........

Postby John Boucher » Sun Mar 14, 2010 8:16 am

That's the spirit Bayliner! (^^)

As for Hans doing a "pre-flight" with the chopping mill running - eish (**)

Pleased to hear you guys had a good time! vhpy
V

Postby V » Sun Mar 14, 2010 11:49 am

Thanks Grumpy for organising everything, incl. the great flying weather and the lekker pepper-steak pies and thanks everyone for the warm Welcome at Wintervogel! (It'll be Diemerskraal's turn one of these days :)

Cheers,

V.
Bacchus

Postby Bacchus » Sun Mar 14, 2010 12:02 pm

John Boucher wrote:That's the spirit Bayliner! (^^)

As for Hans doing a "pre-flight" with the chopping mill running - eish (**)

Pleased to hear you guys had a good time! vhpy
Thats more like an engine warm up!
ZU-GFC COBRA
FO Gyro

Postby FO Gyro » Sun Mar 14, 2010 10:35 pm

Sorry I couldn't make it, I had to fly to JNB and back for Spoories. Will join you guys next time I'm off.
Glenn Poley
ex ZU-AWE Windlass Trike
ex ZU-AOA VPM M16 Gyro
ex ZU-BPU Sycamore Gyro
ex ZU-ATC VPM M16 with Rotax 914 Gyro
ex ZU-GJP MT-03 Gyro
ex ZU-NPC RV9A
ZU-RJR Magni M24 Orion Gyro

Postby AndyG » Mon Mar 15, 2010 7:34 am

Nice one guys (^^) (^^)

Postby Grumpy » Mon Mar 15, 2010 8:42 am

Yeah was a good one. Thanks to all who attended. (^^) (^^)
All in all 15 visitors. vhpy vhpy
Just enough for a 'First' and to get the hang of things. This 'DROP INN' is bound to become quite a popular event in future. ($$) ($$)
Some great suggestions of alternative places who wish to host us.
In the pipeline are Moreson, Franschoek, Diemerskraal, Mooreesburg, Aurora, CT International, CT ATC tower, Robben Island, Ysterplaat, Langebaan Weg Military, Plus plus, Working on logistics and permissions. Watch this space.
THI

Postby THI » Mon Mar 15, 2010 8:50 am

Grumpy wrote:Yeah was a good one. Thanks to all who attended. (^^) (^^)
All in all 15 visitors. vhpy vhpy
Just enough for a 'First' and to get the hang of things. This 'DROP INN' is bound to become quite a popular event in future. ($$) ($$)
Some great suggestions of alternative places who wish to host us.
In the pipeline are Moreson, Franschoek, Diemerskraal, Mooreesburg, Aurora, CT International, CT ATC tower, Robben Island, Ysterplaat, Langebaan Weg Military, Plus plus, Working on logistics and permissions. Watch this space.

Robben Island? You must kiss some serious butt...
Thinus Enslin
Potchefstroom (FAPS)
ZU-CML
Sycamore MK1 - Hilux of the gyros
Would love a RV10 though...