Flooi
Survived first engine out

Cheetah or Bushbaby?

Postby Flooi » Mon Jul 13, 2009 10:03 am

I knwo this is a can of worms.....

BUT.... if you had to choose: Would you
go for a 912S Cheetah or a 912S Bushbaby?
What is your opinion?

:roll:

Re: Cheetah or Bushbaby?

Postby Morph » Mon Jul 13, 2009 10:10 am

Chicken or beef?

They are both awesome planes, perfomance similar.

What do you want to compare?
Do you want to buy or build?
Do you want a quick build or a slow build?
how much money you have?

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Mon Jul 13, 2009 10:10 am

The one with the tailwheel :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Stephan van Tonder

Postby Stephan van Tonder » Mon Jul 13, 2009 11:52 am

You can do both in tail wheel or nose wheel. Shouldn't influence the descision. This is truly a personal taste issue. Both planes have pro's and both have cons and both are very similar in what they achieve in speed, Climb performance, runway usage etc. My only suggestion is - speak to current owners - get an idea of what kind of maintenance they do - go and beg/borrow or steal a flip or three in each - feel what they are like and then make your descision from there. Most of the opinion you will get here will be from people that already has a preference(or vested interest) of some sort in dealing with them already. If you see my avatar you'll see what I prefer. The reason I choose the cheetah are these.
1) ease and speed of building if you start both from scratch - cheetah much faster and less specialised
2) covering is a case of pulling sleeves over and much easier to replace one day.
3) Comfort and ease of entry/exit. (this somewhat improved on the safari/explorer)
4) Factory is local to where we are.
5) Slightly cheaper
6) I personally likethe look and cockpit layout(centre stick) of the cheetah more.
7) cheetah more comfortable for big people(also improved on the later models of the bushbaby)
8) I just like the way it flies as well
For me the only thing that I hate on the cheetah is the useless brakes - but apparently being worked on.
Nuts about Cheetahs. Petit is the place.

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Mon Jul 13, 2009 12:21 pm

:oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:

I prefer the tailwheelers and that does not amke a whole lotta difference to any of them. Tricycle will be more popular... (Have a look at the Jab's. 100's flying and only 2 taillies in SA)

Match mission and Budget. (I would say these are almost exactly the same.... and it will come down to personal choice)
For me I would go Bush Baby, but I have 1 so these is bias? Having said that I have more hrs on Cheetah than on BB and those of both models I have flown are earlier models. I know many of the issues have been sorted out since then so depends if it new or old model as well..... I did not build either so it is purely from a flying perspective...

What I like about the BB.
Cheap, simple, easy to fly and has penetration.
It feels sturdy.
Fold wings & is trailerable....
Competitive pricing...
Awesome support although Boet, Stefan & Rick are a long way away...

What I dislike about the BB
Slow (but that is relative)
Contortion to get in and out.
RATTEX

What I like about the Cheetah.
Cheap, simple, easy to fly.
Competitive pricing...
Great support (local for the GP boys)

What I dislike about the Cheetah
Slow (but that is relative)
Contortion to get in and out.
Crappy door handle/locking mechanism.
Dash to horizon takes plenty getting used to if you are used to a "flat top" dash
Throttle set-up on the armrests is ...
Centre stick - gets in way for training when you have the Y handle fitted. (Arm rest makes for lekka X country through)
Lack of penetration....
RATTEX

All in all it much of a muchness, but I prefer the steel type frame in case of oopsie. Wind seems (I say seems and it a beeeg Maybe) to affect the BB slightly less but that is prob just me (KAK pilot).... I have done long trips in both and I found both uncomfortable :oops: :oops: :oops: (legs were all 3+hrs), but the BB slightly less so after adding 3 inches of foam under butt..... May just have been seat design since most customise them a bit and the new Cheetah seats seem more confi..... I am not the biggest bloke, but def a couple craps behind and getting in and out of both is :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

GO FLY BOTH. Not for a circuit. Organise insurane and see if you can find one to rent for a weekend. Then fly it the whole weekend doing what you intend doing with it... If you gonna fly X country then fly Xcountry and see what happens... If you going om die dam then go om die dam and see....

my 2c... Both local lekka products. I simply prefer the look and feel of the BB. Having said that I would take the taillie Cheetah over a nosie BB .... xxx puff

Postby Boet » Mon Jul 13, 2009 6:11 pm

Busy building one for self. vhpy Explorer. Look at the pix and decide..........
DIM nosey.JPG
DIM nosey.JPG (33.42 KiB) Viewed 2200 times
DIM taily.JPG
DIM taily.JPG (59.99 KiB) Viewed 2200 times
Stephan van Tonder

Postby Stephan van Tonder » Mon Jul 13, 2009 8:09 pm

Must say this is one airplane that just looks wrong with a nosewheel. If I EVER buy one it will be a taildragger.
Nuts about Cheetahs. Petit is the place.

