THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Re: THE MICROLAND THREAD..."routing for the tower"

Postby Bundy » Sun Feb 03, 2013 4:24 am

Awesome to fly with such great mates yesterday. (^^)

Steve Bosch, as always, you and your lovely wife show us what hospitality means. Was nice to finally visit your strip and I must say...absolutely stunning spot in the Dinokeng area! (!!)

Only 32 NM from FABA.

The landings werent pretty but I really enjoyed the flight...."slap chips!" ^

Postby mulderpm » Mon Feb 04, 2013 6:17 am

Thanks to all, and especially Steve and his wife for the warm welcome. vhpy

Lekker flying yesterday with Stef. Sorry that I had to return directly after the coffee, rusks & Biltong. And Faiz..your flight from ML to Delmas is via Davyton...boepens flyer...say no more. :lol: . Broken exhaust sping again! :twisted: One now breaks per flight...no man... :twisted: something is wrong ## Dionne will have to practice changing them in flight... ## ..or we won't make it :lol:

Postby mulderpm » Mon Feb 04, 2013 12:40 pm

I am intending to fly in to Tedderfield on Saturday morning and out again on Sunday for the MISASA Airshow/fly in. If anyone is interested in joining me and Stef Oosthuizen (bateleur) you are welcome. We will be taking off first light Saturday morning, 5H45. I will be going to ML on Thursday afternoon, 5 ish, to pack all my traveling stuff into my aerie. The route is via FASI, RA (Ergo Slimes Dam), FATA. 55 miles one way. One and a quarter hours flying time and about 20 liters of fuel, one way.

I am looking for a NOTAM for the airfield for the day, but so far I have not found one (Mervyn, Braam, Paul?) As there are going to be quite a few aircraft of different types arriving in the morning there must be some special joining and circuit procedures? Is there a special frequency? (FATA = 125.6, don't think so!) Will there be a temporary ATC?

I have the following info for Tedderfield Air Park:

Frequency - 125.6
GPS - S26 21 07.6 E27 58 06.7
Mag Variation - 18 degrees W
Elevation - 5200 FT
Runways - 11/29 (tar) 1km >< 03/21, 1,000m grass (use in emergency)
Fuel - no MOGAS nor AVGAS fuel available. Rand airport for AVGAS.

HOW TO FLY THE CIRCUIT AT TEDDERFIELD AIRPARK

· APPROACHING THE CIRCUIT

When approaching the airfield and you want to join the circuit, call your position and intentions from at least five miles out at 6500 ft at the current QNH. Then initiate a descent to the point where you will join the circuit so as to end up at 6200 ft.

(Hint: talk to other pilots in the circuit to establish which runway is in use or simply listen out)

· APPROACH FROM THE NORTH

The approach from the North is from the North Western side of the airfield, not directly over Hippo Quarries. The approach is shown on our map by the green line which would allow you to either join on a left hand base for runway 11 or a right hand downwind for runway 29.

When approaching from the West, aim to be about one or two miles north of our downwind leg, which is directly above the R554. The approach is shown on our map by the orange line and allows you to either join on a left hand base for runway 11 or a right hand downwind for runway 29.

When approaching from the East, aim to be one or two miles north of our downwind leg, which is directly above the R554. The approach is shown on our map by the purple line and allows you to join either a right hand base for runway 29 or a left hand downwind leg for runway 11.

When approaching from the South, maintain 6500 ft and fly directly over the clubhouse and then descend to 6200 ft to join either a left downwind leg for runway 11 or a right downwind leg for runway 29. The approach is shown by the light blue line on our map

Should you be returning from a cross country and you are not able to determine wind direction from smoke in the area or from the use of your GPS or because there is no activity at the airfield, then revert to the standard joining procedure and call at about 5 miles out that you will be joining overhead at 6500 ft. Once overhead, you will be able to decide which runway to use and will fly towards the downwind leg, which is directly over the R554, aiming to arrive on downwind at 6200 ft and complete the circuit in the normal manner. When this is the case, you may over fly the threshold on runway 11 when approaching from the West or the threshold on runway 29 when approaching from the East, but always at 6500 ft.

BASIC RULES OF THE AIRFIELD

· All aircraft are to line up for take off at the threshold of the active runway….do not initiate your take off run from mid field

· No formation flying allowed within 5 miles of the circuit

· No aerobatics allowed in the circuit

· Approach the circuit at 6500 ft

· Remain at 6200 ft on the downwind leg then descend to the altitude you wish to be at for your final approach

· Remember that there is a helicopter GF area just East of Sunbeam steel and extends up to 6500 ft. If you enter their airspace, be sure to listen out and call on 124.4

· The earliest time for take off is 15 minutes before sunrise

· The latest time to land is 15 minutes after sunset

· Any incident on the airfield or within its circuit must be reported within 12 hours to the Safety officer or the Chairman

· Unless the circuit is extremely busy, keep radio calls down to a minimum…downwind call and a call for turning final approach is sufficient

· If operating within our circuit, always start your call with “Tedderfield Traffic”

· When approaching the circuit, start your call with “Traffic in the Tedderfield area”

· All aircraft are to fly at 6200 ft on the downwind leg

· Do not fly low over the area shown as the “no go area” on the map. This includes the area of the airfield which is north of the sand road to the club house. This does not include you joining overhead at 6500 ft.

