THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Re: THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Postby Bundy » Fri Sep 19, 2014 4:57 am

The last batch of the Elands Camp Trip photos taken by Keven Kruger. (^^)
AK1.jpg
AK2.jpg
AK3.jpg
AK5.jpg
AK6.jpg
AK7.jpg
AK8.jpg
AK11.jpg
AK12.jpg
AK13.jpg
AK16.jpg
AK17.jpg
AK18.jpg
AK19.jpg
AK22.jpg
AK24.jpg
AK26.jpg
Thanks for capturing the memories for us Keven! (^^) (!!)

Postby Bundy » Fri Sep 19, 2014 5:16 am

Happy Birthday Stephan! (^^) (^^)

Postby mulderpm » Fri Sep 19, 2014 6:10 am

Happy bday Stefanus. And Nick yesterday
Lima Delta
Looking at the sky

Postby Lima Delta » Fri Sep 19, 2014 11:55 am

mulderpm wrote:Welcome LD. Last year on our way to Barberton we rather flew to Fred Sturges's runway, Fairview, just to the North of Carolina. Mervyn Rynolds at Microland, reported Carolina to be in a bad state.
Thank you for your reply Paul, will phone Mervyn to hear if he has up to date information on the condition of the runway.
Robbie Shaw

Postby Robbie Shaw » Sat Sep 20, 2014 11:45 am

Happy birthday

Nico for Thursday

Steph for Friday .....
Robbie Shaw. (Rhodie)
Zero seven 2 5 six zero 2 six two seven
ZU-BJU. (Love Machine)
Airmanship No 1

Postby Bundy » Sun Sep 21, 2014 6:51 am

Thanks to all who attended the braai yesterday, had a lekker time. (^^)

Cheers! (^^)

Postby Bundy » Sun Sep 21, 2014 7:18 am

Confirmation of Meeting between Microland Hanger Tenants and Landlord:

Date: Saturday Oct 11th 2014
Time: 10h00
Venue: Lecture Room Microland

Open to ALL Microland Hanger tenants,Skyriders Management and the Landlord

Please RSVP chaps! I will only be distributing the agenda for this meeting to those who show interest.

I will do this by e mail, so please pm me your e mail address..... or text it to me on Oh seven 2 Eight two 3 23 four 1.

We will be discussing a lot of important maintenance issues and grievances with the landlord at this meeting chaps!
If you do not attend you will not have a say... :wink:
I encourage you all to attend please! :)
Paul Meanwell

Postby Paul Meanwell » Sun Sep 21, 2014 1:56 pm

Had an enjoyable if short visit for the braai, always good to catch up with you guys!

Drink Triple,
See Double,
Act Single!

Postby mulderpm » Tue Sep 23, 2014 11:25 am

Thanks Paul for poping in again. You are always most welcome. (^^)

Had a great flight this morning. vhpy

Congrats to Annalett who went solo..many happy hours flying ahead. (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) (^^) You will never be disapointed.

Postby Bundy » Thu Sep 25, 2014 6:13 am

Sorted out our CHT issue yesterday morning, looks like we finally have a working gauge. :wink:

I see Petit is having a vintage fly in next weekend...why don't you guys fly in and see whats up? :)
Petit.jpg
I unfortunately cant make it as we will be up in Magoebas next weekend for a bit of fishing. (!!)

Postby Bundy » Fri Sep 26, 2014 8:51 am

Gave DBP a good test flight this morning, CHT stable and no leaks on the sender unit....looks like we have finally sorted out her headaches in this regard.

Nice to share the circuit this morning with Paul who was taking his Dad up for a taste of samoosa magic. Happy 90th birthday Sir....wow. (^^)

I must say that having done some circuit time this morning, I now realise why this new fence line is such an issue in certain respects. :wink: Food for the meeting for sure...

Amazing how you go from one issue to the next? Having sorted the CHT's, I have noticed a rattle inside the new prop blade. :( I think this is a loose balancing wire inside? I will give Nigel a call later and see why....I really hope I don't have to take it off all over again.... :roll: No vibrations at all whilst running but if you tap your finger on the blade there is something loose inside.

Will see what he says....

EDIT: Just spoke to Nigel (always very helpful :) )....there is a screw in the bottom of the blade that just needs to be tightened. Does not affect the balancing at all. Will need to remove the blade again though to do it and reset the pitch....ai toggie....soos jy se Mulder...daar is altyd iets wat aandag soek. ^

Have a lekker day all.

Postby mulderpm » Fri Sep 26, 2014 9:57 am

Great Alan to see you flying....just get your partner to also join in again. (^^) We miss him. :(

Hope you get your prop rattle sorted out. I have heard of this before but don't believe it can be serious at all. Simple....just dont tap it, then it will be quiet. :lol:

Yip, took my Dad for his first Samoosa flight this morning. He has flown in many aircraft but never in a Microlight. He was extatic and recons it is the best flying ever. "You realy feel as though you have wings". It is his 90th birthday on the 9th of October. Congrats Pa en Oupa... (^^) (^^)
Resize of IMG_1011.JPG
Ag sorry Alan, thought that was a picture of my Dad.
Resize of IMG_1033.JPG
Happy 90th birthday Oups. xxx (^^) xxx

My Dad is the one in the back seat. vhpy
ME 109

Postby ME 109 » Fri Sep 26, 2014 10:05 am

Awesome father and son moment! My wishes are for you both to experience many more of these. (^^)
Andries Kruger
ZU-CSZ Aquilla 582 (Bumble bee)

Postby mulderpm » Fri Sep 26, 2014 10:08 am

My boet completed his Carbon Cub. (^^) (^^)

http://eaa1044.org/videos/

Check out the registration...N2ZS....patriotism never dies. (^^)\
Resize of photo.jpg
Specs

Engine: Lycoming 180Hp
Take off distance: 60ft
Landing distance: 245ft
Max rate of climb: 2100ft/m
Fuel consymption: 5-6 gph
Max range: 450 miles
Vno 101 mph
(normal operating range top of green on airspeed indicator)
Vne 141 mph
(never exceed speed top of yellow on airspeed indicator)
Vs0 32 mph
(stall speed w/flaps down, slowest stall speed)
Vs1 40 mph
(stall speed w/flaps up, clean)

Very impressive figures.
Last edited by mulderpm on Fri Sep 26, 2014 12:38 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby mulderpm » Fri Sep 26, 2014 10:49 am

Annalett doing training. Check that concentration...and....Fanie seems to have passed out :lol:
Resize of IMG_1017.JPG