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Mon Jul 13, 2009 10:05 pm

RV4ker wrote:The one with the tailwheel :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
he he he

As I was saying....

PS
IMHO Cheetah not much better looking with nose dragger vs Tailie :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
Rudix

Postby Rudix » Tue Jul 14, 2009 5:54 am

Stephan van Tonder wrote:Must say this is one airplane that just looks wrong with a nosewheel. If I EVER buy one it will be a taildragger.

True, but I think the Cheetah looks even worse as a nose wheel, the spidery long legs and HUGE nose wheel fairing :shock: No wonder they need additional fin area..... The whole landing gear looks a bit out of proportion to me.

The Cheetah taildragger looks and flies great, a buddy had a 582 powered one and it flew VERY well.

Both great planes though so to each his own....

Fly safe,
"Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic." ;)
Willie

Postby Willie » Sat Jul 18, 2009 6:42 pm

Are only Rotax engines allowed in Cheetahs?
Does the Cheetah fly the same speed as a Bushbaby?
Is the fabric life the same?
http://www.africa-24.com/results3.php?p ... pa=fe_path
ZS-APM C182
ZS-UJC Hatz
ZS-VTV Thunderbird MK4
ZU-EJD Thorp T-18
ZS-PPT Tecnam Sierra
ZS-UGS VP2
ZS-UNC KR2
ZS-AEG Trike (Crashed @ Hippo Pools))
ZS-DMW Tripacer Crashed 1985
Sukkelaar

Postby Sukkelaar » Sun Jul 19, 2009 8:47 am

Ive seen some with Jabi's in them. And they sound wonderful.

Sukkelaar
Kyk Noord

Postby John Boucher » Sun Jul 19, 2009 11:28 am

I own a Cheetah and would love to have a Jab3300 up front...

Will not badmouth the Bush Baby or I'll have Boet sit on me :shock:

Jokes aside - Fly them both and not just for an hour or so.... Test them both out on a cross country, test it in calm conditions as well as windy. Do your financial calcs, weigh up the odds and then go for it!

The main thing is to FLY (safely) and ENJOY it be it in a Cheetah, BB, Thunderbird, Challenger..... whatever! vhpy

Postby Boet » Wed Jul 22, 2009 9:58 pm

Wise man. ...... Won`t have a face to sit on. :evil: NOT badmouthing or bashing ANY other product, But wish to point out that we have a fabric life of at least 12 - 15 tears, depending on how well you look after your Bushbaby. Some call them "twitchy". I call them very "responsive", with heaps and loads of pilot controll authority. That makes for a plane that can handle shitty flying conditions with ease. (Depends on pilot ability!) (!!)
I have flown my BB`s for joy on days when NO ONE else was out, flying. And enjoying myself. vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy Have you ever felt what it feels like to be flying backwards??? :shock: :wink: (^^)

Postby John Boucher » Wed Jul 22, 2009 10:37 pm

Would that be a sight to see Boet - JB with a flat induced pancake face :shock:

Well... to be quite honest I have experienced negative ground speed in a Cheetah! (^^)

Invite the potential purchaser over to Windpompstad and demo the beast of all beast to him!
Trikenut

Postby Trikenut » Thu Jul 23, 2009 3:56 pm

Hi,
I went to Joburg 3 weeks ago and went to Rainbow Aircraft. I love the Cheetah and a visit to the factory has strengthened that love! vhpy It is very well made and very comfy for the bigger okes! (I am 6ft 2in)
I like the Bushbaby as well though! I would take the Cheetah over the Bushbaby! And With a 912s it will be awsome!
Trikenut - Pilot in Training!!!
I love the smell of Avgas in the Morning!
"Beware 16 year old here"