· The safety officer may at any time add to these rules as he sees fit.

· The safety officer may at any time ground an aircraft that is not in possession of all the required documentation as stated by the CAA or that he feels is unsafe to fly.

· The safety officer may request that a pilot, who, in his opinion, has not followed these rules, appears before a safety committee for further investigation of an action or an incident.

Please remember that the “no go area” is an extremely noise sensitive area and absolutely no flying activity will be allowed in that area unless over flying at 6500 ft.
image.jpg
Tedderfield airfield
Last edited by mulderpm on Tue Feb 05, 2013 10:22 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Bundy » Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:03 pm

Hi Paul,

ATIS will be directing you boys in, keep an eye out on the tedderfield threads for the final details. John Boucher is trying his best to get this finalised today as it is likely that we will have a dedicated frequency for the event. Keep an eye out for this!

Fly safe and enjoy guys, I'd be on your wing if I could. (^^)

Postby mulderpm » Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:31 pm

Thanks Alan. The NOTAM for flying into Oshkosh was designed to funnel the aircraft into the downwind leg, separating the faster and slower aircraft at an altitude spacing a of 250 ft, 3 levels, and you don't talk you just listen and wiggle your wings in acknowledgement. The faster aircraft would also make a longer base length so that they would keep their spot in the circuit for the 3 parallel "runways" (1 runway and the taxiways on either side). Luckily not PIC but scary stuff :shock: The ATC sounded like an auctioneer. He must have been scared quadraad :shock: :shock:

Just reminiscing...sorry ## Will keep a look out on the threads. (^^)

Postby Bundy » Mon Feb 04, 2013 3:11 pm

Paul and Stef....if I may make a suggestion?

Stef, load 25L premix on the back with a spare can for Paul who will have a PAX. Bring the kitchen sink and all the other crap to my house to take by car for you, I'll be home on Thu and Fri evening (you can even drop it off with the maid if you want) Stef dont forget I have the tie down kit here with me and I'll bring it along for you, there are enough luggage straps in the cupboard for the cans.

The sky will be busy boys, last year we had 146 aircraft...this year promises more. 8) Make sure your comms are 100% before you come anywhere near TF, and use Klip or Panorama as alternates. :)

As die weer kak is.... RY PAPPA! Ek sien julle daar. (^^)
Bateleur

Postby Bateleur » Mon Feb 04, 2013 4:14 pm

Sounds like a lot of work! I will just follow you in Paul. Collness Bundy, I will speak to you during the week with regards to luggage. Come on guys, lets get a nice group from ML together.
Stef Oosthuizen
Step it up a notch!!
ZU DBP

Postby Bundy » Mon Feb 04, 2013 4:36 pm

I think Conrad is also going....but he will be leaving some propwash behind for you two slow pokes :lol:

Postby mulderpm » Mon Feb 04, 2013 5:05 pm

Bundy wrote:I think Conrad is also going....but he will be leaving some propwash behind for you two slow pokes :lol:
Conrad is too fast. Cum on you Cabbage Patch Kids, put a cabbage in your pannier and fly away. Join us. (^^) Bd, thanks for the offer, I will phone you to make final arrangements.

Stef, in circuit, each pilot is on his own ## let's see what the rules are for the fly in. puff

Postby John Boucher » Tue Feb 05, 2013 7:23 am

Please note that the circuit picture as posted by MULDERPM has the incorrect frequency on it!!!!

URGENT NOTICE

Tedderfield Shootout 2013

Freq: 125.6 MHz

Date: 9 February 2013

Safety Officer : Braam Hechter (0846977703)
Flight Director : Paul Sabatier (0824134614)
Display co-ordinator : John Boucher (0825531105)
ATC /INFO : Bob Allison (0828730591)
Ground Marshall : Alex Rudd (0825688635)
Tedderfield Liaison : Gordon Howell (0837761891)

Runway Direction : 11 / 29
Runway Length : 1100 x 8 m Asphalt
Runway Direction Emergency : 11 / 29 - dis-used “Solitude” runway to the south of Tedderfield hangars
Runway Length : 600 x 8 m Asphalt
Elevation : 5 200ft
Freq : 125.6 Mhz

Fun day start time : Saturday 9 February 2013 @ 0700 >>

Pilots Briefing & Time : Saturday 9th February 2013 @ 09h00 sharp and of extreme importance to attend!!

