Page 1 of 2
Thunder storm and some heavy winds
Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 6:24 am
by pietmeyer
On Wednesday I flew my trike from Centurion to Lichtenburg in the morning and noticed that the wind started to pick up when I got there. In the afternoon the wind turned into a fairly heavy but constant wind from the west. Phoned Lanceria for a weather update and then took off on the trip back to Centurion. Close to Koster the wind changed and a heavy wind from the north caught up with me. Had a few scary moments in the air, dodged a few rain clouds and looked for alternative landing area.
I managed to land at Crosswinds to meet up with Trevor Davies who offered me some hanager space. What a great guy. This is what makes microlighting fun. Good people always willing to help. My friend Tracer came to pick me up. Needless to say I was still shaking an hour or so after I touched down.
Thanks Trevor and Tracer.
I do not think that there is another group of people out there like the microlighters. I am proud to be part of such a community
Re: Thunder storm and some heavy winds
Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 6:59 am
by Big-D
Ja, similar incident with me in Cullinan (Jag) - Okes always willing to help
Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 7:07 am
by wiskeyfoxtrot
Hey Piet,
Its called a warm hotel room with "alternative " entertainment.
Glad you got out of that one okay !
Later
Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 7:43 am
by Tracer
No problem...... Just felt weird driving to Crosswinds and not flying

Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 7:53 am
by Big-D
Speaking of storms:
I have shared this some time ago - One day I was at Aviators Airfield with storm brewing outside, wind so bad that the hanger doors were SHAKING violently - Next thing I hear a trike overhead, it was IMPOSSIBLE for anyone to fly in that pre-storm-wind and survive.....I started praying for the oke and heard woman at the clubhouse scream in terror watching the poor guy try to land but he got MO@ERed by mountain rotor and had to abort landing - Dale from AP radio's him to land in Brits, he responded calmly and flew to Brits and landed no problem
Found out weeks later it was our mate STray dog - Let me tell you, I have never seen anything like it - Courage under fire (And a GT450)

Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 10:21 am
by Dish
Stray dog flies his plane lads ... a hell of a pilot - doesnt take chances but doesnt easily get rattled either...
if he was rattled then condidtions must have been abismal !!!
Fly safe boys - the weather turns fast these days !!
Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 10:52 am
by AndyG
Don't worry Dish, the only storm you will see is in a teacup

Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:02 am
by Dish
Gee leftseat - you put a hell of a lot of thought into that comment - CHOP... yeah listen seriously the bantam is to slow to out run storms so i gotta be very careful - cabbage patch tea cup flyer -???? thas me.. !!
Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:13 am
by Thatchman
Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:18 am
by Big-D
[quote][cabbage patch tea cup flyer -???? thas me.. !!/quote]
Kaaaa*k, Tommorow Zebula China - Nothing cabbage patch about that

Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 12:32 pm
by Dish
Yep WX depending a trip to Zebula is on the cards - quite a lekker trip -
Will call you later to discuss the details..
Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 2:32 pm
by topflight
Maybe we must start a list (almost like the guys on AVCOM) where one can find help if stuck at some remote place??
Posted: Sun Oct 25, 2009 1:47 pm
by vernon11
topflight wrote:Maybe we must start a list (almost like the guys on AVCOM) where one can find help if stuck at some remote place??
I will start.
If you are in the Port Edward area. My number is 0834598673.
Fly safe.
Vernon.
Posted: Sun Oct 25, 2009 2:25 pm
by RV4ker (RIP)
Harties (Coves) or Vryburg area
George oh 82 882 three755 (sms works best. I tend to ignore numbers I don't know and especially "private no" callers

)
Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 7:22 am
by AndyG
Cato Ridge and highway area,(KZN)
oh72eight68four 5 nine too
Can help obtain fuel, transport, accom etc or just put you onto the right people.