THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Re: THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Postby mulderpm » Wed May 14, 2014 12:13 pm

Thanks Faiz for being wingman this morning. What super conditions. (^^)

See you all at the monthly fly and braai at Microland this Saturday... vhpy vhpy vhpy

Postby Bundy » Sun May 18, 2014 5:43 am

As always, a great Club Day braai with lots of friends and gees. (^^)

Took my boet up for his first ever flip in an aircraft....smooth outbound, lekker bumpy back! :lol:

Watching me "stirring the pap" he asked...."Is this normal?" :lol:

Lekker pony ride! (!!)
20140517a.jpg
20140517b.jpg
20140517f.jpg
20140517d.jpg
20140517e.jpg
Grobbie007

Postby Grobbie007 » Mon May 19, 2014 7:31 am

Nice pics ! (^^)
Suesing

Postby Suesing » Mon May 19, 2014 10:13 am

Nice Al
http://www.valleyflightsmicrolighting.com
Jabiru Instructor ( Grade B)

Postby mulderpm » Mon May 19, 2014 11:43 am

Nice pics Al.

Great fly and braai again at Microland. What a gees these guys have...there was an overwelming responce for breakfasts as well. Then the pilots who want to leave early can just have a brekkie and leave. Lets see how it goes.

Steve Bosch phoned me and asked to test the water for a light foam (fuel fires) type fire extinguisher. It contains 5 liters of foam and due to its aluminium construction, weighs just 250 grams. The can is 22 cm high and 5 cm in diameter. Will easily fit into any pannier bag. Cost, R175. I have asked the distributer to tell us about it at the next braai or else you can contact Steve on zero ate too 7 7 too 7 for ate sex.
IMG_0276.JPG
Frank Smallwood
Ready for the first flight

Postby Frank Smallwood » Mon May 19, 2014 3:07 pm

Hi All Tailwinders,
Good to see a turnout for the Braai on Saturday, the first one I have been to for a long time. I discussed the idea of a fly away to Denysville for the weekend of the 5th/6th of July with Alan and Paul. Who is keen?
There is a long grass airstrip (12/30), about 900m just outside Denysville. Coordinates S 26o 52’ 03.4”. E 28o 04’ 33.8” Not the smoothest runway but easily manageable. Flight time from microland in nil wind on my Aquilla is 75min give or take a bit. I normally fly just east of Springs to avoid the buffer zone. Flight down is quite nice and you can fly along Suikerbosrand. Flying around the Vaal dam or along the river is also quite scenic. The farmer, August Milan, who owns the airstrip is very friendly and helpful and I am sure there would be no issue with leaving aircraft parked overnight. There is a clubhouse at the airstrip but has not been used for years. August has indicated that he would open it up if asked. It has flushing toilets and showers, I am not sure about hot water!! There is a crocodile and lion farm a couple of km from the airfield that does reasonably priced breakfast and if we go down I will arrange for my wife or kids to drive down and can ferry people to/from the airfield.
We have a place (S 26o 52’ 13.1”. E 28o 07’ 20.4”) on the Vaal river about 5km from the airfield and will accommodate people on a first come first serve basis. There are 4 bedrooms (Sharon & I have reserved 1) after that it would be sleeping on the floor in the lounge or in a tent (a bit breezy in July!!). There are plenty of matrasses and bedding. If demand requires I am sure a plan can be made. If people want to fly in unsupported then we can ferry from the airfield to our house in our bakkie. If supported then the supporter can drive to our house.
Denysville has a reasonably well stocked Friendly Grocer, Bottle store, petrol station and butcher.
If you are keen, respond to reserve a bed.

Cheers Frank

Postby Bundy » Mon May 19, 2014 4:02 pm

Frank Smallwood wrote:If you are keen, respond to reserve a bed.

Cheers Frank
Thanks for the invitation Frank! vhpy

I would like to book a bedroom please for myself, Maxine and our 7 year old son Troy if possible? (we will bring a blow up mattress for him?)

Sounds like great fun, please let me know what we must bring along?.... food, dop, strippers etc etc vhpy

That weekend is actually Stef's weekend with our plane so I will have to confirm my aircraft's availability for myself.... but fly in or drive in....we will be there! vhpy

Awesome stuff. (!!)
HENNING JOHAN

Postby HENNING JOHAN » Mon May 19, 2014 8:44 pm

The strip is called Leeukop op the map.Landed once a few years ago their.Very nice set up.Then there is a strip at Oranjeville also.Did a few training sessions at the Vaaldam and over the wall itself.
FLY SAFE!!FLYBOY OBD.Aerotrike Scout 503 ZU-CAI.
Alpha

Postby Alpha » Tue May 20, 2014 8:00 am

Great strip...chain gang with Faizel and Bean counter landed there a while back. Bean counter found it and directed us all in after a flip down the river...great place to fly for the weekend... (^^) (^^) I am also keen to join in, will not sleep over but will join in on a breakie and fly around....

Postby Madman » Tue May 20, 2014 10:04 am

Ola Me Amigos ##

I remember that flip,was an awesome one via the river :mrgreen:

Alpha,Tank and I still wen't for coffee afterwards at Circus (!!)

I will join Alpha for the breakie :mrgreen:

Shweet s023

Postby mulderpm » Tue May 20, 2014 10:53 am

Frank Smallwood wrote:If you are keen, respond to reserve a bed.

Cheers Frank
Thanks for coming to the braai on Saturday and for the invitation Frank! vhpy Great to see your leg is getting better. vhpy See Sharon is now riding the bike :lol: ## ##

As discussed, I would like to book a room for myself and dionne please, if possible?

We will be flying in so, we will need to stock up when we get there. If someone could take down some empty fuel cans it would be great. vhpy
Frank Smallwood
Ready for the first flight

Postby Frank Smallwood » Wed May 21, 2014 4:48 pm

Good stuff Paul, Alan, rooms booked. I will send out reminder closer to the time and detailed directions for those driving down. We can certainly make some fuel cans available for anyone who needs to re-fuel.

Cheers Frank

Postby mulderpm » Wed May 21, 2014 7:00 pm

Great Frank. So good to have you and Sharon back. I always see these fly always as a drinking party where the drink is fuel...these planes/engines are thirsty. Congregate around a vehicle....Where are you going? To get fuel!

Anyone keen to fly tomrw? I will be there!

Postby mulderpm » Thu May 22, 2014 11:35 am

Apparently there is going to be a Kyk-Net film crew at Microland on Saturday. They are filming a Microlight documentry. (^^) They are looking for real Afrikaans speaking pilots in their documentry :lol: Alan Hussey, Paul Meanwell and Frank Smallwood are examples of pilots who "don't qualify" ##

Also, just be aware that the no-fly zone, 25 NM around Union Buildings, which includes Microland kicks in at 09H00. NO flying is permitted inside after 09H00 (**)

http://www.caa.co.za/Index%20of%20AIP%20SUP/S048-14.pdf
Paul Meanwell

Postby Paul Meanwell » Mon May 26, 2014 1:12 pm

Hi Paul,

Thanks for the invitation NOT to attend! ## ## ##

Maybe I'll pop in next Saturday when English is allowed again?

Fly safe!

(^^) (^^) (^^)
Drink Triple,
See Double,
Act Single!