Please note the following : Listen Listen Listen to the ATC's instruction. If you do not understand, say so!

KEEP A GOOD LOOKOUT - EYES OUTSIDE THE COCKPIT - THE CIRCUIT IS GOING TO BE BUSY!!!!

PLEASE FOLLOW THE GROUND MARSHALL TO WHERE HE SHOWS YOU TO PARK!!!

NO STARTUPS WILL BE ALLOWED ON GROUND WITHOUT GROUND APPROVAL!!!!

• APPROACHING THE CIRCUIT
When approaching the airfield and you want to join the circuit, call your position and request joining instructions from at least five miles out at 6 500 ft
at the current QNH. Then initiate a descent to the point where you will join the circuit so as to end up at 6200 ft.

• APPROACH FROM THE NORTH
The approach from the North is from the North Western side of the airfield, not directly over Hippo Quarries.
The approach is shown on our map by the green line which would allow you to either join on a left hand base for runway 11 or a right hand downwind for runway 29.

When approaching from the West, aim to be about one or two miles north of our downwind leg, which is directly above the R554.
The approach is shown on our map by the orange line and allows you to either join on a left hand base for runway 11 or a right hand downwind for runway 29.

When approaching from the East, aim to be one or two miles north of our downwind leg, which is directly above the R554.
The approach is shown on our map by the purple line and allows you to join either a right hand base for runway 29 or a left hand downwind leg for runway 11.

When approaching from the South, maintain 6500 ft and fly directly over the clubhouse and then descend to 6200 ft to join either a left downwind leg for runway 11 or a right downwind leg for runway 29. The approach is shown by the light blue line on our map

Should you be returning from a cross country and you are not able to determine wind direction from smoke in the area or from the use of your GPS or because there is no activity at the airfield, then revert to the standard joining procedure and call at about 5 miles out that you will be joining overhead at 6500 ft. Once overhead, you will be able to decide which runway to use and will fly towards the downwind leg, which is directly over the R554, aiming to arrive on downwind at 6200 ft and complete the circuit in the normal manner. When this is the case, you may over fly the threshold on runway 11 when approaching from the West or the threshold on runway 29 when approaching from the East, but always at 6500 ft

Postby mulderpm » Tue Feb 05, 2013 10:16 am

Thanks John, and apologies. :oops: The diagram must be old, from the days when there was only a Special Rules East & West.

I have corrected it in my text.125.6

Postby John Boucher » Tue Feb 05, 2013 10:34 am

:-)

The most important is the following :

Pilots Briefing & Time : Saturday 9th February 2013 @ 09h00 sharp and of extreme importance to attend!!

Please note the following : Listen Listen Listen to the ATC's instruction. If you do not understand, say so!

KEEP A GOOD LOOKOUT - EYES OUTSIDE THE COCKPIT - THE CIRCUIT IS GOING TO BE BUSY!!!!
PLEASE FOLLOW THE GROUND MARSHALL TO WHERE HE SHOWS YOU TO PARK!!!
NO STARTUPS WILL BE ALLOWED ON GROUND WITHOUT GROUND APPROVAL!!!!

• APPROACHING THE CIRCUIT
When approaching the airfield and you want to join the circuit, call your position and request joining instructions from at least five miles out at 6 500 ft
at the current QNH. Then initiate a descent to the point where you will join the circuit so as to end up at 6200 ft
ATC will advise change to circuit and ground frequency 120.2

One thing that does happen in an event like this... you may be sharing the circuit with anything up to 30 aircraft. You do not want to be asking Jan or Piet "waar is jy nou ou swaar?" The frequency will be cluttered.... so sort of speak when you are spoken to :-)

Postby mulderpm » Tue Feb 05, 2013 11:02 am

Comms brief, to the point and only when absolutely necessary! 100%

John, Can we not secure an allocated freq for the event? Special Rules S is already busy on a Saurday morning with normal GA traffic!
John Boucher wrote:Pilots Briefing & Time : Saturday 9th February 2013 @ 09h00 sharp and of extreme importance to attend!!
Is this for all pilots flying in and participating, or just for those participating?

Postby Bundy » Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:30 am

Nee...nee...nee...waar is al die Die Hards??

Nick, Slangetjie, Fizel, Sir Francis, Oom David, Paul De Kok, Byron, Peter Grant, Peter Coskey, Big Joe..... Moenie uit mis nie mense! vhpy

This only happens once a year (^^)

Work can be postponed, the grass can be mown on Monday, your friends will forgive your absence at their social.....make a plan chaps! (!!)

Get There! (!!)

Postby John Boucher » Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:42 am

Is this for all pilots flying in and participating, or just for those participating?
Breeding a culture.... ALL PILOTS!