Secunda Airshow and Fly in 20th August.

Re: Secunda Airshow and Fly in 20th August.

Postby Tumbleweed » Mon Aug 22, 2011 7:55 am

What an amazing event.

Everything lived up to expectations and more. The organisation was meticulous and with such unselfish dedication and camaraderie between the flying club members everything went to plan and it’s a privilege to have been part of such a special event.

The display pilots and crew were just awesome. I don’t think the display pilots fully realise how much they are appreciated and what an impact they have on aviation. Following the previous week’s tragedy everyone was so moved by the very emotional missing man formation. Those affected were in everyone’s thoughts.

So many members of the public have approach me saying they just dumbstruck and in awe of the level of skill and professionalism exhibited. With such the fantastic and witty announcer Karl Jenson explaining each sequence they could appreciate each movement with such respect and admiration.

“ Ek wil sommer daai man ‘n drukkie gee” and “nou ken ek die virskil tussen display en windgat”.

My brat quickly reminded me that he’s 16 and eligible and I should get my arse into gear and have him signed up for his ppl. No doubt a few more snotkips will echo his demands.

The only disappointment was the absence of several government aviation career opportunity depts who had confirmed attendance but seemed a bit too tired to commit. Never let them say they can’t source quality candidates.

The Dakota was fantastic and over subscribed. The queue for chopper flips never ended. The public had a jol and all the charities made lots of bucks, from the SPCA, churches and schools running the car park for their account. The VIP’s said it was the best money they had yet spent on entertainment and were ready to lay down deposit for the next one.

It was great to meet old and new best friend flying buddies. The camaraderie was great and with your help we ensured that the beer garden and entertainment was a ‘roaring’ success. Those that didn’t make it, you missed a great jol.

Blue Max for flying in first was apointed ATC senior inspector.

Braam Hechter was fantastic and echoed our feelings that the show was a resounding success.

Thank you one and all.
Thatchman

Postby Thatchman » Mon Aug 22, 2011 9:24 am

Great show guys. Well done Tumbleweed and other organisers. (^^) (^^) (^^)

The aerobatics were just mindblowing. When I am big......

Good outing but man ,the headwind, towing the duck and the hangover the next morning (**) (**) . Ok it was just the hangover. That bloody Captain again. Was a very quiet flight home.

Boomerrang, nice to meet you pal.
20082011245.jpg
Gaylord, The Greek and Dish
20082011249.jpg
The ugly duckling amongst the swans
20082011252.jpg
Thatch gets a hug from Ratmans little rugrat

Postby Dish » Mon Aug 22, 2011 9:50 am

I echo that - Thanks to tumbleweed and his team for a very well organised show... the lads had a great time... all assistance appreciated prior to our departure on sunday morning - was a great weekend

Thanks to my boys for towing the duck home.....

vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy

Postby Tumbleweed » Mon Aug 22, 2011 5:01 pm

Last one I promise.

The winners of our raffle draws - 2 nights stay for 2 persons sharing on a B&B basis donated by our sponsors Graceland hotel are,

Fly In Pilots- James Pretorius - ZA DLY the Umfolozi Hotel, Empangeni
(jou bliksem. vhpy stuur my jou email)

Static Display prize – Martin Gruenert. Pipistrel South Africa. The Emperor’s Palace.
Did you guys check out this aerrie- carbon fibre, 912S, 5.5 flying hours from Stellenbosch to Secunda @15 litres /hour cruising @ 140 knots.

Display pilots and service providers - Mr Karl Jensin, at the Mondazur Hotel, San Lameer.
=D* Fantastic.

Not too shabby. Check out http://www.peermont.com
Asterix

Postby Asterix » Mon Aug 22, 2011 6:41 pm

WHOO HOO!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: I say onto thee, Dudes - Asterix and Geel Kerneels RULES!!! ## ## (^^) (^^) .

Thanks Tumbleweed - I NEVER win ANYTHING!! vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy vhpy

Will PM you.

THANX!! xxx
Bugwar

Postby Bugwar » Mon Aug 22, 2011 7:00 pm

Gelukkige moer!

Congrats
Asterix

Postby Asterix » Mon Aug 22, 2011 7:02 pm

^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^
Asterix

Postby Asterix » Mon Aug 22, 2011 7:17 pm

Hmmm.. Empangeni... Me and Geel Kerneels landed there in April - Got along nicely with the Richardsbay ATC!!. Depending on the time frame of claiming this prize, and the weather, I see an "Asterix and Geel Kerneels fly away" to Empangeni, morning flights to St Lucia, followed by relaxing afternoons next to the pool....Only problem - I am looking for something Soft and Loving to load into the backseat and share the accomodation! Any suggestions / contact details anybody? :wink: :wink:

Postby Tumbleweed » Mon Aug 22, 2011 7:27 pm

Bugwar
Asterix

Postby Asterix » Mon Aug 22, 2011 7:32 pm

Tumbleweed - jou moer man! Bugwar is my very good friend. That is all. ## Do you have any OTHER ,FEMALE ## ## suggestions? I like thick black / brown hair / not too worried about shapes and sizes - but keep in mind that I DO NOT PUT HEAVY PEOPLE into Geel Kerneels. ## ## So try again - and post pics, vital stats and telephone numbers!! (^^)
Asterix

Postby Asterix » Mon Aug 22, 2011 7:47 pm

This is what I have in mind. If you have Christina's number - I will persuade her to hop into the backseat of ZU-DLY...
ceb0e4545a8746548a5cf25084478e7c.jpg
The perfect addition to My Backseat...
ceb0e4545a8746548a5cf25084478e7c.jpg (14 KiB) Viewed 1962 times
Tribal Croc

Postby Tribal Croc » Tue Aug 23, 2011 6:24 am

Baie geluk Asterix (^^) (^^)

Ek sal jou kan uit help met n pax ##

Soos jy kan sien pas sy mooi op die agter seat van n Aquilla (-) Die enigiste ding is dat ek en haar ma sal moet saam gaan xxx
DSC07787.jpg
Tribal Croc
ZU-ICanXplane
Bushbaby Explorer MK2
Tailwheel fun starts here

#exploringsouthafricanskies
Thatchman

Postby Thatchman » Tue Aug 23, 2011 8:01 am

Asterix

Gaylord Focker has two chicks. You can have one of them. Any one. (**) (**)

PS - unpack all luggage, any non-essential aircraft components and most of your fuel.

PPS - No need to thank me. Anything for a fellow microlighter (^^) (^^)
Marties chicks.jpg
Marties chicks.jpg (13.45 KiB) Viewed 1897 times

Postby Air Hog » Tue Aug 23, 2011 10:48 am

Thatchman wrote:Asterix

Gaylord Focker has two chicks. You can have one of them. Any one. (**) (**)

PS - unpack all luggage, any non-essential aircraft components and most of your fuel.

PPS - No need to thank me. Anything for a fellow microlighter (^^) (^^)
Gee Wiz, THEY ARE BIIIIIG!!! No ways they are going to fit in a Aquilla seat.
Bugwar

Postby Bugwar » Tue Aug 23, 2011 11:29 am

Very nice event!!! Extremely well organized and an awesome show.
BonZai_Small.JPG
Bonzai Bell and the DC3
Asterix_Fam.JPG
Asterix and kie
Stoor_small.JPG
The Vulture Squadron is resting in the mieliestoor for a while
ZU-EHG - Raptor

Vulture Squadron videos
http://www.youtube.com/user/VultureSquadronZA